We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho
Ranked #94 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you want cheap n cheerful this is it . Its ok . Old with wear an tear but it's clean enough. The hill its located on is steep to get up but downhill is fine.
It does have very nice gardens .
My mum booked the transfer car to the hotel I was worried that it wouldn't show up as she isn't very internet literate . Actually she did a good job they were waiting for us in the arrival tent .the company were yellow fish transfers and they gave us a bottle of wine too.
We used to go into the old town at night it was lovely with nice restaurants and some lovely bars which made wicked mojito s..the best ever. .

Go to a lovely restaurant called dom carlos its has a 5 course set menu with a set price,fabulous setting and atmosphere an the food is amazingly presented .
We actually shared the restaurant with Bonnie Tyler she lives in Albufeira apparently an its her favourite.
Good holiday if you need cheap an adequate then this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

If you don,t do steep hills or have walking difficulties this is not for you.
Located at the very top of Albufeira the name says it all....
Basic old style portuguese apartments ,adequate and clean.
With a very nice pool area.
A 10 minute walk downhill takes you into the main old town,where you will find many bars restaurants, stalls  and shops, the beach is lovely.
In the day time you find people just potter around and at night in the summer it comes alive . Early on its couples and familys for dinner and to see the street performers and at night time it gets a very mixed crowd and age range to party.  It really has something for all ages..
A taxi from faro airport is 60 euro although i have been informed due to new tolls on the motorway it may have gone up. We find the resort transfer companys that you find on line much better value eg 30 euros.
We have used a few but one i remember the name of is yellowfishtransfers com ,they were good..
Ryanair ,easyjet , jet2 and bmi all fly to faro theses days so if you shop around mixing and matching you can put your own package together quite cheaply.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed at Windmill Hill apartments with a group and it was perfect. It was worked out to be cheaper than a typical hostel, cuz of the sharing and there is a nice, fully equipped kitchen. The apartments are quite spacious and they are pretty cozy. The views are amazing, and the pool is a nice quiet area to relax by. It is a short walk to great restaurants, cafes, and bars. There is also a beach pretty close too. We all really enjoyed our stay here. www.WindmillHillApartments.com

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We visited here in April its also known as windmill hill as it has large windmill in the grounds,
We flew Easy jet and got a transfer with yellow fishtransfers ,com this was an excelent choice the price was good they met us at the Airport the driver spoke English and gave us a bottle of wine ,
The apartments are older but real cosy like a little house even have a fireplace . the view is spectacular of the town and its only a short walk to get there so no taxis.
The strip is 5 mins in taxi but we only went once prefer the old town,.
The pool area is nice and was very quiet even as we were there in the busy period i think they were feeling the recession ,,We liked it quiet though;
Albufeira has no shortage of restaurants and bars and makes for a really good night out.
A fantastic choice in restaurants and although lively at night time ot too much ,met some great people,

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

rented a one bed apartment privately via holiday rentals. Excellent communication from the owners prior to leaving. Pleasantly surprised about the size of apartment - lots of lounge space, full kitchen, great bathroom with separate shower and plenty of outside space to enjoy the sun all day. Pool looked very nice but the downside was that, at this time of year, despite the heatwave it was freezing cold!! I imagine in the summer it is great. Cannot comment on the snack bar as was closed as out of season.
Fifteen minute walk to the marina - some restaurants and bars there but little else. Boat trips went from here - we did the 2 1/2 hour trip along the coast which was good value at 16 euro each.
Steep hills on the way back from old town (10 - 15 minute walk) - great for toning the legs!!! Some good restaurants in town and great live music.
Overall, enjoyed our stay at windmill hill and would recommend for anyone wanting to stay near albufeira old town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend are just back form staying in these apartments. I couldn't fault them in any way. They are extremely spacious with a big balcony onto a garden. Cleaners come every day with fresh towels. The pool area is lovely and quiet. There is always sun beds available and is a lovely relaxing area. The beach is only a 10 minute walk away down a short cut. It is quiet hilly coming back up so in not sure i would recommend this place to anyone with walking difficulties as it is quite high up. There is a very close supermarket which is good, it has fresh bread and pastries every morning which is handy. The old town is beautiful, i wouldn't recommend going near the strip, very tacky. Restaurants are very reasonable and the food is excellent. Great street entertainment at night time. Overall, i would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone, they have everything in the kitchen down to a washing machine and a dishwasher, ideal for anyone with kids that want to eat in their apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millie2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have just come back from renting an appartment which is privatly owned.
It was a ground floor 2 bed 2 bath with a balcony that got the sun all day long.
It was reasonably furnished to include dishwasher washing machine fridge/freezer ect.
The TV is only BBC1 and ITV 1 and if you get bad weather as we did you loose the signal, so have to fall back on DVDs not a major issue.

The walk into town not to bad we are a couple in our 60s there are lots of ways down you find the best route for yourself.

We took a taxi to Algarve Shopping cost 8 euros each way, the price if you go with the tour from Ticket Office near the old bus station is 8 euros each, so worth getting a taxi as you can look at all the nice shops, have a meal in the food court go to see a film which are all in their original language with Portugese subtitles, finish up doing your food shop in the huge supermarket.

The strip we found very expensive and getting really very tacky.

Old Town is charming full of character, so many restaurants the best one being on Fishermans Beach called Cabana Fresca we were going to save it for the last night, thankfully we didn't and ate there most nights, the food is very good, the staff very friendly and a great atmosphere.

We would definatly go back the only thing we would do differently is not book a return transfer with www.yourfaroairporttransfers.com as they came 40 mins late to take us back to the airport, made the flight by the skin of our teeth as we finished up being at the back of every queue ie check in, passport contol and security, no time for even a drink.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.9 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
#143 of 154 in Albufeira
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna Solaqua
Luna Solaqua
#7 of 135 in Albufeira
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho

Address: | Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200, Portugal (Formerly Windmill Hill-Alto do Moinho)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $60 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheerfulway Alto do Moinho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Hill (Alto Do Moinho) Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Alto Do Moinho Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing