We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very attractive resort, the apartment was modern, large and chic, with dishwasher, washing machine, free wifi, ipod doc, dvd player and a decent kitchen.
If you're going to self cater - bring a few dishwasher tablets. The kitchen was not that well stocked -there were no baking dishes so I could not use the oven but hob was good.
The bathrooms have good showers and baths too.
Only slight niggle was the constant sound of scraping of the chairs against the hard floors from neighbouring apartments. This could be very easily sorted out with some felt pads on the chair feet!

The resort itself has a nice restaurant. Breakfast was good with lots of choices and lunch was a nice selection of club sandwiches,pizzas and great french fries.
The ice cream freezer seemed to run low quite alot, but we bravely got through that trauma.

The pool area looks great, the supplied towels are deep and fluffy. Pool not too cold, and lots of activities were organised eg foam party, an inflatable water slide.

There are lots of games - pinball, air hockey, pool table, table football - each costs a euro which seems OK. There is also a tennis court - this is free to use but you have to pay for rackets and balls (we brought our own). It was hardly ever booked up which was great.

The resort is a bit isolated. There is a good restaurant 3 minutes walk away (The Crazy Chicken?). Apart from that you need a car to get around, or a taxi. If you want a taxi into Carvoeiro for the evening, then book it during the day or else you'll be waiting a while.

Carvoeiro didn't sweep us off our feet, a bit downbeat. But Vilamoura (40 mins away) is more attractive and has lots of nice restaurants. The nearby Slide and Splash aquapark was brilliant fun (take factor 50+ tho' as it's very exposed and no shade).

We had a super week and I recommend it. We would certainly go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherinembland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your kind compliments and wonderful review. All of your suggestions and comments will be shared with our administration for further consideration. It was lovely to have you and your family here. We are glad to know that all our daily activities were appreciated by all family, as we try very hard to cater to every ones entertainment needs, supplying pool entertainment and the themed nights and live music. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    184
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
396
187
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is the second year (in a row) we spent our summer holidays (July/August) in MonteSanto with the family (by the way we found it via Trip Advisor!!). We asked for (and got) the same apartment which has 2 double bed rooms and 2 bathrooms/WC's and a large terrace, on the ground floor, directly on the garden. The rooms are clean, modern, well decorated and have independent airco system in each room (separate temp. and remote control). The airco is perfectly working and you need it when outside temperatures oscillate between 30 and 40 deg C every day! Kitchen corner and bathrooms are coated with beautiful natural stone, as well as the floors. The swimming pool is magnificent and well kept. There's also an inside pool; nice but exp. children should take care for ears infection if they dive. The negative side of the hotel lays in the restaurant and bar, which does not offer services and food consistent five star hotel. Evening entertainment on site is very poor, so the place is deserted in the evening. Last year we opted for half board, and we regretted, this year for B&B. Kitchen is well equipped and one could decide to cook and eat at home. In any case Carvoeiro offers plenty nice restaurants (Primavera, Villa Medici, see TripAdv. reviews), but you need a car to reach them. Finally the Reception counter/area is too small and often congested.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are more practical (just walk out to the garden and swimming pool) and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max-Carol_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your continued visits to Monte Santo! It’s always a pleasure having repeated guests stay with us! Thank you for your wonderful review filled with delightful compliments, they are truly appreciated. We are sorry to see your thoughts on the restaurant, we are in constant improvement, to make it an even better experience for the guests.

We are glad to see that you got into Carvoeiro and enjoyed your time spent there! We hope to see you again in the near future, if not then next summer!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The apartments couldn't be better. Very large and clean and with all the stuff you need. They clean the apartment every day and do the dishes for you too. Breakfast at the restaurant is OK although nothing special. The main pool can be a bit dirty at times - but the small pools scattered around the area was spotless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azatoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our team of staff here at Monte Santo strives to excel in excellent guest service and top quality accommodation and facilities. It is our utmost important goal to achieve total satisfaction form our guests, therefore the time you have dedicated in leaving your review here on Tripadvisor is of extreme value to us and we truly appreciate it.

Your review was truly appreciated and we thank you for your wonderful compliments about our 5* accommodation and housekeeping, doing the dishes is something you shouldn’t have to worry about when on holiday, so Monte Santo does it for you!

Sorry to see your comment about the cleanliness of the pool. It is cleaned twice daily, firth thing in the morning and at night, so this must have been a one off, however it will be passed onto the poll department to be analyzed.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at the Monte Santo resort. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite - perfect for a family of 5. Accommodation very well appointed with a good standard of finish throughout. We were lucky that our unit (No 68) was close enough to the pool area and did not require a long walk. Every in the apartment that you require. Very secure. The resort itself is beautifully presented and the pool area excellent. Always plenty sun beds available. Pool towel service excellent. Indoor pool a big hit with the smaller ones to warm up before getting ready to go out for a meal. We did not try the restaurant there so cannot comment. Good playground there for the kids.
Carvoeiro itself is lovely. A lot smaller than what we had been used to, having previously visited Villamoura and Lagos. Would recommend car hire as Monte Santo a little bit out of main centre. Also allows to visit the large variety of beaches available in close proximity - we found the best to be at Praia du Vau - lots of rock formations and caves for exploring. Also Martinal beach very picturesque - tip: when at bottom of steps turn left into little cave and continue through to what is effectively a private little beach.
The best restaurant we ate in, by far is Villa Medici - highly recommended. High class Italian restaurant - luxurious to the last. Recommend booking to get a table in the outdoor courtyard.
Also good was Onze - overlooking the beach.
Lovely vibe in evening/night in main square.
Overall a very enjoyable time in Carvoeiro
Monte Santo - keep doing what you're doing - we hope to be back.

Room Tip: Request close to the main pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operationkosamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Monte Santo truly appreciates the time you have taken out to write us a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holiday spent with us! As a 5 star resort it is of upmost importance that are guests are greatly satisfied with their overall stay. All of your feedback is acknowledged and taken into consideration.

What a lovely review! Thank you for you wonderful compliments about our resort, facilities, accommodation and surrounding area! It certainly is a great idea to hire a car when the Algarve has so much to offer in all forms of culture and excitement! Thank you for leaving our other reviewers and readers your traveling tips and gems!

We will definitely keep what we are doing and even better and look forward to your next visit with us!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location and outstanding pool facilities. Outdoor pool was warm and a good size. Management of sun loungers could be much improved.

A good apartment with adequate facilities. Good size and of high standard. Limited television channels, wi if only available in Clubhouse. Maid servicing sporadic and needs improving.

Bar and food overpriced - better options in the town itself.

Staff friendly and polite.

We would stay again and would recommend this resort to families of all ages.

A very relaxed and enjoyable two week stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dial P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your holidays with us and our facilities! Our pool certainly are amazing and thank you for you kind compliments about them. It’s good that you got into Carvoeiro to explore and enjoyed the facilities there.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon and thank you for your future recommendations!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The standard of accommodation is first class and we absolutely loved it. We had a 2 bed townhouse and it was absolutely spotless and kept that way by cleaners who come on a daily basis and do a wonderful job. The only accommodation let down is no free Wi-Fi service which in this day and age is something we come to expect. We did pay extra for a router which worked fine, no problem with the signal. The small pool adjacent to our townhouse was great for a dip in the morning to wake you up but the kids much preferred the activity in the much larger pool beside the main building which again was fab. No problems getting sun-beds and generally fellow holiday makers were quite considerate by not parking their towels for hours on end while not in use. This worked to everyone's benefit.

The complex is a good walk out of town and even though we had a hire car, we relied on taxis in the evening to head out to dinner. The taxi service can be a bit patchy, usual wait was 10-15 mins but on a couple of occasions we waited between 30-40 mins for our taxi to arrive. Obviously this is not something that Monte Santo can do anything about. Monte Santo does run a courtesy bus around 6.30pm but this is way too early considering most people are only leaving the pool at around 6pm. I think the courtesy bus should do a couple of runs between 8pm and 8.30pm. In terms of location, given its a trek into town, we found it very convenient to have hired a car which allowed us to do plenty of morning and early afternoon visits to places like Silves (which is great), Alvor, Villamoura and Slide and Splash. Other guests we spoke to regretted not hiring a car as it meant that the majority of their time was spent at the pool which tended to become a little monotonous. It was good for us to be able to mix our day which kept our 2 kids occupied.

Having been quite positive so far, there were a few niggles which made us wonder a little. The staff at the front desk are not that helpful and tended to keep their head down so as not to catch anybody's eye. I hovered on a few occasions seeking advice and I had to speak up to get their attention. I would support other holiday makers view of being given no information on arrival and there was no information on the resort or local amenities in the townhouse.

I also found a lack of atmosphere around the bar and restaurant at night and I think Monte Santo could make more of an effort in this regard. There was an 80s night on one occasion and it was a great success. People dancing till 12:30am. Unfortunately this was the only night like it for the 2 weeks we were there.

We attended a Brazilian Bar-B-Que on Saturday 13th July which was fine but no great shakes. Entertainment wasn't great and when I advised when paying that my daughter was off her food and only ate 2 bread rolls, I was advised that I would still have to pay for her. It was only €10 so I let it go. Likewise, on another occasion I decided to order a round of drinks during the 5pm - 6pm happy hour at the pool and was in the queue at 5:50pm. Finally served near 6pm and by the time the bar bill was registered on the till at 6:01, I was charged full price for all the drinks. After a little bit of negotiation common sense prevailed but it took a little effort. On another day a glass was knocked over and smashed on the ground at an adjacent table and it took staff awhile to clean it up and then only half done. I ended up picking up the pieces which were missed. Considering the amount of small children running around in bare feet, cleaning this up immediately and completely should have been a priority.

Overall though we had a very enjoyable holiday and would return to Monte Santo.

Room Tip: Hire a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notuslimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Monte Santo truly appreciates the time you have taken out to write us a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holiday spent with us! As a 5 star resort it is of upmost importance that are guests are greatly satisfied with their overall stay. All of your feedback is acknowledged and taken into consideration.

Your review on our accommodation, facilities, pool area and general resort feeling was lovely to read. We truly value all the individual comments of everyone’s holiday experience with us. Taxi service in the months of July & August can be hit or miss unfortunately, but hopefully this wasn’t the case every time. Your comment about the shuttle times will be suggested. We are glad to see that you took the time out to go and see some of the Algarve´s beautiful towns and villages, making your holiday experience even more memorable.

Sorry to see your comments about staff, please know what this has been noted and head of departments will be implementing new standards to improve certain service aspects. Summer is so busy here, that they can truly just get so caught up in the paper work I hope that this doesn’t happen to you again. We are happy to see you enjoyed the 80´s night which was a huge success indeed and one to be repeated next month. Sorry for your comments about the Brazilian night which we hope to be able to use to apply some changes for it to be more enjoyable for all. We have weekly entertainment as you may well have experienced and we hope that you enjoyed, having two nights a week with live music works well at the moment as it gives the guests who enjoy eating out an enticement for reserving those two night for our Club House restaurant. The happy hour situation has been looked into and it does state there that it applies to soft drinks beer , wine and daily cocktail, sorry that this happy hour was not a positive one for you.

We hope that the positives weighed out he negatives and that we have the pleasure of seeing you and your family back with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the third year running that we have stayed at Monte Santo and as a lage family (6) we find the set up here ideal for us and the price represents good value.

The 3 bedroom appartment (no. 13 I think) is very comfortable, the kitchen is reasonably well equipped and has the benefit of the garden on the side (perfect for 2 young boys to play football).

The apparement was very clean, well decorated and quite modern. Had DVD player, TVs in laounge and bedrooms and music system.

Staff were very accomodating when we asked for a change in the bed configeration, chhanged things around within an hour.

Sadly, the restaurant is an enormous disappointment.

Every year we come back hoping it has improved, but in actual fact it's been worse every time.

Breakfast is at very best average and limited. Coffee is barely drinkable and the food options are minimal. Order anything special, ie: 3 minute boiled eggs and be prepared for a long wait.

At lunch the service is u n b e l i e v a b l y s l o w.

We waited over an hour one day for a sandwich and a salad. Another day we were there for 25 minutes before we were even asked what we would like to drink.

In the week we stayed we sent back a pizza for having a raw base, a burger for being raw and one evening at dinner (which we only had one evening meal there) a waiter dropped a 1 litre, full glass bottle of water on a lady's head on the table next to us.

One evening our daughter and her boyfriend stayed in and ordered room service, which arrived nearly 2 hours later and was cold when it arrived.

The staff work hard, but there are not enough of them and they are very poorly trained and managed.

That said, you are only 5 minutes away from dozens of great restaurants in Carvoeiro and surrounding area, so suffer breakfast at the hotel and eat out the rest of the time.

Room Tip: Ground floor with a side garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We truly appreciate your third visit top see us and that you enjoyed you suite #13. It certainly is an ideal accommodation, especially with the garden space for the young ones. Your compliments about our staff, accommodation, facilities and housekeeping are valued and shall be passed onto the respective departments.

We do apologies however for your less than positive experience in the other area, and this will seriously be looked into. The bottle incident was a rare and unique one which was handled and dealt with immediate. The client who this happened to was treated to and the situation was a regretful one which shall never be repeated again. Your food experience has been passed onto our F&B department where it shall be investigated and implemented in a way that these situations don´t occur again. We are also sorry about the room service, which we hope you will not experience again.

With all that in mind, we do hope that you return to see us again here at Monte Santo and that your overall experience is more positive. We are always aiming to improve and implement new and better standards for our guests to have an even better experience than the last one. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,232 reviews
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
628 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Property: Monte Santo Resort
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing