We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. We had very low expectations due to what we had read. Have to see it was really quite nice though. The decoration is a little bright but its interesting. The rooms were clean and tidy . The beds were a little hard but not too bad. just a word to any ladies - take your own hairdryer!!!! The hotel is at the top of the hill that houses all the eating places. The hill is steep but steady. Only disappointing thing was the beach. We thought it was very underwhelming.Just our opinion. Overall the resort and hotel are very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulnBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 638 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked this hotel not expecting too much having read some of the reviews.
I was pleasantly surprised not sure how much people paid but I certainly felt as I got great value for the money. Yes it's not quiet 4 star but all the facilities are there it just depends what your expectations are.
As everyone says breakfast is really good. Room was fine nice & quiet.
Carlos the pool barman deserves a mention we had some lovely chats with him.
Yes some of the staff appear a bit unhappy but on the whole I found them ok.
The restaurants nearby are great hard to choose a favourite but if you like a curry the Hawelli Tandoorie just superb had 2 great curries there.
Our first time in Portugal & I loved the resort missing it already.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariola14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Room – On arrival in our room we could not close the doors to the balcony, so we reported it to reception. A member of staff came up to our room and tried to close them, but couldn’t and then the manager came up to try. There was a crack in the glass of one of the doors, so someone had obviously tried to close them a bit too hard previously! The manager had the cheek to ask us if it we had broken the doors even though we had only been in the room 2 minutes! Their attitude left a bit of a sour taste about the hotel, but other than that it was great. Anyway, they moved us to another room, which was fine. Good comfy double bed. Shower was ok, but if you turned the tap on too much is sprayed everywhere – usual story with showers abroad! Room was kept very clean and the maids came every day. Didn’t have any issues with noise within the hotel. Fridge in room, hairdryer and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Air con in room, although it was so old and whenever it was turned on the unit was leaking water onto the balcony. Also random fire doors throughout hotel!
Pool – Pool was lovely, clean enough and pool bar was open every day serving drinks, ice creams and snacks. There was an outdoor Jacuzzi, although we didn’t use it. There was also a kids pool, although we only saw one child at the hotel during our stay. The indoor pool and hot tub were in a very dark room and didn’t look as clean as the outdoor pool, we didn’t use and it was always empty when we walked past.
Breakfast – We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the choice for breakfast was excellent. The usual cooked breakfast – bacon, sausage, beans, fried or scrambled eggs. Toast. Ham, cheese and salad. Fruit, yogurt and cereals. Fab selection of fresh pastries and cakes – always warm and delicious – inc. croissants, chocolate muffins, etc. Selection of fruit juices and proper coffee machines for good coffee.
Location – The location is what makes this hotel. It is at the top of what is known as restaurant hill and there are so many great restaurants to choose from. There is a little café almost next door which is good for snacks and drinks. It only takes 5 minutes to walk down the hill (not steep) to the beach and to all the other restaurants and bars.
Service – Other than as mentioned above re our room issue, service was fine. We even had a bottle of wine in our room on our anniversary. The waiters at breakfast were very nice.

I would recommend this hotel for couples. The location is fab!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dingbat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked the hotel on the basis of its 4 star rating but the hotel is, in our opinion, a decent 3 star. While clean and providing all the facilities you would expect (pool, good sunbeds, pool bar, air con etc) all the facilities and furniture were 'basic' in nature as was the breakfast buffet.
The bathroom was small and cramped and the tiled flooring throughout meant the hotel was on the noisy side.
On a positive note the location is good (close to nightlife but far enough to be peaceful), the hotel and pool were clean and poolside and most of the breakfast staff friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a bit of a stretch to see this as a four star but it certainly is worth a return . The rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped and kept very clean. The towels are past their best but are replaced daily. It can be a little noisy in the mornings with furniture being moved on tiled floors and luggage transported along corridors.
The breakfast is first class, with a wide selection of cold and warm food in plentiful amounts.

The pool area is first class and has a jacuzzi.

The hotel sits at the top of a hill surrounded by restaurants and bars but is just far enough away not to be affected by late night revellers.

I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolavin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel very clean breakfast good and plenty of choice both cooked and cold. beds hard and pillows even harder I had to use the spare duvet to soften my pillows however room very clean this done daily spacious and good balcony space pool area very good always got a lounger at any time of day. Air conditioning in out room did not work. Big complaint regarding the fridge the purpose of a fridge is to be cold this was really a warm cupboard a real let down. we were on holiday and a cold drink in the room would have been an advantage. Suggestion that tea and coffee facilities in the room would be lovely. Staff on the whole were helpful however some of them could learn to smile they are after all in a service industry and apologies would have been nice when things went wrong. its no good telling me what you cant do just tell me what you can do. however on the whole a very acceptable stay.

Room Tip: our room faced the central court yard but still quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed here for 8 days on BB basis nice pool with hot tub and indoor pool and hot tub as well swim up bar .plenty to pick from for breakfast continental and cooked and coffee very good also rooms big nice balcony rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels at 4.15 on the ground floor very friendly staff and very clean hotel .the.hotel is 10 walk to shops and beach






























































































N
D
C
















































































































D

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 18 in Carvoeiro
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvoeiro Hotel
Carvoeiro Hotel
#13 of 18 in Carvoeiro
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirachoro Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Address: Estrada do Farol S/n, Carvoeiro 8400-505, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $53 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirachoro Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mirachoro Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Praia Hotel
Hotel Mirachoro Praia Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing