We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian meal”

The Raj Indian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Raj Indian Restaurant located in the Holiday Inn, Armação de Pêra has a fabulous location overlooking the ocean and has established an excellent reputation for great food and service. Enjoy an evening of authentic Indian cuisine whilst watching the sun set on the horizon and choose your favourite dishes, cooked just the way you prefer. During the summer months dinner may be served on the terrace or in the cool of the restaurant.
East Wemyss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Part of the Holiday Inn and have to say the food was excellent ate there four times during our stay and had something different each night.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johnnybhoy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    76
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn around the last 2 weeks in August. Having read the reviews about this restaurant we decided to visit and we were not disappointed. Brilliant service .Very helpful staff. Best Indian meal I have ever eaten. We went there thrice!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayinkusus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at The Raj Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Bom Dia,

Thank you very much for reviewing our Raj Indian Restaurant here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and thank you for your kind comment.

We hope to see you here again soon.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Algarve (previously Hotel Garbe) for 7 days from 13/07/2012. In addition to the hotel’s restaurant there is an in house Indian restaurant, The Raj at the Garbe. We have had many Indian meals and must say that this was probably one of the best ever. The staff were friendly and attentive. The portions were very large and the taste and flavours absolutely delicious. It was so good in fact that we had to go back again a few days later to make sure we had not imagined how good it was. We need not have worried. It was just as good if not better. If you enjoy an Indian meal at home but not sure about trying one overseas have no fear. Visit The Raj. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The raj indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

have been to restaurant many times over past 10 years and never dissapointed. i am indian so know what a good curry should taste like and i love the Raj.

service has always been excellent, veiws excellant.

One of my favourite restaurants in the algarve.

The surrounding town is not very nice so do not be put off as you drive in, very built up.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Algarve for a week and we ate at Raj 3 times during our stay! So good! My wife has Celiac's Disease and we were delighted to find out that they use mostly almond flour and other flours in their dishes, so my wife was able to eat many of the dishes. Nice to find a good gluten free option! They were all delicious and the wait staff were very friendly. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alpinestaRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Indian Restaurant also viewed

Armacao de Pera, Faro District
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
 
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
Porches, Faro District
 

Been to The Raj Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing