We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great place and worthy of it's 5 stars. We were lucky as soon as we arrived we were upgraded from a 1 bed apartment to a 2 bed townhouse that was fantasic. It had 2 bathrooms, with whirlpools baths, 2 double bedrooms with large comfy beds, terrace opened to one of the many swimming pools, and all brand new kitchen equipment. We had a terrace that we ate most meals on and a balcony in one bedroom only, however the glass around the balcony was as high as my chest so no risk for a child to climb over. There was masses of child friendly other features - high cupboards for glasswear in the kitchens and high cupboards in the bathrooms.The children's club was excellent, run by the most wonderful women called Joanna and my daughter loved it. It was truely wonderful in every way - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Private_name2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your kind review and lovely compliments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here at Monte Santo and that all the family was happy and well entertained and provided for. We strive to be a 5 star family resort and are pleased to be constantly complimented and rewarded for our facilities, staff and accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
There are newer reviews for Monte Santo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 740 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two weeks Sep 15 to 29. We had such a fantastic stay in Monte Santo we will be back for sure. The reception staff especially Jose the front office manager were so efficient and welcoming. We were celebrating a delayed honeymoon. There was a surprise complementary bottle of bubbly, chocolate strawberries, candles and rose petals in our suite which blew us away. Our suite was also ready early which was so helpful.
The room and balcony were more like an upmarket 5 star apartment. We had a pool view which was so pretty.
The jacuzzi was a great perk in the suit too and we watched loads of fantastic DVD's on our flat screen tv which we got from reception if we decided to stay in in the evening time.
The rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided and gorgeous fluffy bath robes.
We had breakfast every day, there was an amazing selection.
We went to the BBQ down stairs on our first night with a guy playing the guitar which was so romantic.
The pools and grounds were beautiful ans so well kept.
There was a games room too which we played a few games of pool.
Even when we checked out the receptionist waved us off at 6.30am on Saturday morning.
One of the best resorts on the Algarve. You would benefit from having a car to go to the beautiful beaches near by, it was a bit hot to walk to. We walked into Carvoeiro every night, a lovely walk about 15 mins all down hill and took a taxi back at night just €5.
All in all this hotel deserves every one of its 5 stars,Well Done Monte Santo!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeaniedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Markeitng Asssistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your kind review and lovely compliments! We are so glad that you chose Monte Santo for your delayed honeymoon and that it exceed all of you expectations. We are happy to hear that you will be returning to Monte Santo again and we look forward to your next visit. Congratulations on your wedding and we wish you our sincerest best wishes for your future together.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Monte Santo Resort ... what a fantastic holiday!! Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean, modern and finished to a very high standard. There was a large patio area with dining furniture which overlooked beautifully-kept grounds. The amenities were excellent including an indoor pool, jacuzzi, turkish bath and sauna. The large and children's swimming pools were surrounded by lush palm trees and plants and there were plenty of comfortable sunbeds, tables and umbrellas. Pool towels available free of charge on a daily basis and a poolside restaurant, bar and games area. Plenty of comfy seating to take in the scenery. Spa facilities if you should want them. Staff were very helpful, friendly and able to help with anything. Location from the town/beach is uphill, it can be walked but the free shuttle bus from the hotel was an added bonus and a taxi was only 5 euros. Would liked to have had a shop onsite but the breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner menu's were excellent and they had a takeaway service! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We truly appreciate your positive feedback, kind compliments about our staff, amenities, facilities and restaurant! It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday! We hope to have you back again at Monte Santo very soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Monte Santo, our first holiday with a toddler but had a lovely relaxing holiday.

The Good....
Stayed in a 2 bed townhouse. These are a little further from reception and each set of houses have their own small pool closeby. These pools are small but we found that they were quiet and suited us perfectly.
Accommodation is modern, well equipped, very spacious and of a high standard.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. (I have seen some reviews that say to the contrary. I wouldn't say they are "smiley friendly" all the time but anytime we needed anything they were amiable and very helpful)
Even though there is no shop they do provide a "baby concierge" service in addition to basic food shopping. We realised we would run out of nappies within hours, they were able to provide us with some delivered to our door asap.
Free shuttle into town/beach.
Very quiet and peaceful location.
Nice little kids play area.
Sizeable indoor pool, which is a good thing if you want to keep the children out of the hot sun for a bit.

Less good...
No shop onsite and not one nearby. The reception will give you a shopping list and provide items from this but it's basic.
Location: the resort isn't easily accessible from the town/beach. It's not so much far but down a reasonably steep, windy hill. We are reasonably fit but it was a bit tricky with a pushchair. We didn't hire a car which made getting provisions a bit challenging. But to be fair we managed with a taxi home from the village/town and there is a free minibus that maybe we should have used more. Taxi's are also cheap.

General Tips
No cloths or washing up liquid etc provided (but rooms do have toiletries which are restocked)
There is one nearby restaurant. (Forgotten the name! Come out of the hotel, turn left. Right at the roundabout and it's only a few mins down the round on the right. It was good for a change if you are nearby and without a car. They also did takeaway which was great. )
If you have children that need highchairs- get there early for breakfast as they do run out occasionally
Hire Car might be worthwhile if you have a family.

Room Tip: Townhouses have pools very close by that are small but very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We appreciate your positive feedback and compliments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your first holiday away with your toddler! We hope to see you again here at Monte Santo

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week, we had 2 townhouses, for 3 couples and 1 child. The townhouse is very well equipped. Overall, staff were very welcoming and helpful, (apart from one lady at reception). The staff were great with the child. Never a problem getting a space by the pool and restaurant food was decent. I used the gym most days, was very happy with that amenity. The walk to the town is about 20 minutes, it's not too bad. One request I would have to improve the experience would be to provide wifi in the townhouse/apartment so we could have used the Ipad at home to watch movies via netflix at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcdonaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your kind compliments to our staff and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay! I will pass on your comment about villa wifi and we hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have been to Carvoeiro many times before, thought we would try somewhere different and was not disappointed. We stayed In a two bedroom townhouse which was to a high standard and well equipped for self catering (kitchen had everything you needed) The breakfast selection at the clubhouse was good and all very fresh.
The walk into town was 15-20mins, if not a taxi was €5.
I would recommend going to intermarche supermarket which is a 5min taxi ride just on the out road of Carvoeiro.

The resort was very clean and kept to a high standard. All staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone and will be returning in the future.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed Monte Santo and that you would recommend it! We hope you had a memorable honeymoon and that we will be seeing you again soon! Congratulations on your marriage and we wish you all the best! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Weve had the best time at the Monte Santo Resort since going to the Algarve regular in the last 10 years. The staff and cleaners are very polite, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment and cleandiness is very good and would highly recommend for all age groups with also children. We had the 3 bedroom suit and found this to be very high standard and would not hesitate in going back to the resort in the very near furure.

Great place highly recommend!!!!!!

Mr Mike Buckley Room 58

Room Tip: Room 58 x3 Bedroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 207mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments for Monte Santo. We are thrilled to hear you had such a lovely holiday and we thank you for your future reference to us! We look forward to seeing you again soon where we hope you will have and even more enjoyable time!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,116 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $115 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing