We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at the HI Algarve on business, an unusual place for a business meeting but an excellent choice.
The hotel is well appointed, with easy beach access for the free time that we had and a team building activity.
The staff in the hotel were excellent at meeting all of our needs, excellent service, food and large clean rooms with working space and sea views, just perfect.
I would highly recommend this as an alternative for the usual type of meeting venue

Room Tip: Seaview is a must - you get a small balcony and fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueh3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    327
    139
    43
    21
See reviews for
146
516
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Having just returned from a conference in the Hotel, I just wanted to stay the Hotel was perfect. Very good food. Great beach location for team building exercises. Very motivational.
Thank you to all the great staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryancl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was our 4th visit to this hotel and the 1st since it became a Holiday Inn.
The location is the best in Armacao with quick and easy access to the beach and restaurants in town.

I phoned in advance and requested a superior room if one was available. We were allocated room 215 which was very spacious but has not yet been renovated. However the room was fine if a little dated. Our only gripe was the bed was not the most comfortable. The beds in the renovated rooms are much larger.

We did note that since Holiday Inn took over they need to pay attention to fabric maintenance. The railings around the open air breakfast area ned painting and there were some wall tiles missing in the bar area. We also felt that the standard of cleaning had slipped a little compared to our previous visits.
Never the less we would return to this hotel and all the staff were execellent.

Room Tip: Go for 215, 315 or 415 to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian_goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed with my husband at this hotel for a week. We were so happy with the room and the surroundings;we stayed in a twin room, very clean and newly refurbished, also very spacious...the rooms have fridge, wide screen tv, tea and coffee, the bathrooms are also clean and well equipped.
The best thing about the hotel was the location, just next to the beach...The staff was so pleasant and helpful. A big thank you to all the people working there for making our stay very comfortable. Cheap prices and good food as well. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked a late deal with Cosmos to stay at the Holiday Inn Algarve for 1 week in September. Our transfer time from Faro airport was around 40 minutes.
After reading previous TripAdvisor reviews I had emailed the hotel to request a 'refurbished' room on the 3rd or 4th floor - and we were allocated a large room on the 4th. The room was modern, clean, and comfortable (& with good aircon). (A previous reviewer claimed that you could not have a bad view from any room in the hotel - but our view was a waste ground car park - but the room made up for it).
We stayed B&B. Breakfast was good - reasonable food and good strong coffee - which you could take out onto the terrace if you wished which has brilliant sea / beach views.
The pool area is small but nice and again directly overlooks the sea and beach.
The resort is lovely, with a modern pedestrianised promenade along the sea front and plenty of good bars and restaurants to choose from. After recent trips to Europe, we found the prices to be very cheap - as low as €1.70 for a pint of lager plus good value and quality food. (Take advantage of the happy hour in the hotel bar too from 7-8pm - €1.80 for a large beer; €1.80 for a glass of wine).
Overall a very enjoyable holiday in a lovely resort.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you - go for a sea view - although balconies looked relatively small. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitcase_Packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I decided to go to Portugal at the last minute and selected the Holiday Inn based on the good price and TripAdvisor reviews.

The hotel did not disappoint. The room was large, nice and clean but a bit dated. The service wonderful, nice breakfasts and great massages for 20 euro!

The wifi was free which was good but only available in the bar which was not so good for the bill!

The best thing about the hotel was the location - on the best part of the beach.

Overall a wonderful stay in a great hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeTree36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley, Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We've just returned from 9 nights at this exceptional hotel. From the fantastic pre-sales service (nothing was too much trouble in terms of organising our room, advising on travel and ensuring we got the most from our holiday) everything about the hotel and it's staff are first rate. We booked via the IC Hotels booking site and used some of our Priority Club reward points, so we paid an additional 24 euro per night for a sea view - absolutely well worth the cost as the views are simply stunning. We had a fabulous suite on the top floor, the refurbished rooms are luxurious and have a fabulous huge bathroom. The balconies are somewhat small but with such stunning views you really don't notice, and they make the perfect spot for an early morning coffee or late evening G&T! The rooms are equipped with everything you need, tea and coffee, fridge, wide screen TV and lots of space - fabulous. A very comfy bed and excellent service in rooms. The public areas are cool and spacious with a modern feel, the Boavista bar has the most amazing views and does a fabulous happy hour where cocktails and drinks are almost half price - an absolute must - don't miss this chilled out hour! We had breakfast on the terrace from time to time - again stunning! The pool area was a little crowded but there are several levels and we found we preferred the upper levels where the views were again absolutely amazing. The pool itself is fab! Armacao was a real surprise. Although we've travelled extensively in Portugal it was new to us. It does have some high rise buildings but you don't see any of this from the Holiday Inn - just the glorious beach and coastline. However, the resort is truly Portugese, the food and service was some of the best we've experienced, at immensely cheap prices. The old town is lovely, we really enjoyed sitting at Pedro's Bar (on the Fisherman's beach) for a mid morning coffee and tostas (for the grand sum of 3 euro!). Top Tips - sea view room a must, get a suite if you can, happy hour is brilliant value for money, best restaurants for us were Cozhina Do Mar (old Town) 10 euro for 4 courses!, O Fernando (just across from Holiday Inn - lovely fish dishes), Happy Talk Chinese Restaurant (turn left from Hotel and head away from the Town - it's the last restaurant). A superb holiday - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms looked fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
17.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
9.0 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
16.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing