We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Trip to The Algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Last Minute Trip to The Algarve”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The last time I was in the Algarve was some 40 years ago when it was relatively undeveloped. My wife & I decided to take a last minute break in May. The package we booked included a week's stay at the Holiday Inn in Armacao de Pera. The Hotel was very comfortable and although we didn't pay for a sea view we had a large studio room with views to the south and west overlooking the beach. The latter is accessible via a short flight of steps from the hotel. The beach is sandy, very clean and the water is turquoise. Although early in the season we both swam in the sea which was clean and refreshing. There are some beach cafes where you can have a cheap lunch of grilled sardines and salad. Meals at the hotel are buffet style and there is a good variety of food. There is an attractive palm fringe promenade in the town but there are some fairly grim apartment blocks overlooking the seafront.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Newroaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at our Hotel here on TripAdvisor.. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your comments.

We hope it will not be another 40 years before you return to the Algarve.....

With Kindest Regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    339
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
150
540
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kl
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After a few days at the really excellent , Crown Plaza Vilamoura, decided to go to the sister hotel, Holiday inn, and at similar price, thought similar standard, how wrong i was..The hotel seems to be the only hotel in the town, hence its no 1 rating , the first room we were shown , had a double bed that must have shrunk over the last 30 years , after complaining the bed was too small to sleep me and my wife , the second room tho still very small, had twin beds possibly 20 years old or more, and so uncomfortable , the rooms are tiny and the balcony even more so.... its been recently rebadged as a Holiday Inn, with a lick of paint , and that seems all...all in all a very poor hotel at 100 + euros per night, if it was 1 block back from the beach , would be 15 euros per night or less.....

Armacao de Pera is predominantly a Portuguese holiday resort for Portoguese, the new end of town resembles an old soviet city, ugly apartment building mostly empty..

On the plus side, some excellent restaurants, especially a pizza place, 1 block back from entrance to hotel, was world class, and some good restaurants in the old part of the town..down the slight hill.

the hotel is selling on its beach front location, and the beach is stunning, thats is for sure, but at that price we expect more , on a scale of 1 to 10, value wise is a 0...

As quickly as we could we returned to the Cown Plaza Vilamoura, and maybe seeing our pain , was upgraded to a suite on arrival, well maybe our Priority club card helped.

Room Tip: Go to another part of the Algarve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alewisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review, we are very sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that we can investigate further

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details.

Kind regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This years golf tour, saw 31 off us raid the hotel and nothing was to much trouble for them. The check in was smooth and quick and everyone was happy with their allocated rooms. The hotel was very busy with Saga people, but we were all very well looked after despite this. For the first time many of us had evening dinner in the main restaurant off the al la carte menu, the fillet steak's were amazing, the best we have ever had and at a very reasonable price. The evening buffet dinner is also very good and has dropped in price to 16.50 euro's. Breakfast is also very good. All in all we had a great time and we will be going back same time next year for the 9th year running. A very special grate big Thank You to Helen and Jane on the Golf Desk who arranged all the golf and transfers for us. This also ran smoothly and the golf was exceptional. Well done to all our friends on reception, in the bar and in the restaurant. You are all a credit to your proffession. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: Sea veiw rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday inn for a week. The hotels is in the best possible position right on the beach,we found the hotel clean and the staff pleasant and helpful. The views from our room and the bar were stunning. Buffet breakfast was good and had plenty of different choices. We had a satellite tv with BBC1 and Sky Sports in our room and there is free WiFi in the Reception and Bar area. Outside it has a smallish pool with sun bathing terraces and direct access to the beach.
Our room was spacious with two double beds and a small balcony looking at the sea.
We did not eat in the evening so I can't comment on the food. We did try the Indian Restaurant which is in the Hotel,and found the service excellent, however I did think the meal was average at best and not cheap.
The surrounding area is disappointing with blocks of high rise flats and a few shops, but this is not the hotels fault, fortunately we had a hire car and were able to explore.
All things considered a good value beach holiday.

Room Tip: We had a terrace view which was quiet an had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

the hotel was situated in a fantastic place, on the beach. the bar was overlooking the beach as was the restaurant, they were both very good. Our rooms were very clean if small with small windows, the air conditioning gave lots of problems. Unfortunately our rooms did not have balconys and were overlooking the backyard. Seaview rooms came at an extra rate which we were not prepared to pay that amount, it was quite a large sum.
The bar staff were very good, as were the reception. The cleaners were adequate, never saw them. The restaurant staff were too few and did not hurry to serve ladies on their own.A couple yes they were quick to serve, also no problem with serving men. We had instances when we were deliberately ignored. There was trouble getting a bottle of water to drink at lunch and evening time, they would fill one glass and had very frustrating experiences getting anymore. It was all inclusive and we were entitled to a bottle, but no! In the end we complained about this and lo and behold a bottle of water appeared the following day with the full attention of the
waiters.The food was always cold and terribly boring, the same thing every day. Even after most people complained it never got any better. Entertainment was sparce, twice a week, same every week. The pool was small not good if you are a swimmer. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: you have to pay a lot extra to get a decent room with a balcony or seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear moira1,

We are very thankful to receive such detailed review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic location of our hotel. I am sorry for all the issues you had that fell below your expectations. We strive very hard to provide great service and customer satisfaction. Your feedback is our best resource for improving guest services and accommodations. We hope you would give us a chance to serve you again on your future stays and make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to call the Manager on Duty. Thank you so much for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn Algarve, which we had booked for a quick getaway to celebrate a special occassion. The hotel is in an amazing location on the beach and offers sea view rooms, which are a must. We had a top floor sea view executive room, which offered stunning views! The hotel was immaculate throughout and the reception staff were very polite and attentive. Our room was large and spotlessly clean and we had a towel change every day, which was nice. There was also two flat screen tvs and a fridge in the room. We ate at 'The Raj', which is one of the hotels restaurants and the food was delicious and the service was exemplary.

We were in contact with Jane at the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange our restuarant reservation and she was exceptionally pleasant and helpful and was more than happy to accommodate our request and offered us assistance in arrange car hire / transfers.

For two regular travellers who are normally very hard to please we were completely won over by the outstanding Holiday Inn Algarve and can't wait to return in the future!

Room Tip: Personally we feel you should request a high floor sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KyleWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Executive Seaview rooms, and thank you very much for your kind comments.

We hope it is not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill on sea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

the only reason this hotel is no1 in armacao is that it would appear to be the only one there. others are aparthotels. it does not to my mind warrant 4 stars but 3 at a push. rooms are not very large and the balcony is aprox 3ft square with metal chairs(nice when it's very hot) and a damaged table. staff seemed bored and did not interact with guests very much, hardly a smile even. no swimming towels avaiable when reqested as they seemingly dont have enough to go round. mind you the heated outdoor pool was a joke temp was at least just above freezing when i dipped my toe in.no indoor pool to compensate either. too few sun loungers and most of those reserved by 7.30 am. breakfast samey with absolutely no change to the menu everyday. even the fruit was tinned variety except oranges and watermelon. little choice all round particularly cheese and cold meats. only good points were the great eating places nearby particularly Porters and Hera. great quality food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: ask for high floor seaview. i did but got put on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review, we are very sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that we can investigate further

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details.

Kind regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
9.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,261 reviews
11.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#18 of 76 in Portimao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing