We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, very clean, brilliant stay. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 7 day stay at this hotel with my partner and were both very impressed with our stay. Hotel was calm and peaceful and very clean. Staff were always smiling and always on hand to help. Our hotel room was cleaned every day and restocked with clean towels and toilet roll. We were situated on the top floor with a view overlooking carveiro and the sea. The room waa nice however bed was quite hard and not many channels on the tv. Air con was great amd working fine. Breakfast was brilliant. Always busy but staff kept tables clean and food stocked and fresh. A selection of fresh fruits, fried scrambled and boiled eggs. All types of bread, cakes, different teas, coffees and juices and cereals. Hot meats and cold meats and also cheese. Dinner was much quieter with a relaxingatmosphere. Food was hot with a different selection each night. The location of the hotel was perfecr for us. Located on thr top of the hill overlooking all the bars and restaurants with a 10 minute walk to the beach. The outdoor pool was very relaxing with a bar pool serving drinks and snacks and hot food. Indoor pool and jacuuzi was always empty, maybe due to the fact it is quite dark and boring. I must say John one of the waiters who was always there at breakfast and dinner made our stay even more enjoyable. Always smiling and always happy to help and always working very hard. We spoke to john everyday and even left him with a €10 tip. I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in the algarve. Perfect location friendly staff and a calm relaxing atmosphere. Me and my partner loved it here and would definately stay again. Take the time out to talk to john. He is the one always smiling and always asking 'hows your holidays' :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyld115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 630 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a really lovely quiet hotel in very lively town. It's not like a 4star hotel that provides kids clubs and entertainment, I expect because the town is so lively with outdoor nightly family entertainment until the end if September, its not usual that people stay in at night. The good points were wifi is free and is vertically everywhere. The pool is clean with plenty of beds, the bar man Carlos is friendly, the breakfast is more than expected. I think the hotel is best suited to couples, with maybe smaller children up to 4-5, although bring a kettle if you have young children, they are not provided and I saw a few mums struggled to clean baby bottles in the breakfast area. Most people eat out, i didnt see anyone eating in the evening so i cant comment. The cleaning was reliable enough but put your tag out to request cleaning and it's done quicker.

A note on eating out..The restaurant Villa Medicini is excellent for a treat night out and is just opposite the Hotel, the Primavera next door is also good and affordable. The Lantern Vehia is the worst place, awful food. The good Chinese is the Grand Muralha on the left going down the hill. The Cafe Fino next door has excellent snack food but the owner is obnoxious and intolerant of tourists. Onze is in the town centre and it is really excellent, its on the way up the left side of the music area. Bradys pub is also closeby the Hotel and it's a great Irish bar with live music. As I say the town is lively but where the Hotel is located there is a nice little area of its own bars and cafes and by the end of the week we stayed up there.

The downsides were the Hotel manager is a bit abrupt, but the receptionist is more helpful. The towels have seen better days, at least adding some softener would be good. I can live with this, it's not a holiday breaker in any way.

As a couple 50 plus, we really had a terrific time, but all ages were enjoying this place. Please don't let other reviews put you off this hotel unless you want all singing and dancing 5 star. We were delighted with the Mirachoro hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Travelbarbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel's location to the centre of Carvoeiro is ideal, close enough to the beach/square to enjoy all it has to offer and yet far enough to be in a peaceful setting. The beach was a 5 minute stroll down a hill with numerous restaurants and bars on the way, as is the main square with live music on of an evening.
The hotel's pool was lovely, always quiet and with plenty of sunbeds (in June/July anyway) and had a snack bar serving drinks, ice-creams and snacks etc. The reception/lobby and bar were likewise, always relaxing and peaceful, despite it being a fairly large hotel it certainly didn't feel like it.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from, cereals, juices, tea/coffee, a selection of cakes/pastries, breads/toast, yogurts, fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, sausages, cold meats, cheese etc etc..Although breakfast time was busy the staff kept everything well stocked and tables cleared.
The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and cleaned daily with clean towels. Also had a small fridge which came in useful and air conditioning.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Carvoeiro!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just come back from this hotel ,looked at reviews before we went and thought would try it , hotel decor very eclectic but looks like they have had 2pots of paint lime green and orange left and painted everywhere including furniture , staff on reception leave a lot to be desired ,night manager very friendly along with little girl and John who where running from waiting on in resturant to serving behind bar when they had time ,not enough staff and the few that were there under a lot of pressure,Carlos on the pool bar fantastic ,very friendly .manager in resturant miserable !!!!pool area great ,food ok of evening but not a lot of choice ,not a problem with room cleaners as stated in previous reviews ,I would say a 3star but deffo not a 4star ,indoor pool and jacuzzi awful ,very dark and dingy ,good location if you want to go into town ,loads of bars and restaurants within walking distance but a steep hill not good for people in wheelchairs .

Room Tip: If you have a disability don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette Nette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights in August. Reason we booked it was for the interconnecting rooms as we have two teenage children and it didn't disappoint us. The rooms were spacious and clean with fresh towels and bedding every day. Great that kids had their own room but still next to us if they needed us also their mess was away from me! Beds were really comfy and great blackout blinds with good aircon. The pool was lovely and we never had to worry about getting a sunbed - always plenty available. The swim up pool was a lovely addition and Carlos was always friendly despite other reviews. The breakfast was plentiful and always fresh. Couldn't ask for anything more from a hotel. Carveioro itself is a little gem with lots of wonderful bars, restaurants and live music. Something for everyone. Would recommend Cafe Fino next to hotel for great tuna salad, casa du bife for stone steak and happys for chicken piri piri kebabs. Had lovely early doors drink at accordion bar just by the hotel - did a mean sangria!

Overall really relaxing holiday and would definitely go back as kids had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cwestxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June. If I were on a package holiday here for a week I would be disappointed. This is not a resort if that is the vacation you are looking for. It is a quiet hotel with a pretty good location. We were only there for two nights and it suited us fine.

The rooms are small. We had a third bed put in and were quite crammed. The room was clean though. The pillows and the bed were the same as the rest of the hotels we stayed at in Portugal - hard. We weren't in the rooms much anyway. The days were spent exploring the magnificent beaches in the area. Carvoeiro is also close to Portimao so we also explored that area too.

It's about a 10 minute walk to a beautiful beach down the main road. Easier to walk than take the car since there is very limited parking in town. The pool is nice but there weren't enough chairs for everyone. There is also an indoor pool for use. The breakfast was one of the better ones we had in Portugal. The baked goods were very fresh and served warm.

Overall we were happy with the hotel. But I don't think we would have enjoyed it for a week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilotome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

stayed here on the 7th of august to the 15th 1week the hotel could do a lot better for its selfe i have a few points people should know about the hotel does not have satalite tv it has 7 german or portuguse channels 1 world news channel i canot belive this hotel is disabeld friendly as it clealy isnt no entertainment at night you had to search for a member of staff if you requierd a drink the staff are mostly very rude the rooms are for two people then you would mannage any more then its a tight squeeze etc chilldren the childrens pool is full of flies floating on top the indoor pool is dirty and you wouldent want your chilldren useing it the out door pool is great and great sun loungers pool bar staff wont mention any names mr c but you would only get served if your about 22 years old and 36dd then its no problem however its a shame because this could be made into a fantastic hotel even though its a bit like a rabbit warren the beds are hard suprisingly i did mannage to sleep you only have air conditioning in your bedroom the reception lounge and breakfast area they lie and say it is not working and there waiting for a engineer i think he must be comming from calcuuta it does advertise air con so it shoud be on go for breakfast early then you miss the rush which is like a free for all

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkoj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carvoeiro Hotel
Carvoeiro Hotel
#13 of 18 in Carvoeiro
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 18 in Carvoeiro
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirachoro Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Address: Estrada do Farol S/n, Carvoeiro 8400-505, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: $56 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirachoro Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mirachoro Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Praia Hotel
Hotel Mirachoro Praia Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing