We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort, will definitely be back!”
Review of Monte Santo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Santo Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We chose this resort based on the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We had a three bedroomed luxury townhouse with a lovely patio we could eat meals on, as well as an upstairs balcony with sunbathing beds on it. The townhouse was impeccably clean and stylishly decorated. The kids loved it. Jacuzzis included too. The main part of the resort was a 3 minute walk away, and we had breakfast there every morning which was included in our room rate. The breakfast was a buffet style breakfast and we were very impressed with it - they had the usual continental style food - fresh rolls, cheeses, cold meats etc - as well as bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc as well as loads of fresh fruit. Service was great too. In addition to the main resort pool we had a private pool right outside our townhouse which was just fantastic not to mention convenient. We had hired a car which I would definitely recommend as the resort is a bit of a walk from everywhere else. We we also able to drive to beaches further out of town (there are loads) and do our supermarket shopping as we were self-catering. Its a beautiful resort, would definitely recommend and we would go back without hestitation.

Room Tip: Try off peak times of year to get a good deal on their best accommodation - by changing our dates by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chezza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 752 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

we recently spent a week at the monte santo and dont really have many negative things to say about it. its a very big resort, our apartment was nicer than my house with all mod cons....microwave , oven massive fridge freezer, washing machine and dishwasher coffee maker, jacuzzi bath en suite and w/c, radios in every room, flat screen tellys, cd player and dvd player.. anythin you could need really, the maids come everyday although it was around 5pm for us...and i was disturbed a couple of times while having a little nap...even tho i had the do not disturb sign on the door. it is a lovely setting for a nice relaxing holiday, the pool area is lovely, plently of sunbeds, the food was fine, with a reasonably good selection at breakfast including bacon eggs sausages bread pastries fruit and cereal. we generally kept ourselves to ourselves on this holiday as we just wanted a chilled time so we didnt spend any time in the hotel bar area or anythin in the evenings so i cant comment on any entertainment there, tho i did see signs for bbq's and live music. we also didnt eat in the resterant atall so cant really say what the food was like there..we orderd a couple of lovely sandwitches for by the pool tho, they were very nice and very reasonably priced, as were the drinks, at 4.50 euros for a large beer and about 6 euros for a cocktail. there is a gym and indoor pool and a tennis court and there are jacuzzis that you can hire for the evening.
the staff were very helpful and friendly, im not sure where some people have got the terrible service thing from. tho we didnt have many dealings with them other than checking in and out and ordering taxis and drinks, but they were very well spoken and polite.
nearby carvoiero is beautiful and only 5-10 minuets in a taxi....do not attempt the walk!! there are no pavements and it gets very steep!! its less than 5 euros into town so if you budget for taxis youll be fine. there are plenty of resteraunts and bars near the beach so you can eat and drink while watching the stunning sunset by the beach aaaaaah.
we had a wonderful quiet chilled out holiday at the beautiful monte santo in the beautiful carvoiero, i miss my pretty little apartment...oooooh and i nearly forgot...THE COMFIEST BED EVVERRRRRRRR!! it was so hard to get out of bed for breakfast early...it was just so comfy!!
i would reccoment the hotel and area to anybody couple young and old families large or small, i would go back tomorrow if i could!!
dont listen to any bad reviews, maybe they are used to staying in buckingham palace or something...some people are just never happy!!!
thanks monte santo, hope to visit again someday to continue my love affair with the algarve and especially carvoiero x

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wayne-n-colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just returned from an 8 night stay and like most people who have reviewed Monte Santo, you cannot fault the resort. The apartments are excellent. Definitely 5 star. And the cleaners did seem to appear every day.
The main pool area is also very nice, very clean and there was never a problem in getting a couple of loungers.
The other facilities are not 5 star but are just about adequate.

A lot of people have commented on the breakfast. We didn't have any problems with this; always found a table and we did go to breakfast at various different times. The food is very good, very varied and the staff are always pleasant and helpful. There were a couple of issues with trying to get a cup of coffee, but it was rare, and the staff are clearly very busy.

My main complaint with Monte Santo is with the reception staff (and by reading other comments I seem to be alone in this criticism).
We arrived very late on the first night but having told them in advance, I was advised this wasn't a problem.
However, we were not given our 50 euro food voucher (part of the deal) and I had to ask for this the next day. Also part of the deal was a drink on arrival, this wasn't mentioned either.
I also found out the following day that we were supposed to have been given a card to use to acquire pool towels as well! This led to an uncomfortable conversation trying to get towels...felt a bit like I had just wandered in off the street!
And, there was a wifi problem which wasn't explained (long story, but in-apartment wifi no longer works...seems to have been down for a very long time, but you can get wifi in the bar / restaurant, although this was also down for at least the first half of the holiday!!!).

So...upshot, near perfect. I would recommend the place and would consider going there again.

Carvoeiro is indeed only a 20 minute walk away....but you might want a (cheap) taxi back...bit of a hill.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CPerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We are a young couple (both 24) who have just spent 7 nights in a lovely 2 bed, 2 bathroom villa after seeing and booking through Groupon. Speaking on the behalf of the 2 of us I cannot fault this place. On arrival we were driven through the electric gates and dropped off at reception, where we were greeted by 3 lovely hotel receptionists who explained everything to us in perfect English. We were then driven by golf buggy around the resort (showing us the resort layout) before being dropped off at our villa...... our luggage was taken for us at both ends. The villa was very spacious (could of easily slept a family of 4/5) and was very clean (it was good to see cleaners at least every 2 days cleaning the villa...even dealing with our washing up!!). The resort was superb, fantastic layout and greenery, numerous jacuzzis, 2 large swimming pools, use of gym/sauna, wasn't overly busy and everything was tidy and kept very well maintained....(its good to know for the guys they do show Premiership games and Rugby in the bar area!!) One thing i did enjoy was that it wasnt overly English like some resorts I have stayed at...the mix of nationalities was great (good to see the staff could easily speak 4/5 languages fluently). If you wanted to leave the resort there are plenty of golf courses around, the beach is only a 15 minute walk (lovely walk along the cliffs over looking the bays and the town of Carvoiero) and the town is easily accessible. We didnt hire a car so were reliant on taxis, however a taxi to the beach and Carvoiero was around 4 -5 euros, local supermarket (large Intermarche) is again roughly 5 euros (however there are smaller shops in Carvoiero)...good to note the reception will glady book a taxi on your behalf either to be collected at reception or your villa and the taxi service is superb (never waited more than 10 minutes). Above all, the staff are by the far the best thing about Monte Santo.....always happy to help, always smiling, never left you waiting and you never felt like you were being a nuisance or unwanted. For example there is a youngish girl who works behind reception (really annoys me i didnt get her name because she was superb and deserves a mention and bonus..think its andreas)..she spent 30 minutes ringing up excursions for us that we wanted to go on, she advised us of local areas, she even advised us against certain things (e.g. one excursion was going to charge us 20 euros for pick up and to drop us off, however she organised a taxi to do it for half the price!).....a young waiter at the restaurant was always smiling and friendly, even chatting to us when he wasnt in the restaurant which was nice. Even on our last day when checking out, one staff member took our bags for us and shook our hands thanking us for our stay (which was very courteous and something you dont always get at 5 star hotels). Like I have stated we cannot fault this place and I would happily go back again in an instant...fantastic for young couples, mature couples, young families, honeymoons..it caters for all

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Just back from four nights staying at Monte Santo booked via a fantastic Groupon deal several months back.
I had read some negative reviews and was a little bit concerned, but can honestly say this was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. In fact, I wished I actually lived in the townhouse - amazingly spacious, spotlessly clean, flat screen TVs in every room, granite fully fitted kitchen, radios in every room. Our townhouse looked EXACTLY as it did on the website.
Breakfast was spot on - plenty of selection of hot and cold food. We were usually at breakfast before 9am but I could imagine things getting a bit hectic later on. However this has been the case in almost every hotel I have stayed at, including other 5 star establishments.
We also had lunch in the hotel most days and dinner once and again we were very happy with the quality of food on offer.
Staff were very polite, professional and friendly even though they seemed very busy a lot of the time.
We had our own private pool at the townhouse which was excellent - spotlessly clean and always plenty of loungers.
However if I could suggest one thing for the hotel to improve on it would be the serving of coffee at breakfast. I am not a huge coffee drinker but I like a few cups in the morning and I felt that I had to chase the waiter for a second cup of coffee. Not a very big problem but having the waiters pour coffee for everyone is a waste of effort when instead a pot of tea or coffee could be given to each table.
As we were only there for 4 nights we did not hire a car but next time we go (and yes, there will definitely be a next time) we will hire a car to drive around. This was only my second trip to Portugal and I can honestly say what a wonderful place it seems to be and how friendly everyone is.
I have not stopped praising Monte Santo to other friends and family since we got back and am keeping my eyes peeled for another good deal so I can get back.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a two bedroom suite for 115 euro and the extra space was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sth2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week and we felt that was about right, any longer and you might go stir crazy !
Reception was very friendly and had no issues at all with them over our holiday.
2 bedroom townhouse was excellent - could not fault it and clean/spacious.
Pool area was clean and spacious and no problem getting sunbeds.
We had breakfast most days and the occasional lunch at the resort, service was friendly but slow and that was the case even when there was very few tables taken.
The resort is missing something, the bar and tv area lacks atmosphere and there is no buzz particularly in the evening.
No spa facilities, just a small area with a rather over weight male masseuse , that's it - take it or leave it.
Taking all the above into account we would consider a return to this resort, but there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BONDMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Monte Santo for 2 weeks end July/early August. We are a family with 2 kids age 7 and 9.
Our 2-bed villa was lovely - huge bedrooms and very comfy beds, in fact this was the first holiday we had when we got home and felt our own bed at home was not as good! The villa was so big you could imagine living in it all year round. It was cleaned daily but must admit by the end of the fortnight I did notice a bit of dust building up.
We appeared to have a free upgrade for breakfast every day which we were not expecting, and the comments about breakfast are 100% true! Some mornings were Ok, and we got served quickly, but other days were mayhem and you had to wait for ages just for a coffee or for someone to clear away the previous guests' plates etc. Saying that we enjoyed breakfast, good choice of hot and cold food, and also better if you do get there early.
Re sunbeds, we never had any problem, even at say 2pm you could wander down to the pool and usually get 2 beds at least. Pool area is great, lovely sea views and always a refreshing breeze.
We had a car for the fortnight, which I would recommend as you can explore the area, Carvoeiro is well situated for this - Silves is a lovely town and there are lots of lovely beaches to go to.
Agree kids club not up to much, just a wooden hut which was always closed when we ever went past.
In general we felt service at the hotel was OK, the staff just seem a bit subdued and shy, don't know if this is a cultural thing but compared to say Greece where we went last year and where staff are fab they are not as good.
One last thing, if you do eat or drink anything at the resort and have it added to you room bill, check this at the end of your stay - ours was wrong by c.100 euros, the staff had no idea what had been charged to our room, there was stuff we had not ordered etc.and we were not alone as the man next to us checking out was having the same problem.
All in all we had a great holiday, our kids loved it and made a few friends while there. The Algarve is lovely and climate was perfect, hot but not unbearable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Santo Resort

Address: Rua Joao Paulo II | Lagoa, Carvoeiro 8400-556, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $109 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte Santo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Santo Resort in Carvoeiro, offers a range of modern and luxurious Suites, apartments and townhouses. Just 45 minutes from Faro airport, Monte Santo is situated on the hilltops over Carvoeiro, a historic fishing town.Whether you are looking for a relaxing Algarve holiday, a fun-filled family holiday, or a spa or golf weekend, Monte Santo will cater to your every need with 5 star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Santo Hotel Carvoeiro
Monte Santo Resort Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing