We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonia B”
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sonia B”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just back on 19th/6/13 hotel was meant to be 4 star to me and my friend it would have been a 3 star in the uk.

Wasn't impressed the hotel was clean and tidy but our wash hand basin in the bathroom had no plug and constantly blocked so we had to get them to unblock it. The hotel room was quite small a double and single bed with balcony so we had to put our suitcases out in the balcony as no room and no suitcase stand in room which you get in all uk hotels to lay them on.

We asked for Tea and coffee facilities on arrival, we were given a kettle, two cups and saucers, and an empty jug that was it. When we asked for the actual tea and coffee sacets the hotel said they would have to charge us for it as it wasn't included, I couldn't beleive what I was hearing. This is meant to be a 4 star hotel we said in any uk hotel or abroad tea and coffee is not charged? The manager came out with a pathetic excuse that prices have gone up so that is why we had to pay 3 euro and buy milk at a shop.

On my last night I was served in the hotel restraunt raw chicken cooked half way through top raw covered in sauce, so I asked nicley to have it cooked more they did and served me the same piece of chicken back again.

They state on website and on the beach a 10min walk into town we were out a fortune in taxis it's 10-15 mins in a taxi old town costing 8 euro each way.

would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mrs Sonia Boyle

Thank you for your time that you have taken to review our hotel.
Our guest s opinion is very important and we accept your comments.
However we want to respond your critics.

In a hotel it can happens that the wash hand basin blocked, but we fix it immediately.
Your reservation was for a standard double room, but when we have availability we give better rooms to our guests.
We allocated you in a triple room with sea side view, for that reason you had a double bed and one single bed.
The room has also a wardrobe with space for suitcase and a big balcony.
We provide a kettle on request, free of charge. For tea bags, coffee, milk or water the guest have to pay extra, that is not included in the price.
In UK that service is included in the room price, in Portugal in the most of Hotels it isn’t, we didn’t announced that service in any webpage.

In our website we have the correct information, the beach is 10 minutes walking distance (500m), the town is 3km (10 minutes by car)

Thank once again for your comment

Best Regards
General Manager
director@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    117
    54
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
171
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here in Mid October and could not believe how cheap the place was considering it was one of the nicest places we stayed at in all our europe trip. It cost us about 35Euro/night with full breakfast buffet. the rooms were nice with a balcony and the staff were good too. We dined at the restaurant here most of the nights which cooked great food for a reasonable price considering we never had to leave the hotel. the beach is about 500m walk which was nice and quite with a great bar to have fish or Sangria while you enjoy the beach. highly recommend it though i cant imagine they charge that price all season. To get to town its a bit of a walk so a taxi maybe better

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Alwash

Thank you for your review, and for your kind words. Our guest’s opinion is very important for us.

The location is very good, is definitely the ideal place to rest and relax during the holiday.
Our Restaurant have a nice terrace, there you can eat and drink in the evening and watch the sunrise
The prices of course change, depending the seasons.
It will be pleasure for us welcome you again if you are planning to visit us again.

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
isabelaugusto@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm just back from a week at the Maritur hotel and how it got four stars I'll never know?!

Bad points-Nothing of any great interest near the hotel apart from the beach which is about a ten minute walk away, don't be fooled by the main photo, the hotel isn't right at the beach, there's a lot of land between the hotel and the sea.It costs around €10 in a taxi to the new town if you're looking for some entertainment.The food was way below average, continental breakfast was ok but if you wanted anything cooked ie bacon or eggs, you had to ask, there was no sign up advising this, I only knew because I noticed someone else doing it. It comes on a small side plate with only two items on it?! Hardly worth the hassle!Dinner was supposed to be buffet but it was changed after the 2nd day to the waiter asking you to pick either the fish or the meat dish! Two choices?! The quality of food was well below average and I advise you to eat elsewhere if you stay here.The indoor pool was very cold and the jacuzzi only worked properly for one day! The pool area was a bit dull, hardly any lights were on or working properly.

Good points- The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean and you get a great view of the ocean if you you pick a sea view room. The indoor gym has very good equipment in it.

Overall I would avoid this hotel for a while, it seems to have changed hands recently and they're still adjusting things, t-shirts at the gift shop and the plates still have the old hotels name(marium) on them.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert D

Thank you very much for your review.
We apreciate all our comments, they help us to do allways better.
Refering to your comments let us tell you that we are close to 2 wonderful beaches (Arrifes and São Rafael) 10minutes walking distance, around 500m.
If you are looking for entertainment (bars and Discos) you have not only the new town (the famouse Strip) but also the turistic old town where´s a taxi costs around 6€.
On our buffet breakfast we prefer to have the hot breakfast, fresh an hot, doing it on the moment in front of the guest "Show Cooking", allways as the wish of the guests.
About our dinner we do buffet when´s more than 15 guests in half board, but when we serve set menu we have allways several choices (Soup, several salads, fish, meat, pasta dish, sweet desserts and fruits)
Our indoor pool is standardly on 28ºC an jacuzzi on 33ºC.
We are gratefull about your comments on our staff, and once again thank you for your time.
Next time please tell us if you have any problems directly, so we can solve them in the best way.

Best Regards
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel, as it is early in the season it was quiet, which suited us perfectly, only few minutes drive into the hustle & bustle of Albufeira old & new towns. Very nice small secluded beach nearby as well with restaurant, staff here were very friendly. Breakfast had a good variety every day, with fresh fruit, juice, cereals, meats & cheeses. A variety of breads, rolls, croissants & cake, a cooked breakfast could be had on request. Our room was cleaned, with fresh sheets & towels every day. Staff were friendly & helpful, so we are home again & only regret is that our stay was not for longer.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea View will also have sun on balcony in the morning, but the rooms with street will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianMayo_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Marian

Thank you that you have taken some time to write about our hotel.

It is always a pleasure satisfy our guest.
We have the privilege being located in a quiet area, the São Rafael beach and Arrifes beach are just 500m from us, and each beach has a Restaurant.
The distance from our hotel to the old town is 10 minutes by car.

Next time take some more days, it will be a pleasure welcome you again.

Kind regards
Fernando Augusto
General manager
director@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned today from 4. Day break at the Hotel Maritur.This hotel is perfect if you want unwind and get some peace and quiet the staff are very friendly and are always pleased to welcome you back and they will cater for all your needs.
Try to get a room on the second floor overlooking the ocean.
A must is to go down the road to City Bar and looked after by the owners Cissy and Patrick
Several good restaurant within walking distance.

Room Tip: Just ask the Maritur and they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAYODEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Rayode

Thank you very much that you have taken some time to write about our hotel.

Your opinion is very important for us and we are very glade about your good comments.
Our sea view rooms are very good located with an excellent view.

The hotel is in the highest point from the pretty are “São Rafael”.

You will be very welcome in our hotel as always in your next visit.

Hope to see you again soon


Best Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
director@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Banus, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I just cameback to London after my birthday trip to Portugal where i stayed two weeks in Maritur Hotel. This place was very good choice because of very cheap and beautiful 4-stars hotel with fantastic staff and with nice clean and comfortable rooms. We had an room with ocean and small lake view and it was good. Hotel has good facilities because of small gym and swimming pool with jacuzzi. Breakfast was rich and we could order hot meal every day (in english breakfast style). Now i want to talk about only a few bad things in the hotel. Okay, so location in Sao Rafael isn't the best before summer but it wasn't a big problem. I was walking every day to Albufeira and it just helped me a bit with my condition of my body. Another quiet negative thing is that rooms don't have any kettle, television has only a few channels(what isn't very important but i am big Formula 1 fan and i had to go downstairs to watch an F1 race) and bathroom is very close to the entrance door what isn't the best option because of wooden surface in the hallway which was very wet when i cameback from the bath. Anyways i was very, very happy because of this hotel and i'm sure that i will visit that place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael-israel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for taking some time in writing a review on Hotel Maritur.It is always a pleasure to read about guests feed back.
We´re very glad that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the Kettle we got them on request.As you´re planning to come back,please email us and we´ll provide one upon arrival.
Once again Thank you very much for your kind words.
Looking forward to welcome you again

Kind Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel and can only say That the staff were most helpful and all very friendly. The service from everybody was excellent. The walk into Albufeira became part of our routine, The hotel is clean and the balcony overlooking the bay an added bonus. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be the icing on the cake but nevertheless we can recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Portugal for a holiday.

Bill and Kate

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Gerente geral at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mrs Kate

Thank you very much for your kind words.It is always a pleasure to satisfy our guests.

I´ll make sure that the staff will be informed of you´re great feed back.
Regarding the ketlle we got them on request.Please ask for one on your next visit,or email us and we provide one upon arrival.

Looking forward to see you again in the future,

Kind Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
967 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
473 reviews
4.5 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Property: Hotel Maritur
Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#39 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing