We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be in a great location. On the sea coast and in reach of the shops and lots of nice restaurants around. The downside was the rooms were a bit small and bland. I did ask for a seaview of which I was given a room below reception with a bit more of a restricted view. Pool is a bit small but other than that everything else was ok . Is need a wow factor to come back here !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank anitacobbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just returned today from a 7 day break at this hotel and cannot thank the hotel staff enough for making our stay very enjoyable.
We stayed bed & breakfast and the arrangement worked for us.
The breakfast was very good with a good choice of both hot and cold food.
The room we had was large and comfortable with very good beds, which gave us peaceful and restful sleep.
Will return to the holiday inn Algarve as soon as we can

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daveeboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. We very much appreciate your comments.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Kindest Regards.

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here from 6 - 13 October. Unfortunately was disappointed with certain aspects. The bedroom was clean but small as was the bathroom. Balcony small and the chairs very uncomfortable could not sit on them for long. Food was quite boring nothing special tended to be the same things every day and very bland.Nothing much to do in the evening in the hotel. Outside seemed crowded when sunbathing and the sun loungers very uncomfortable and the plastic cushions didn't help. One good thing was the sea view and lovely beach. Definitely will not be returning. Also hotel was full of Saga guests who tended to take over the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry that your recent stay with us did not reach your expectations.

We very much appreciate your comments. Feedback such as this enables us to target problem áreas and continue to improve our facilities and service.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location right on the beach. We had booked B&B but did eat in the resaurant 2 nights both breakfast and evening meal good plenty of choice. unfortunatly the coffee from the machine not so good. The bar resaurant reception and terrace all very nice. Our room was a good size with balcony and sea view air con worked well.The bath room needed some attention the grout between tiles needed cleaning or regrouting. But a good hotel we will be back.

Room Tip: get a sea view worth paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigAlLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great hotel, situated right on the beach with plenty of good bars and restaurants situated near by and wall to wall sun what more could you ask for?
I had read some mixed reviews about the Hotel but I emailed them and Claudia in Reservations could not be more helpful, we asked for an upgraded room and not only got one but we also got a sea view room which was wonderful and our room was ready for us at 12.30 on the day we arrived, Claudia also arranged an airport transfer and that was perfect to, so ten out of ten to her and her team
The resort in October is quiet but that is welcome as I heard it can be to busy in the summer and as for the prices its a bargain that you should go and get yourself, the average price for a decent glass of wine in a bar is 2 /3 euros and there are six good beach restaurants to enjoy lunch in which are equally cheap but the quality of them all is top drawer
Trust me, pay for a sea view room if you have any doubts and go and have a wonderful time in this wonderful place

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view / even pay for it as its worth it and get up on the 3rd or 4th floors ( check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnesDMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you very much for reveiwing your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you very much for your kind comments.

We hope it is not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is the 5th time we have stayed here, originally as the Garbe. I can not put my finger on it but it does seem to be not what it was. We were in a newly refurbished room, which whilst very well done was small, also no hot water for 2 nights!. In fairness they sent someone up within 10 minutes and it was rectified.We also had to asked to have the shower gels refilled. I do not think this is a four star hotel.
The breakfast selection was fine BUT I do not think it is right to save tables for groups whilst we stand around looking for a table. They need more coffee machines as the confusion caused by these for older residents is sight to behold! If the hotel does not want individual travelers please say so and we will go elsewhere.
The location is fantastic but unless you are all inclusive buy you drinks etc elsewhere as the hotel charges at Holiday Inn prices!
This hotel now seems to be catering more for groups SAGA etc and this does appear to be at the expense of other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderingwrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review.

We are very sorry to read that this time we did not quite meet your expectations

We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

firstly apologies as this review may go on a little.this was our experience of a twelve night stay this month.how this hotel got a four star rating is beyond me all I can say is stevie wonder must have rated this establishment surely the rooms have to be of a certain standard or at least of a similar quality i.e. try the seabanks hotel in malta for a proper four star holiday.i do realise that many people will have had a far better experience than us but I honestly think they do not want the lowly b+b holidaymakers but would rather have the bigger spending customers.i,ll start with the good points which won,t take too long, if fortunate enough the views from certain rooms are fantastic you also get a free safe,tea and coffee facilities and if you forget your toothbrush they will supply one for you,also shower gel and soap are also f.o.c. that,s it for the good points.we arrived near enough on time to be instantly told that they were fully booked,very nice but not really of any interest to me opened our room door to be greeted by a claustrophobic room with no balcony and a window that opened about two inches at the top only probably to stop you from throwing yourself out for the first time ever while on holiday I complained.what appeared to be the senior receptionist took us to room 112,clearly embarrassed she shuffled out saying she may be able to move us again perhaps in 4 days time.if this room was rated 2 star it wouldn,t be an injustice,single file only through the room due to the lack of space.the so called balcony had a chair the reason being you couldn,t open the door if anything else was included,you could sit down and touch the other wall without fully extending your legs,near your head was a rusty old air con unit that constantly dripped sometimes onto you if the wind was blowing in the wrong direction,to your right was the generator room left open for an enhanced noise experience.the bathroom could only be described as an infection waiting to happen,again you could touch each wall with your arms outstretched,the shower measured about two and a half foot squared the shower mat was filthy full of other peoples bodily fluids etc.the grouting on the bottom two tiles was black and possibly even more bacterial infested were the tiles leading up to the shower,the water would not drain away so would come over your ankles whilst showering,however this was not always an issue as every time you moved a part of your body would knock the shower off due to the lack of room,it can be summed up in one word,disgraceful.the breakfast was average at best,not a lot of choice for a supposedly four star set up on two days the sausages looked paler and more undercooked than when we first arrived,and what can I say about the beans,take the cheapest value beans ever then halve the quality,i,ve had softer peanuts very poor.we were also lied to,i had been advised by a fellow reviewer that you could hire beach towels so we didn,t take any,however the same person who showed us our rooms twice stressed there was no towel hire at this hotel.three days later I,m next to two couples giving each other advice on the cost of and how to exchange the hotels beach towels,in my opinion there is a two tier class system in place here,with one rule for the haves and another for the lower class i.e. the b+b brigade,this is nothing short of discrimination,another couple we talked to the day after we arrived were raving about the free upgrade even though they were staying a week less not bad for a fully booked hotel nothing to do with the fact they happened to be in the priority club,i could go on,not once were we asked how our holiday room etc.unusual for a so called four star,as you can probably guess it,s not on my must revisit list.i will be telling jet two how they treat their customers and if I can get hold of him also the c.e.o. of the holiday inn,and anybody who will listen to me.
any questions feel free to get in touch

Room Tip: find another hotel or pay the extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChesterBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We aim to provide the best possible service and experience, and we are always pleased to received feedback from our guests..

We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to focus on problem areas and ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Vicki Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,424 reviews
14.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
9.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
14.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range: $32 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing