We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous position”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from the Holiday Inn on the Algarve where we had a wonderful week.The hotel is in a fantastic position right on the gorgeous beach and right in the centre of the resort.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms although small were clean and had everything needed ie plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space efficient air conditioning tea and coffee making facilities room safe etc. The bathroom was really tiny but again had everything needed.We went half board and although the food was very good we would go b and b next time as there are loads of really good restaurents on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your holiday here on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back here again in the near future.

With many thanks and very best wishes.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    339
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
150
540
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from a week's B&B. First time I have ever written a review but felt I must - we always check out Tripadvisor before we travel, and this was the first time we have ever had where we felt the comments from others were completely unrepresentative to our experience.

First of all, the location is fantastic. Beach is beautiful, and the town has a lovely relaxed atmosphere to it and a great choice of very good restaurants and bars.

The hotel though - it feels like you are staying in an airport hotel! The decor and furnishings are old, drab and dirty. It is completely charmless. The staff didn't strike us as discourteous, just thoroughly depressed at working there. Not once during the week did any member of staff say 'ola' or make eye contact or smile at us. Our room was ok, but only ok, definitely not 4 star. Everything was bland, no pictures on walls, no colour. We paid £200 extra for sea view - a great view, but the balcony was max 6 feet wide with solid brick walls to the sides. In our room, the fridge was broken, as was the shower and one of the drawers. To be fair, we spoke to reception and everything was fixed quickly, even if the fridge was taken out of its cupboard and just left on the floor!

The lack of care was obvious - sit in the bath where you get a view of the dirt on the rims of the sink and the loo and round the skirting boards. Not a view the cleaners get, but not nice. One day we got left no soap, the next day only one towel. Two mornings we had no hot water, one day the water was brown.

There was a piece of pink bubble gum stuck to the window blind by the lift. We saw it everyday during our week. It stayed there for the whole week, even though it was rare that there wasn't a cleaner hoovering the carpet 3 feet away every day! Not a big deal, and quite funny, but symptomatic of the whole place.

The food at breakfast was just the same - completely bland. You had to queue to get coffee/tea from a machine - hardly 4 star. The fruit was melon plus tinned peaches and pineapple, and the cooked stuff was ok but pretty tasteless - it all felt very cheap with no effort made. Quite often we needed to move leftovers off a table before we could sit down - even though there were staff nearby. The hotel didn't offer beach towels, and you had to pay for wifi in your room (free in reception) - all very penny pinching.

All in all, not a good experience. Nothing particularly horrific, but not a cheap place to stay and definitely not worth the money.

In summary then, we found it extremely disappointing. Completely lacking in any charm, all very tired and worn and cheap. If it had been a 2 star and half the price then ok, but still wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view, but balconies are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jdk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not come up to your expectations. Please accept our apologies,

These are not the standards that we aim for nor those that we normally achieve. We very much appreciate your feedback, it will enable us to ensure that your points are resolved as quickly as possible.

Kind regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here in April this year for a long weekend. This sits right on the beach which is about 2 miles long. Great walk to the next village. Hotel is basic but fine. Our room had lovely sea view. Food basic but great little restaurant beside us on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FizzyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us.

We hope that you will return again soon.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good clean hotel, breakfast food is good, and the food in the associated Indian restaurant very tasty. Didn't eat an evening meal there - menu didn't excite us.
Only one lift and that was broken the first day we stayed - but fixed by the following morning.
Location is excellent - it was there before any other building - and the swimming pool and loungers and beach access were very good.
Our room for a couple + teenage son was very large and comfortable and provided more privacy than expected.
I stay in HInns on a regular basis - and the brand sold it for me - wasn't disappointed, but wasn't ecstatic either.
We would use this hotel again if we went back to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for writing about your stay at our Hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, we hope it will not be too long before you return.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location is superb, right at the beach. Staff is generally courteous; however some are a bit sour. Overall it is a good 3-4 star hotel. One point to note, the rental for a beach towel of Euro10 a day is steep! No, it wasn't a deposit, it is the charge. Hotel should reconsider this, maybe a deposit of Euro 10 and a daily charge of Euro 2 or something like that. Go across the road and buy a big one of good quality for Euro 10.... and it has the destination name on it as well, which is a nice souvenir.

Room Tip: Beach view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravellingCaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
231 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a great venue for a holiday, albeit with a few shortcomings that keep it out of five-star territory. The location is truly five star--a rare Algarve hotel that is smack-dab on the beach, with fantastic views from the dining facilities and the sea view rooms. Service, particularly from Claudia and Manuela, was also fantastic--not gushing or fawning, but really committed and effective. The upgrade to the Executive room was much appreciated as well. On the more disappointing side--the breakfast is fairly limited, and, while renovated fairly well, the room still has some problems--bathrooms with cracked tile and some gray and black spots. As for the demographic of the place, it is popular with older couples, less so for young families, and the facilities for young children are limited. Still, this is a place for a fantastic holiday, and I do wish this place well.

Room Tip: Seaside and executive rooms are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for reveiwing your stay at our Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry about the problems in the room, we appreciate you advising us, it enables to immediately rectify the situation.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve in the future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm sorry we found the hotel, its facilities, the food in general poor for a 4 star rated hotel. If I was reviewing a 3 star the review would have been kinder.

Before we start the location, beech, the locals, the resort and staff are all great and we will return to Armacao de Pera. But not to this hotel.

We thought that 4 stars for the Holiday Inn Algarve flatters it. The rooms offered on check-in were poorly turned out with a valve television. The carpet was that worn it was undulating in a few places. The helpful reception staff thankfully relocated us to rooms that were marginally better but lacked the "swish" of a true 4 star.

The food was distinctly average at best and apart from the bbq (that seems to be a Saturday night thing) it didn't taste of much. Despite being 1/2 board we ate out on 2 nights to remind ourselves what good food tastes like. Harsh I know but we didn't fork out big money for the annual holiday to eat food we could have cooked better ourselves.

The pool area is not great, not well designed, too small and not that clean. On one day 2 Loungers we were using both broke splitting numerous plastic rungs. I swapped them out inspecting a few alternatives before I did. I found nearly all with a fracture on the same rib. This clearly suggests that the loungers need renewing and that no inspections took place before the season started. I weigh 13st BTW.

The pool bar didn't open some days till about 11 and at nights it was closed by 17:30.

Faro airport is another problem area and will be writing a feedback on TA if its allowed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Franco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to read your comments,and to know that that your stay did not come up to your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated, it enables us to fully investigate each issue, and attend to each point.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and resort.

With kind regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
9.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,258 reviews
11.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#17 of 76 in Portimao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing