We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Levante Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pestana Levante Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Levante Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado 37 | Alporchinhos, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Pestana Levante Hotel is located beautifully on a cliff over the seashore. But it is possible to walk down to a sandy beach in a few minutes via steep stairs. Breakfast is very good. We did not try food in the evening, but the buffet looked good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank pinta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Chose this hotel due to its location and was not dissapointed.This was our first holiday without our kids so we really got to relax this time.No busy cities to deal with.Just there to relax.Loved the stairs to the beach as this was the only form of exercise we got to do.
The staff were very helpful especially Augusto!!!!!!!He was out standing.Always had a smile on his face.If we had any questions we would gladly ask him.Being in the hotel business ourselves we know how important customer service is.He is surley a manager in the making.
The buffet breakfast and dinner were great with many choices.Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

September 2011 - Had another great holiday here .. .only two complaints, price of the drinks and the food in the pool bar was also expensive ..We are hoping to book again this year 2012 and again for September, but have been told that this Hotel has changed hands and will not open this year? Can anyone help in finding out if this is true, and if so who are the new owners and are we able to book through them this year? On some of the holiday sites they are still taking bookings, but we have then been told that upon arrival they will inform you that they have a problem with the Levante and take you to the Viking - this what we DO NOT want!

Room Tip: We always request pool/sea view and ground floor rooms you get a terrace with table/chairs and sun l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LEEDS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel is ideal for the beach but there are a good few steps down to it from the pool area.
The rooms a quite good but basic and very clean. The pool area is tired but clean with lawned areas and no problem with sun beds etc but sadly the pool bar is hugely expensive so stock up at the spermarket and get a cab back. It is about a 5 to 10 min walk to the start of town with several shops restaurants and one (could not care less about you pub 'the water dog') The promenade has been refurbished and is a lovely walk to the old part of town. There are 2 or 3 supermarkets, a lovely church and a prom area that has local cultural evenings. Avoid the 2 chinese's close to the hotel and go for the Average one(if your desperate) in the old part of town, porters is worth a try too for a steak. This whole place is ideal for couples or young familys who want a beach and a chill(the beach in our opinion is the best in Portugal) nightlife is minimal.

Room Tip: Dont book a suite its not worth it, pay for a sea view and if your a sun worshiper ask for a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My husband and I had 10 days here in September and had a fabulous time. This is our third stay here and we hadnt been for 8 years so were a bit apprehensive about any drastic changes having been made- we neednt have worried,any changes were subtle and sensitive to the hotel. Several staff members were still working at the hotel which is always a good sign I feel!
We only stayed on a B+B basis and the breakfast was the usual variety of choices to appeal to the Brit palate as well as a more continental choice.Numerous bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance and a particular mention has to go to Porters who do the most amazing steaks.
My only complaint was that we had booked a superior sea view room and found our view completely obscured by a huge palm tree within the rather sad looking garden patio area-we booked directly with the Pestana website and they have poor description and no photos of the room choices-these would be helpful when making room choices.
We will return to the Levante mainly because it is in such a great location and I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in September/October 2011 and had a very good stay. As my sister and I were dropped off by the shuttle bus upon arrival, we felt pleasantly smug! This was due to the exclamation and comments from other passangers on the shuttle bus (who were not staying at the Levante) 'OMG!' exclaimed one; 'what a fantastic view!' exclaimed another. And they were right. The location is spot on. It is on the top of a cliff with direct access to the beach (with 2 small cafes) below.

We were staying at the end of the season and the hotel was planning to close for winter. I mention this as the main pool and adjacent small pool were both open. However, there were two other pools and a water-wall feature (toward the back of the hotel with many rooms over looking it) which were dry and in need of some attention.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable and we had a balcony with sea view (which also overlooked the dry pools!!). The room was clean, it had a fridge and there was plenty of space. The decor was basic/dated. We had breakfast as a part of our booking which was very nice. There was a good selection of hot and cold food and the restaurant area was bright and welcoming.

I had read other reviewers articles who queried its 4* status. I would say that it is on the 'cusp' of 4* - all the amenities requried to be a 4* hotel are present but at times (due to basic decor; pool maintenance) you didn't feel as if you were staying at a 4* hotel. However, lounging at the main pool, in the hot sun, looking down at the beautiful beach with a drink in my hand - I absolutely felt that I was in a 4* location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinkerbell21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I agree with batty51 The best location in Armacao. Built in the seventies it had prime choice of location. All rooms are on the ground or first floor (ie low rise) with good sized balconys and it matters nor whether you have a sea view or not as the large mature gardens are a delight. The staff all speak English and are most helpful. The Hotel is spotless and I think what puts it above others is that it is small, cosey and slightly old fashioned. It is classic "Agatha Christie" Steps from the garden to the beach (easy no problem) lead to one end of a series of continuous beaches stretching as far as Salgados 2 miles? We booked through Fleetway Travel.com and got a really good deal. For the price paid it was excellent value. Go B&B and walk the beach to two close beach bars (excellent food) or stroll down town )10 minutes to many restaurants. We hired a car as it was our first trip to Algarve but it is not essential. An ideal Hotel for the over 40s. I am returning next year! My only gripe was the cost of the drinks/food in the Hotel and Pool bar. However this did not detract from our stay as Pestana supply a small fridge in every room (nice touch) and we bought gin and tonic in local supermarket etc and on our return in the evenings sat on our balcony (we had first floor more private than ground floor) watched the setting sun and chilled...

Room Tip: First floor (as opposed to Ground floor) facing west/ We had 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve
Holiday Inn Algarve
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.8 mi away
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel
#5 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#12 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Levante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Levante Hotel

Property: Pestana Levante Hotel
Address: Apartado 37 | Alporchinhos, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Levante Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Levante
Pestana Levante Hotel Armacao De Pera, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing