We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte Santo Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mirachoro Praia(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$237
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carvoeiro Hotel(Carvoeiro)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palm Gardens(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
$226
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$131
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quinta dos Oliveiras(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
507
205
50
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
205
50
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubindoor pooljacuzzi bathsself cateringhigh standarddvd playerbed townhouseface paintingmain buildingwasher dryergolf buggyfree upgradeyoung childrenstar servicefamily holidayhigh chairfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 783 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Recently returned from a fabulous stay at Monte Santo. We are a family of 6 and stayed in a 3 bed villa. The villas was very spacious, spotlessly clean and really well equipped. The bedrooms are lovely with really comfy beds and pillows. We found the service to be really great - the lovely ladies who clean every day do a great job and although the towel change is only weekly, as there is a washer dryer we were easily able to wash and dry the towels ourselves. We never had a problem getting loungers but occasionally could only get one umbrella between six of us. I've read a few negative comments about the reception staff but we found them to be really brilliant. We needed a doctor for a sick child one day - they got the doctor for us, who arrived in 15 minutes, They paid the doctor and added it to the bill AND went to the pharmacy to fill the prescription for us. You really have to commend that level of service.. We weren't crazy about Carvoeiro itself so only went in a couple of times but there are plenty of nice restaurants out of town and the location is brilliant for Slide & Splash and Zoo Marine. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are glad to see your family had such an enjoyable holiday and that you found our villa so spacious and immaculate. Our reception staff was more than pleased to help you out with your sick child and it was no problem getting your prescription filled out. We like to provide guests with unique and personalized service and I’m glad you experienced this here at Monte Santo.

We look forward to having you back at Monte Santo soon :)

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel July 2012 for 2 weeks - 2 adults and 2 kids. Accommodation was excellent - clean, spacious, etc. Kitchen well equipped although we didn't really use it much. Pool area very nice - large outdoor pool and very nice indoor pool.

Not much going on in the evenings but we drove out to different restaurants each night so didn't bother us. Very close to Carvoeiro and a supermarket.

Lunch was fine in the restaurant.

Negative points (all very minor)
- room often didn't get cleaned until about 4pm. Didn't bother us as we were down by the pool all day.
- breakfast was the same each day - a bit more variety would have been good.
- could do with more umbrellas with the sun beds (they have 1 umbrella between 4 sun beds).

Overall, a really good holiday.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales and Marketing assistant at Monte Santo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Monte Santo Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at Monte Santo aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We were pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday mentioning the exceptional maid service, available sun lounges and varied breakfast. We are pleased that staff made it felt like a personalized service and glad that you enjoyed our SPA treatments so much.

The Monte Santo team look forward to having you back soon :)

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've just returned from a week away with our 2 children ( aged 3 and 6 ).
Fantastic family holiday resort.
Modern, Clean, with accomodation of the highest specification.
Staff very obliging.
Large outdoor pool with indoor pool available if necessary.
Convenient for Carvoeiro town which is fantastic, with good Restaurants and reasonably lively bars.
Local beaches are amazing.
Local Water Park is a must !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for a week with my partner after purchasing a groupon. I expected a room or small apartment, but we were shown to this enormous villa for up to four people! Everything was spotless and geared up for self catering, though the food (and cocktails!) in the restaurant was delicious and it's about 20 minutes walk to the seaside where there are lots of restaurants and bars. There was a small swimming pool (practically private) right outside our villa, and it was only a short walk through beautiful gardens to the main pool. The staff were a mixed bag - some friendly and polite, others not particularly helpful but when you have a jacuzzi bath, who cares!

We went off peak, so there weren't many families around and there were always sun loungers available. The weather was amazing - very hot but the villa was air conditioned. It's definitely one of the nicest places I've stayed in Portugal, and with the groupon very good value. I wouldn't pay the full price though, and it would have been even better if wifi was free (or fast).

Room Tip: Go off peak - fewer kids & better deals
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Monte Santo, overall very good standard of accommodation, pleasant and helpful reception staff, good faciltiies for families, but have to agree with other reviews with regard to the restaurant food, no problems with breakfast but for lunch/dinner service was extremely slow and not particularly great quality. Also during the day if you wanted a drink then there was only ever one person behind the bar to do everything, so consequently you had to get used to waiting - more staff needed and also to wait on tables, you had to try and grab someone's attention if you needed another drink or wanted to order food.
Car is definately a must to get out and explore the pretty beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews