We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 2 children stayed in this resort for a week. Initial impressions were so so. Reception staff not at all very welcoming. I was very surprised at this as I had read many previous reviews about reception staff and thought things would have improved. They don't provide that friendliness they should when staying in a 5 star hotel. We had an apartment in the club house, we had a buggy so had to walk past reception many times going to the bar, pool etc, reception never made an attempt to say hello or even smile. They actually sat down and hid themselves behind their desk. The apartment was finished beautifully, all mod cons included. We had a massive balcony which was great for the 2 children to run around on. The pool and grounds were beautiful, very well maintained. We could see that they cleaned the pool every night. There was a beautiful playground. Breakfast was ok, we had breakfast included so had it every morning. It was a little repetitive, a little variation would be good. We had dinner in the restaurant 2 of the nights, again it was just ok. We found the food a little salty. Over all we probably would return to this resort. It is a beautiful area. There is plenty for children to do. We really enjoyed the pool foam party. Hopefully reception staff will improve as its such a pity that they are the first people u meet and as they say first impressions last.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montedonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your compliments on our accommodation. We are lag that the large balcony provided a great view and a place for you children to play around in. Thank you for your appreciation of our beautiful resort, gardens and surrounding areas.

We do apologies for any let downs in the service and we will be sure to deal with this and try to improve. We hope that we can welcome you back again sometime soon, here to Monte Santo Resort.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    181
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
382
182
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently arrived back from the monte santo resort so I thought id write a quick review. Like a lot of people we choose monte santo based on a lot of positive feedback that we saw on trip advisor. We arrived quite early on a Saturday so the rooms were not ready straight away so after 40 minute wait we were brought to our apartment. Well it was worth the wait... We stayed in the main club house near to the reception area. As we were one end it meant we had an extra large balcony which was great - it even had its own entrance.

The apartment itself was very well equipped, most are listed in other reviews so i will just mention what i thought was missing. Dish cloths would have been handy, as well as egg cups. I think they should also supply the basics such as salt, pepper and washing up liquid. Obviously we bought these things anyway but it's those little things that would make it 5 star. The cleaners did come in each day but gave us an early awakening 2 mornings at 9am even though we had the do not disturb sign on the door. We kept the place tidy enough so they didn't need to do very much...

As in the other reviews the front of house need a bit of training. They seemed vague and unhelpful. I asked about wifi on the first day for example and was told it was only available in the lobby. A day or two later I found that I could purchase it for 30euro for the week. That meant I could use the iPad anywhere in the resort. We hooked the iPad to the tv with a hdmi cable and found an app that allowed us to watch loads of English tv channels. Worked out great. Even watched Ireland play their match while I sat by the pool.

Apart from the apartment we loved both the indoor and outdoor pools, the sauna, the steam room and the jacuzzi were excellent. Even the sunbeds were a higher quality than we were used to in other resorts. We didn't bother eating there at all because we read it wasn't up to much beforehand. The plus side of this was that we ate out in two nearby restaurants - mama mia and (something olivera) can't remember the full name. In carvoeiro we ate in 'onze'. I can't stress how amazing the food was there. It's a must visit!!! It was only a quick 15 minute walk (from back gate) down the town and a nice walk - there was nothing to it with some amazing views once you get to the coast. Could be tricky with children as the paths are small but for us it was grand. We walked back a few nights and wandered into the jailhouse pub which was great craic. I was surprised there was no real entertainment going on in monte santo itself after around 8pm. Perhaps a bit of music would have been nice but overall it suited us as we spent our evenings in the town or watching a DVD.

Overall we would go back it is a great resort if you are a couple who are looking for a nice relaxing holiday.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronatron69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodations well equipped. Our outdoor facilities are always praised so we are happy to hear how much you enjoyed and appreciated them.

Sorry to see that you didn’t catch any of our evening entertainment. In the Month of September we start calming down, but we have live music twice a week, Tuesdays and Saturdays, with a family themed night and our BBQ night. Plus we have a foam party on Wednesday in the afternoon and the animal’s shows on Friday. That´s great that you got into Carvoeiro and enjoyed it so much! We hope to have you back again at Monte Santo soon!
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from our family holiday to Monte Santo (2 adults and 2 small children age 5 months and 3). We had a great time but would agree with some of the other reviews that not all of the facilities are of 5* standard.

Our accommodation was amazing! We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse. It had 2 large bedrooms both with en suite bathrooms. Our super king size bed was so comfy and both rooms had a tv. There was also a fab balcony from one of the rooms with a view of the sea. Downstairs it was an open plan living/dining/kitchen area with a lovely patio outside. Very well equipped kitchen. One down side to the equipment provided was that there was no clothes horse provided. 2 small kids generate a lot of washing and I ended up buying a clothes dryer at the supermarket (and I noticed others had done the same). It was a bit of a waste as it had to be left behind.

We had clean bath and pool towels provided every day. Breakfast was definitely not what you would expect from a 5* resort....it was very un imaginative and it never changed, it became quite monotonous after 10days! We ate in the restaurant a couple of times. The Saturday night family BBQ was excellent but at other times the 'regular' menu was boring and a bit overpriced. The main pool area was excellent as was our smaller pool outside our townhouse.

For families, we would definitely recommend a hire car. The resort itself is a bit out of town. You could walk downhill all the way into carvoeiro in about 20 minutes but would be uphill all the way home! There is also a lack of pavements so not good if you have wee ones. There is also no shops nearby for essentials and the supermarket is about a 5-10 minute drive away.

Overall we had a lovely, relaxing family holiday and I think Monte Santo caters for that kind of holiday well. There is nothing much happening at night but that suited us. We would consider returning next year....!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LBoyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assitant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and that you would come back to see us again next year! All comments made on opinions about what the Accommodation is missing are all taken into consideration so thank you for your contribution.

Sorry to hear about your breakfast experience and it shall be looked into. I’m glad that you enjoyed your family holiday and that Monte Santo was well suited for it!
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a week and some more at Monte Santo. We stayed in a 3 room appartment, a lot of space and more then enough equipment in it. The appartment was lovely again (3th year here, so frequent vistors). Poolside was again great, there were a lot of visitors but never crowdy.
The people of Monte Santo did make our holiday again great from the start till goodbye. We did rent a car at the airport and the only problem we did have was the acces control at the mainport, did not work very well. But overall SUPER 5* resort, hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: great place for a holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wim1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your 3rd return visit! We appreciate your comments and compliments and look forward to seeing you again next year and hope that we keep topping each year!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself and my wife and son just returned from 8 nights in Monte Santo resort. We stayed in a 2 bed Town House .It was easily 5 star.Furnished to a high standard .There was a main pool and a smaller pool allocated to each block of Town Houses.No problem getting a sun bed! Carvoeiro was quite enough ( Not a surprise for September)A taxi required at night if you frequent the village (€5.00).Avoid the breakfast if you are going self catering, it was nothing to write home about.The staff here were a delight , I would go as far as to say the best that I have ever come across.This is definitely a resort to chill out in, if you want excitement go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Town Houses would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiarmuidIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assitant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We were pleased to hear your comments regarding our staff and will be sure to pass it on to them! Our accommodations are furnished o the highest standards and we are happy to hear how much you appreciated them! We look forward to having you back here at Monte Santo in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked this very late (3 weeks before we went) and wanted a clean, spacious, apartment, on a nice resort - and that is just what we got.

Positives - the apartment (2-bedroom) itself was big, and well appointed - we often find that the kitchen facilities in such places can be lacking, but this was very well laid-out and had everything we needed. The main pool was big, and fun for the kids, lots of places to sunbathe and very little of the 'towels-down at 8am' brigade. Free kids club was a great idea, but it barely seemed to be used; small kids playground was also a good touch. The staff by the pool and in the restaurant were generally all very nice, and the bbq dinner we had on resort, where someone entertained all the kids, was definitely a plus. the resort itself was generally quiet and relaxing, the grounds are very scenic and they showed Premiership football on a saturday ;) Also, the nexplicable foam party at 4 in the afternoon in the pool went down a scream with the kids!

Negatives - the front of house staff, for a resort billing itself as 5*, need some training. On two separate occasions they were either unhelpful or downright rude. The room guide mentions a dvd library including lots of films for kids, which would have been great as they dont have any kids tv channels (for 20 minutes in the morning and 20 minutes in the evening, as well as during lunchtime, this would have been a very useful distraction - and again, i'd expect it on a 5* resort) - when my wife asked about this, first she was told 'why do they need it - maybe they should go to sleep', and then when she pressed, she was told 'well, we used to have a lot of them, but people seemed to borrow them and not give them back' - frankly, i felt rather let down. firstly, the fact that they can't run a system whereby they get the dvds back but, secondly, the sarcastic answer and tone of voice when you ask a simple question whilst on holiday really left a sour taste. We asked for a restaurant recommendation, and had the worst meal of our 8-night stay (restaurant was very expensive, tables were crammed together, staff were totally inattentive) - again, a 5* resort should have staff with excellent local knowledge. The breakfast was a bit lacking; the same very day, a basic full english and a basic continental. Might have been nice to offer pancakes and some proper Portuguese patisserie. We were also slightly concerned by the end of the week at the green stains on our swimming costumes from the pool - im fairly sure it was nothing to worry about, but it was slightly disconcerting. Finally, the rooms have an ethernet cable so you can get online with a laptop, but who takes a laptop away these days? Half the customers were on ipads, which could connect via wifi near the restaurant, but they need to get wifi in the accommodation blocks - seems like a small quibble, and i WAS aware of this in advance, but again, if they want to step up and actually BE 5*..........

In all - the reason we went was to get some sun, relaxation, and an easy time - we booked it very late (just 3 weeks in advance), and for the price we paid, i was never expecting 5*; it was certainly a good 4*, and i would recommend it for the price. Make sure you have a car - Carvoeiro itsself is a bit like the 1980s stereotype of Costa del Sol - lots of clone restaurants, and a bit of a dilapidated feel - and there is so much to see and do in the Algarve if you want to take a look around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shedzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed our suites and fund them well equipped. Our weekly entertainment is designed for family relaxation, a little thing for everyone, we are glad to hear you enjoyed and appreciated everything and looking forward to having you back again soon.
We are sorry to hear about your other experiences during your stay and they will all be investigated and improved on.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have just returned from a week's stay at the Monte Santo and thought I would share my thoughts....

Overall we had a nice stay and definitely would consider staying there again. Our main complaint is that it is not a five star resort and by selling it as such I think it will disappoint a number of its visitors who expect a little more.

POSITIVE POINTS:
1. The accommodation was excellent. Spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard.
2. Most of the staff were excellent - they spoke good English and really tried their best to please and made a real effort. A special mention must go to all the waiters at the restaurant.
3. The pool area was very nice - very clean and plenty of sun beds / umbrellas etc.
4. Breakfasts were very good - plenty of food and plenty of choice.
5. Reasonable selection of food for lunch and very reasonably priced by resort standards.

NEGATIVE POINTS:
1. There is no wireless internet access in the rooms and it is patchy at best in the main building. Not a major complaint but a little annoying.
2. Reception staff weren't great. Nobody was rude (as per previous reviews) but they didn't properly explain how the resort worked - buses into town, how to get towels, how to use internet etc. You had to work things out by yourself a little bit.
3. Resort is about twenty mins walk from town/beach but the bus that is supplied finishes at 18.45 which is a bit early if you want to go into town for dinner.
4. Accommodation is generally very good but there is no bottled water etc and nowhere on site to purchase essentials. A bit of a pain to have to buy in town and then get a taxi back to the rooms.
5. Dinner in the resort's restaurant is so-so but definitely not 5* standard. Most people seemed to either eat out (as we mainly did) or eat in their apartments.

Overall we would recommend the Monte Santo to families with children who want a relaxing stay and are more interested in a stress-free family holiday than couples who want a "luxury" break. I think if the resort marketed itself as a 4* resort it would be more accurate and people would appreciate the things that it undoubtably does very well rather than they little things that are missing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assitant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your positive feedback about our waiters and service. It will certainly be passed on. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and the accommodations and our facilities. We are sorry to hear about your internet access and will see into it that it is improved. Sorry to hear that you didn’t receive enough information regarding the resort upon arrival, we will look into this and improve on it! I hope your overall experience with us was enjoyable and hope to have you again here at Monte Santo!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
24.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Property: Monte Santo Resort
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing