We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third Visit”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Poppy House

Poppy House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppy House
House and pool Galleried entrance hall, with specially commissioned stained glass poppy window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Poppy House
House and pool
Galleried entrance hall, with specially commissioned stained glass poppy window
Sitting room with views over pool
Sitting room with log fire and flat screen Samsung TV
Kitchen with view of pool area
Pool area from kitchen
Master bedroom with dressing area
Master bedroom with view of pool
Pool from master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom 1 with full sized bath and walk in rain shower
Bedroom 2 and terrace, with sea views south and distant mountain views north
Views north to the mountains from bedroom 2
Ensuite bathroom 2 with walk in rain shower
Bedroom 3 with stunning sea views over countryside
Views south to the sea from bedroom 2 and bedroom 3
Ensuite bathroom 3 with walk in rain shower
Secluded BBQ area
BBQ area illuminated at night
Shaded seating under 300 year old trees
Lawned area
Gardens and mature trees
Gardens and orange and lemon trees
Our own oranges!
Gardens in the evening
Cheers!
Goodnight!
Part of our local beach at Armacao de Pera
Part of the sea front pedestrian promenade at Armacao de Pera
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Armacao de Pera, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BACNYorks
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2014

We have stayed at Villa Papoila on three occasions over the last few years and would not hesitate to visit again if available but as it is now so popular it is hard to find a spare week. The standard of the villa is exceptional. The location is peaceful but still close to shops and restaurants. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. Electric pool cover means you can conserve the heat anytime of year.Wi Fi. EnglishTV channels available. Log burner. Aircon. Ground floor Master bedroom and en-site. I cannot recommend this villa highly enough if you book I'm sure you would not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of villa and fittings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johphoto
johphoto
1 review
“Stunning villa in the hills”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed in this stunning villa in the spring a few years ago, we wanted a relaxing break, somewhere near to a town for convenience and also to dine out a few times, but also somewhere that would give us peace and quiet and privacy. Poppy House gave us all of this and much more! The villa's decor and furnishings are just beautiful, carefully chosen and to the impeccable standards, luxury but also comfortable and homely.
When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by the owner Daphne, who had left a welcome pack for our arrival, which was gratefully received after our travels.
We spent a lot of time at the villa, relaxing and enjoying the pool and beautiful views; there is also a barbecue by one side of the pool which we used one evening. We ventured along the coastline for some lovely daytrips - this villa is ideally placed to explore the Algarve, its pretty small coastline towns like Ferraguda, Carvoeira, Luz and Lagos. Armaca de Pera itself has beautiful beaches which we walked a few times, and we enjoyed lovely meals in the local restaurants.

This place is ideal either for a couple break if you just want to relax and have time out, or for a family holiday spending a lot of time by the pool, there is also great local activity for children like Aqualand, Lagos Zoo, horse riding along the beach. Also a great place to have a break with a bunch of friends.

we loved this villa and don't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely pool, gorgeous views , sense of comfort with luxury
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Poppy House for the second time in August 2014.
As with the other reviews, Daphne and Keith are excellent hosts and ensure that your stay at their Villa is exactly as you would like - their attention to detail both within the house and the local advice they can offer is second to none.
The house itself is just beautiful and you couldn't ask for anything more. Many secluded areas within their garden with fig trees and other fruit trees to allow you some shade in the hot Portuguese sun.
The location is tucked away from the main hustle of Armacao and the views from the property across the valley are gorgeous.
We only stayed a week and could have happily stayed longer.
We hope to return again with extended family as the house is spacious enough to accommodate all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissa G
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning house in an idyllic location.”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Vila Papoila (Poppy House) is a stunning home from home. The house is really well equipped and beautifully decorated, it really is over and above what you would normally find in a rental. There are also lovely personal touches like a welcome pack and a great information pack about the local area and amenities. It's nestled in beautiful gardens and is incredibly peaceful and yet it's only 5mins from great bars, restaurants and shops and a number of fantastic beaches. I went with friends and we had a great time, there's lots to do in the local area but we were also just as happy at the house, lying by the pool. Would definitely recommend it and can't wait to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony M
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Villa Papoila, 5* Accomodation and 5* Hospitality”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

An outstanding and stunning house in the most beautiful location. Daphne was there to greet us on arrival and was available at any time for advice and guidance on the best places to eat and visit whilst we were on holiday. We were amazed at the quality and finish of the house, with granite kitchen and marble stairs, a fantastic heated pool with superb views, BBQ area with dining table and chairs. The bedrooms were very spacious with stunning views and modern en suite to each room allowing privacy when travelling with friends/group. The cozy woodburner makes this an all year round property. Please hire a car and travel a couple of kilometres to the fantastic beaches at Armacao de pera or Gale and the many wonderful restaurants. Alternatively there are several good value supermarkets close by for self catering. Thank you Daphne & Keith for your excellent hospitality and giving us such a memorable holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to return to England
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth S
1 review
“A beautiful and stunning villa!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2013

This villa is amazing! Beautiful well maintained gardens and a fantastic heated pool. The villa is fully equipped and very spacious; lots of little extras are available. Sandy beaches, restaurants and shops are only a 5 minute drive.
Several evenings were spent enjoying a barbeque, next to the pool whilst admiring the beautiful views. Looking forward to returning later this year and we have already booked the villa for a week in August 2016. I would highly recommend this villa. A truly special place which will provide amazing memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the villa and access to town and local facilities
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We are returning visitors to Poppy House or 'Vila Papoila' and it never fails to please.
We always hire a car at Faro airport and take the A22 road rather than the main motorway which means we do not have to pay the toll.
It takes approximately 45 - 60 minutes to travel to the Villa from the airport and the A22 road takes you a more scenic route.
On arrival at the Villa, the first thing that catches your eye is the stunning stained glass window with beautiful poppies. The house is accessed through it's own secure entrance gate so you immediately feel at ease and very safe. The grounds of the Villa are stunning with plenty of space for parking.
The house itself has been finished to an exceptionally high standard and the entrance hall is very grand with a staircase leading up to the first floor.
The house has everything you could possibly ask for and a very nice touch from Daphne (the owner) is that she supplies a generous stocked fridge with necessities for you to settle in straight away and have a light lunch / dinner depending on what flight time you have taken to Portugal. This is really welcoming and is very gratefully received.
The ground floor is home to the master bedroom with french doors onto poolside and has a very spacious en suite with bath and walk in shower. The master room also has it's own private terrace. The ground floor is also home to the utility room with washing machine, kitchen with everything you could want (dishwasher, coffee machine, family dining table, and lots of kitchen and BBQ utensils) and the lounge. The lounge has a TV, music station and playstation which is great when the kids want to get out of the intense sunshine for a break. There is wifi in the house.
The first floor has two further bedrooms, each with their own en suite and one of them with another private terrace. Another lovely touch in the house is the black out blinds which has an electronic operating system - they keep the house very cool at night time and keep the early morning sunshine out to allow the little ones to sleep in that extra hour! The house has fans and air conditioning and so the house is always a pleasant temperature. Daphne supplies all towels including poolside and bathroom and there are hairdryers as well.
The outside grounds are very special as well - the garden is beautiful and very well kept with gorgeous flowering plants and many fruit trees. There are many different areas whereby you can sit and relax in the shade or have breakfast / lunch in a different location. There is also a separate BBQ area with another dining table.
Poolside itself is well equipped with enough sunloungers for everyone and large parasols to keep you shaded. There is a poolside shower to use to keep the pool as clean as possible. The pool is treated and cleaned every morning (before you wake up!) as the owners ensure discretion at all times. The pool is a good size with a shallow end a deep end. The views across the valley are very pleasant with beautiful sunsets and the whole house is very private.
The nearest beach is around a 5 - 10 minute drive away however in the height of summer it gets very busy. It is well worth exploring a little further afield to get to some quieter areas.
The town of Silves is well worth a visit where there is a castle to explore and lots of lovely ice cream shops!
We are yet to visit the water parks and would advise getting there early. We made the mistake of getting there in the afternoon and the queues were very large and none of us wanted to wait in the heat. There is one water park which allows you to swim with dolphins (at a cost), however we have heard from others that Slide and Splash is probably the best value for money of the two.
The sand sculptures are also well worth a visit - not 100% sure if this is an annual event however there are many hand made sand sculptures which are great to see and very inspiring for the kids.
The coastline in the Algarve is beautiful and a restaurant to try if you are seafood fan is Ante Nautica right on the seafront. It is accessed via a wooden boardwalk and the views across to the sea are gorgeous. The ambience is first class as is the food and the staff very attentive. Well worth a visit for a special occasion.
We are due to go back in 3 weeks and the whole family can't wait! We are looking forward to more relaxing days at the Villa and exploring more in the local area.
Although this review is based on my family of 3 staying here, I have stayed here with some close girlfriends and would like to go with another small family as the Villa is spacious enough to ensure that you can all have private space if needed.
I can't recommend Vila Papoila highly enough - it is clean throughout, very safe and secure and has been finished to a very high standard. A perfect retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing