We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cracker of a Christmas 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Cracker of a Christmas 2012”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great time, from the big welcome on Christmas Eve until departure on the 27th. The buffet meals, particularly on Christmas Eve, the wine and the entertainment were excellent. We had booked whilst staying on the Algarve earlier in December and Claudia could not have been more helpful. We had previously stayed for one night in May on the 4th floor and decided we wanted to be on that floor again and were given a fantastic room, large, bright and sunny, with views to die for. I was reminiscent of being on a large cruiseliner as we had such a wonderful view of the sparkling sea under bright blue skies and welcome sunshine. The beds, pillows, large flatscreen TV and bathroom were all great, and the maid-service and cleaning could not be faulted. Weather was perfect throughout our stay, with temperatures around 18 or 19 in the daytime, and the sun shone non-stop. On Xmas Day there is a Charity Swim in the sea and we were amazed how many people participated, including my husband (although he did not have a Santa Claus outfit like a lot of them), followed by a swim in the heated swimming pool which felt like entering an oven after the chilly Atlantic waves. The hotel repeats this at New Year but unfortunately we had to return to the UK. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and I'm sorry but cannot remember their names, other than Claudia on Reception who worked throughout the whole period we were there with a smiling face and nothing was too much trouble - she booked a hair appointment for me on Boxing Day and that was was excellent too..Thoroughly recommend this hotel, which is right on the beach, with such a sheltered swimming pool and sunny lounge and bar areas, all with fantastic views. Recommend sea view rooms to catch the morning sun and the evening sunset. We slept each night with the doors open onto the balcony and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach below ensured a perfect sleep. The sea front at Armacao de Pera offers a great walk with many pavement bars and cafes open throughout Christmas - our particular favourite was Fortaleza where we sat sipping a glass of chilled wine and watched the world go by whilst picking up a tan in the fantastic hot sunshine. We had a hire car and the journey to the airport took 45 minutes. Algarve Shopping at Guia is only a short drive away on the 125 and was open on Boxing Day. So much to do in the area for both young and old in the middle of winter. We will most definitely be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Sea View Room definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunandbeachDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for reveiwing your Christmas stay at our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, and very much appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve very soon.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    342
    149
    48
    22
See reviews for
151
551
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spacious, clean rooms; a lovely cafe/bar area to watch the sunset; friendly, helpful staff. This was a great choice for a lazy, start-of-the-winter break (and believe me, there are no good reasons to go to the Algarve other than to escape the winter). Rates were very good also (perhaps a reflection of competition during low season). The negative point was the ridiculous prices for everything extra you may want, like access to internet or a beer in the bar. But since the hotel is centrally-located, you can easily stroll to a local business for breakfast, coffee and a seep of bagaceira.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for writing about our Hotel here on TripAdvisor - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, our location and spectactular views, as well as the great winter weather here.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here in the near future.

Our very best wishes for the New Year.

Vicki Good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel was Hotel Garbe and it was a first class hotel. The buffet breakfast was still as good as ever and the public spaces were still excellent, however I found the level of cleanliness in the room not what it was(maybe we just had a poor chamber maid.
The pool area had plenty of room as most of the residents at the time were on a Saga tour and not in the hotel during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingwrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Algarve. We are very sorry about the cleaning of your room - your feedback is very much appreciated - it helps us to ensure that these issues are quickly resolved..

We are delighted that you enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast.

We hope that you will return in the future.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently stayed here,august 2012 ,but when i first got of the coach i thought i was in the middle of a housing estate,i was shocked to see so many out dated high rise appartments which just totaly ruined the view and expectations, i thought to myself,wheres the lovely algarve gone to. upon entry to the hotel i thought i was in a timewarp and looking into the bar area i was expecting to see sean connery as james bond standing next to the grand piano smoking and waiting for the villan to appear,it was that dated.after booking in,i found my room at the side of the hotel,no balcony,no good sea view just a car park to look at.i certainly was not impressed as i paid very good money to stay here i did ask for what i thought i paid for,a room with a sea view,but they wanted a lot more money,there was no way i was paying even more.the green carpet the real old fashioned feel to the place,it just wasnt what i expected.
i found it very expensive so i decided not to frequent the hotel to much.the swimming pool was very poor,i honestlly thought it was the childrens pool it was so small,and it certainly was not clean.the view was ok and the beach just infront was so busy you couldnt move there but in the late evening it was breathtaking,the view was great and i walked the beach several times on the way to and from the old part of town,which reminds me,the harbour consisted of some rowing boats pushed up the beach.I could not fault the politness of the staff and full credit to the cleaners they did a very good,i could not fault the cleanliness of the place.the adjoining indian resturant was supurb,it was expensive but a very fine meal it was and worth paying the extra bit for, the hotel resturant, the breakfasts where huge ,eat as much as you want and the choice was supurb,weather you like a cooked breackfast or the healthy option there was so much choice. another good thing was charlies bar over the road,a real nice english guy, lovely pub,good food,good drink well done charlie.the weather was great the locals and in general,the portuguese where supurb,the food was great,healthy fresh,i would have my reservations about staying here again,i was so put off by the,everything built on top of each other feel and the ghetto feel to the back streets,it was just really off putting once you walked of the main prominade.if i came back,i would stay more the west side as it was low rise and you could see the views.

Room Tip: make sure you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kev247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay at our Hotel.

We very are sorry that not everything came up to your expectations. It is feedback like this that helps us to continue to improve our standards and service.

Kindest regards.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recommend sea view. room was very nice ,breakfast excellent, did not have full board wanted to eat out, the raj Indian restaurant attached was excellent highly recommend very
nice staff go to it if you can.Door to the rooms very noisy.staff very friendly.relaxing holiday.excellent views. Good place to chill.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Malc T,

Many thanks for your great comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you here again in the future.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel about 6 years ago which was great and had several treatments at the beauty salon which I loved and Chloe is such a nice person. There are many treatments available at a reasonable price and Chloes's personality is ace. I have returned to the Algarve on many occasions and I always make a point of having a lovely treatment, and hope to return in the future as this is now on my agenda when I return to the area.

E.R. SCOTLAND

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Eleanor,

Many thanks for reveiwing our Beauty Salon here on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind comments. We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English abroad
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

1st time at this hotel and it was pretty good. Nice clean room with beach bar a few steps below us (only open till about 5pm so no night noise).
Staff were friendly and helpful. Ate in the hotel one night as it was raining and the food was excellent, with a great variety (something for everyone). Breakfast was equally good.

The only negative point was the lifts were a bit ropey and we worried a couple of times about being stuck although it never happened.
The time of year meant there were very few families there, they were mostly couples like ourselves, other guests said there were a lot more families in the summer so we will probably avoid this time of year.

We will go back again as we had a really nice relaxing time which is just what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrummyEnglishabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for reveiwing your holiday. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We apologise for the difficulties with the lifts - this situation has now been resolved.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you back here.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,086 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
982 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,299 reviews
11.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#18 of 76 in Portimao
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing