We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Restaurante Bailote
Ranked #57 of 810 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The fillet steak in shrimp sauce was certainly the best steak I've had in a while. Cooked just as I asked. Service was excellent too. We returned the next day for lunch which again was good and were going again for our final meal before returning home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    148
    49
    24
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable restaurant for a holiday meal”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Saw a recommendation for Bailote while staying 8n the area so walked into Albufeira and tried lunch there.

Enjoyed the Portuguese version of fish and chips - that is with no batter on the fish unlike the British favourite that I'm more familiar with - and followed up with some very indulgent crepes.

Friendly service, under cover outdoor seating, which suited us, and looked like plenty more space inside.

I'd be happy to go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Ate here recently.did not know anything about the restaurant so went in on initial impressions of the "look of the place" and seemingly friendly staff -not too pushy !
Had an excellent steak "portuguese style" Really good dining experience with little extras like chef`s complimentary starter and a port to finish off the evening. Special thanks to Nelson and Tony who looked after us superbly throughout the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fitz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful chateaubriand”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant on Friday 14th March. The lady outside was so lovely and we felt sorry for her having to stand outside in the cold, she was freezing. We ordered garlic bread to start with and it was ok nothing great, I've had much nicer. For mains we had the chateaubriand between us. So our plates were brought out with veg and potato gratin on them and then the chateaubriand was brought out separately on a board. The waiter proceeded to cut it in half and then sliced each half which was very impressive. By the time we started to eat our meal it was stone cold as our plates had been brought out cold to start with ( my pet hate ). I ate a bit but then had to ask for it to be heated up which was a bit disappointing. I have to say the steak was beautiful but the cold plate spoiled it and I mean freezing cold otherwise I would have given it five stars. Mentioned it to the lady outside as we were leaving and she said they were trying to find a way of heating the plates, don't really know what she meant by that!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So good, we visited several times!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We visited Bailote on our second day in Albufeira & fell in love with the place. The restaurant is just off tunnel road in the heart of the Old Town, there's plenty of seating both indoors & outdoors. The menu had something for everyone, child-friendly & even the fussiest of eaters would be able to find something! The decor is beautiful, definitely worth a visit for that special occasion. There is also free wifi available, just ask the waiter for the password.

For lunch we ordered smoked salmon & cream cheese baguette, hamburger, orange juice & a beer, the bill totalled €13 which was very reasonable. Later that evening we returned again to a warm welcome from the waiters & free canapes! For mains we had butterfly chicken in mushroom sauce & cod bacalao (baked & served on a bed of peppers & onions) with a side of new potatoes. It was delicious, possibly one of the best meals I have ever had, cooked to perfection the cod just melted in your mouth & the flavours were great on the palette.

Highly recommend Restaurant Bailote if you are visiting Albufeira.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bailote also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Bailote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing