We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Windmill Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho
Ranked #74 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved Windmill Hill”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

my partner and i along with my brother have just returned from a stay at windmill hill (apartment N05). - what a very enjoyable experience it was. the apartment was just as we would want it - everything was there for a very enjoyable stay - it was a home from home.
the walk up and down the hill was a little strenuous for the first couple of days but there are varying routes which can be taken some flatter than others!
we enjoyed very good weather for the time of the year and had extended lunches in the sun sitting outside jojos sports bar (one street back from the beach) where dave and staff do their utmost to ensure a good time is had by all.
arte bar on rue da cliff richard is also recommended for an early evening drink - stunning views when the sun is going down.
all in all a very pleasant holiday and we cant wait to return both to the area and to that particular apartment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Hugh 2 bedroom apartment with everything you need except a kettle,the complex is extremely clean and apartments are cleaned everyday.the pool is clean with plenty of beds and brollies and the pool bar is clean and food good. it is a ten min walk to old town and 1 hell of a walk back up the hill,but you can get a taxi for approx 4 euros from old town.
we shopped at the reasonably priced modelo supermarket and got taxi back for 6 euros well worth it..
you can walk to the marina in around 15 mins which is lovely(75 euros for half hour on jet ski)
Now for the but. if you are unlucky enough to get an apartment in M block (Groundfloor) then be prepared to sit on your un sunny patio looking out on to hugh bushes and trees within 4ft of you.
It seems that out of the 91 apartments only 21 are available for hire and unfortunatley this seem to be in and around Mblock.
Overall the place is nice but a bit out of the way.
would i go back? NOT SURE.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Just returned from a weeks visit to Alto do Moinho. The apartments are very clean and well equipped, we had a downstaris and upstairs terrace and maid service everyday except for sunday. Note: No kettle or iron though, but no big deal used a saucepan and took our own iron anyway.

Pool was very spacious with plent of beds and umbrellas, not sure how it would be in the height of the season, but it was a really nice place to spend the whole day. It has a snack bar which is open from 11am until 5pm, which was spotless and the food was good.

The only downside was the hill. It is not called Windmill "HILL" for nothing. In fareness it is approx 5 minute walk DOWN to the old town centre, but the walk BACK it a bit of a pain.Not ideal for small children or people with mobility problems.

Having said that I would stay here again and you can always get a taxi back up it cost approx 4 euros.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We rented a one bedroom apartment. We were surprised to find it had two balconies and an outside terrace with barbeque. Excellent! The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we had everything we needed. Be aware that as there is no air con, we did see a couple of huge cockroaches in the kitchen! There are signs around the pool stating that reserving sun loungers is not allowed, but every morning, each sun lounger was 'claimed' by other guests leaving their towels on them. The bar/restaurant was next door to our apartment . It closed at around 6pm each night - too early for us but we went into the town each night to eat so it was not a major problem. Depending on which route you take, there can be a bit of a steep climb back at the end of the night although I carried my son in a baby sling and it really was not too bad. We had a great stay but won't be back due to the roaches!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baretrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My wife and I wanted a short break to enjoy some sun and have some us time.
We travelled on a Thursday with Easyjet from Stansted, the 3 hour flight was great as always with Easyjet(Having travelled with Ryan air recently I know which one I'd go with).
The transfer by taxi was 40mins and when we arrived at the apartment we wasn't dissapointed, the complex looks great and the apartments are spacious and clean with a great pool to cool off when required.(although you do have to get up early to get your poolside sunbed).
The old town is a 15minute walk down the steepish hill but don't worry Merlins bar is at the bottom for a cool long drink (cocktails are a little strange though).
In the old town you have a huge choice of restaurants and bars to choose from, the square does get busy but is worth a wonder around.
We returned on the Monday but a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelnNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in the Windmill Hill apartments at the end of June, booking through owners direct. The apartment itself was fantastic with two large bedrooms and bathrooms, dishwasher, washing machine and outside terrace overlooking the pool. We were travelling with two young boys 3 and nearly 2 and the complex was brilliant for them. The apartment was right next to the pool . As we had young children we did find that there were a number of steps from the pool. It didn't cause us too much of a problem with the pushchairs but it was worth a note. The terrace was well worth having, especially with young children, I could still sunbathe whilst my little boy was sleeping and it was adequately safe enough. The Windmill Hill complex is situated on the hill side of Albuferia, near the Old Town area. As we were a family with young children the push back up the hill with the pushchairs was a bit of a chore but we did manage it, after stopping at a few bars on the way back up. We were advised to take pushchairs for both children due to the steep climb back, and this was good advice as my 3 year old could not manage the whole way back up hill. All I will say is that after a while we did get used to the walk back , but it was rather unbearable doing it in the mid day sun. Albuferia was a lovely place and has a fantastic ambience, having puppet shows in the square and ride on scooters near to the escalators. We did have a tour on the tourist train and it took us round to the area of the Strip. Only in my opinion this area is the more lively part of town and for those people wanting lots of bars. I would say that the beach was very beautiful, however as it is near enough in a cove there was no wind and it was very hot. We found the sea was a little too rough for the kids to just paddle in and in the end we came back to the apartment as it was so safe there. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and I would thoroughly recommend these apartments to anyone. I am sure at some point we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamollyRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Windmill Hill (Alto Do Moinho) complex for the second time from June 18th-June 25th. Booked the two bedroom apartment for four adults (couples in 20’s) through Owners Direct.

Firstly, the apartment was absolutely brilliant, recently refitted bathrooms, balcony with built in barbecue, table for 6, and sun loungers. The was an ensuite bathroom to the master as well as a separate bathroom next to the second bedroom.

The complex itself is lovely, a nice sized pool which generally you will have no problems getting a sunlounger by at a reasonable time in the morning, the only time we struggled was when we came back from the beach one day around 4.00pm and nearly all were taken so we had to find 4 together! There is an onsite pool bar which serves hot and cold snacks, sangria, ice creams etc.. perfect for lazy days!! There is also a reception area with internet access and they will also arrange any transfers to the airport for you. I can’t fault the complex at all, its absolutely perfect, it is set above the old town so you have a fantastic view of Fishermans Beach and the old town itself from the poolside and from some apartments. Our view as you will see from our photos was amazing.

I have to say I do not agree with an earlier poster that the pool was ‘freezing’ however we did go in June. There were toddlers and children in the pool every day and I found it to be the perfect temperature especially on extremely hot days!

The walk down to the Old Town square is 10 minutes and the walk to the beach lift is probably 5-8 minutes depending on how fast you walk I suppose! The walk back is quite hilly, we managed it fine and I should think most able bodied people will too, although on some extremely hot days it was a bit of an effort. You can always get a taxi if you feel the need to, probably about 4 euros.

Nearest supermarket is 5 minutes walk downhill from the complex. Big enough to do a basic shop and reasonably priced, we got some excellent freshly made burgers for our barbeque as well as other lovely food.

Albufeira Old Town and Fishermans Beach is also brilliant, tons of restaurants to choose from as well as bars. There is entertainment going on in the square every night, and there is always plenty to do. I would highly recommend Cais Velho and La Ruina on the seafront, off bar street. Make sure you make good use of the happy hours in the bars, especially if you like your cocktails, 6.50 euros normally, down to 3.75 euros during happy hour!

All in all, another fanstastic holiday in Albufeira and we will definitely be returning as well as recommending the apartment we used to all our friends. The only reason we are not returning next year is due to having our honeymoon booked... and a bit gutted not to be returning!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#139 of 154 in Albufeira
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho

Property: Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho
Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-320, Portugal (Formerly Windmill Hill-Alto do Moinho)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Hill (Alto Do Moinho) Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Alto Do Moinho Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing