We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My best holiday so far.....this was an.exceent stay.The stay was refreshing.Excelent staff they were always happy to help.My bestly so far.Iuxourios home from home feel.My family and I enjoyed the state.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gwenje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Such lovely compliments and reviews. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much and that you and your family had the home away from home feeling. We look forward to having you back with us here at Monte Santo.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    181
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
382
182
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a superb 5 star hotel.
We stayed in a fantastic 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living-room.
The pools are both very good and the children enjoyed the foam party by the pool.
The staff was very kind and professional.
Maybe the breakfast was the only disappointment: it was too crowded (August) and a little bit monotonous.
Overall, a great stay – we extended our reservation for one more night…

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a 2 rooms apartment. It's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pedro_do_Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us and that you appreciated our resorts facilities and accommodations! The foam parties in the pool during the summer were a huge success for everyone to enjoy! U glad our staff proved to be kind and helpful and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment with friends and had an amazing time. The apartments are beautifully finished, spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything you could possibly want. Cleaned daily by maids as well and constantly supplied with fresh towels & toiletries.

The rest of the hotels facilities including spar are second to none & the staff are wonderful. There was a pretty good breakfast spread on every day - there were some particularly tasty small pastries with a custard fillings which we could not get enough off. We also ate lunch & dinner at the hotel's restaurant occasionally - there was a good variety and the food was delicious.

The hotel offers a shuttle bus into town several times a day, but to be honest we always walked as it was only 15 minutes down the hill. A taxi is less than 5 euro's!

Carvoiero is a pretty little town - very quiet in october and I got the feeling that a lot of tourist shops & restaurants had closed for the winter, there was still ample choice of restaurants to eat at - Onze by the beach being our favourite with lots of delicious fish.

The best thing by far about Monte Santo was discovering there was a more private hot tub on the roof of our apartment!!! Only discovered this by reading the guest directory. Ask the pool staff & they will unlock the gate to the roof & get the hot tub ready for a time that suits you! Highly recommend a hot tub session at sunset with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed you holidays and appreciated our Monte Santo Resort. Thank you for taking the time out to complement our accommodations, amenities, facilities, services and staff. Glad that you enjoyed our roof top Jacuzzis! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from our second visit to Monte Santo - this time staying in a townhouse. They really are the nicest holiday apartments I have yet found anywhere - spotlessly clean, with an excellent kitchen and full hotel maid service. The restaurant is good too, the pools all well-designed and inviting, and the staff courteous and attentive. The weather was not good but we still had a lovely time - that is not an easy trick to pull off so thank you Monte Santo resort for your help in achieving that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your kind compliments to our resort. We truly appreciate the time you took out to leave us your great review. I’m pleased to hear you still had a lovely holiday despite the bad weather and happy to hear that our staff was obliging and attentive. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed at monte santo resort in oct 2012, our accomadation was super, we where upgraded to a two bedroom town house, which was amazing, it had everything you could poss want. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The swimming pools, were all great, and breakfast was very good.
We will be going back again, Thanks to all the staff,

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulined172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Lauren Lopes at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

That´s great to hear that you enjoyed your holidays so much! Glad that you appreciated your up-grade and found our services and staff of 5 star adequacies! We look forward to having you back here at Monte Santo!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely resort. Great location for keen walkers, providing a quiet and tranquil ambience and scenic route to and from the town. Apartments are first class and maintained perfectly. Definitely, a home from home. Already looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Not for non-walkers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarbellaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your “home away from home” compliment, which is just how we like to think of ourselves! Glad to have you back again and look forward to next year’s visit! Take care and all the best!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from an 11 night stay in Monte Santo resort. Overall we had a wonderful stay. The accommodation is excellent - we had a 2 bed apartment and it was just perfect for my husband, 2 children and me. It was cleaned everyday and there was always plenty towels etc replaced everyday.

The facilities in the apartment were wonderful, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher etc, it was like home from home. There was even a blender provided, which I had requested so that I could purée my little baby's food. There is a baby must have list so you can order things before you go.

There were three tellys, one in sitting room and one in each bedroom and a DVD player, it would be a good idea to bring some DVD's along with you. The apartment was just so spacious and luxurious - I would certainly return for that reason alone.

We went in October so it was off season so maybe a little quiet for some people, but it suited us fine. No rushing or queuing for anything.
Breakfast was on until 10.30, which was good, so we didn't have to rush in the morning. As mentioned in other reviews breakfast in only ok, there wasn't a great selection, for example - cereals available were coco pops, rich crispies, all bran and cornflakes. I suppose I would have like a better selection, porridge for example. To be fair I didn't ask so I am sure if I asked they could have made it for me, but when there wasnt a breakfast menu etc I didn't bother asking. Breakfast was grand but not fantastic, however I would still go B&B again next year.

The indoor pool was lovely, we had it all to ourselves most days as it was so quiet, there is a jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Sanau also. My husband went to the gym, but it was only fair as there is only one treadmill, no cross trainer and no rower. There was one treadmill, two bikes and a weight machine, so not great, but that didn't bother me at all. My husband was a little disappointed though, but he jogged on the road instead so he still got jogging while there.

The is a lovely little children's pool and big pool. The water temperate was a little cool, but what can one expect in October. We still swam in it and after the initial shock I got used to it.
The was no rush for sun loungers etc as it was off season so that was great.

Overall I found the staff very friendly and helpful. It is a very child friendly resort. The accommodation I could not fault. We hired a car and because of its location you would need a car or taxi to get to town. We toured around a little, we ate in vagabond in Alvor one night. Alvor is lovely. We also visited Ferraguado, a small fishing village. Lagos zoo - a nice family day out and Zoomarine, a nice day out also but a little pricey to get in.

Restaurants we found excellent in Carvoeiro were Villa Medici - very child friendly, lovely Italian with great service and food. Next door Primavera is also excellent with great good. Ele and Ela was lovely and O Samos located in a lovely courtyard was also good.
In summary we loved Monte Santo and will be back next year. A few things were not great like the breakfast and gym, but that wouldn't stop me coming back. Accommodation excellent and staff very friendly. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carinemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, sales and marketing at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We truly appreciate your kind review and positive feedback. We look forward to having you back next year and we will see what we can do about getting you some porridge for breakfast!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
24.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Property: Monte Santo Resort
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing