We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a 4 star hotel!”
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm just back from a week at the Maritur hotel and how it got four stars I'll never know?!

Bad points-Nothing of any great interest near the hotel apart from the beach which is about a ten minute walk away, don't be fooled by the main photo, the hotel isn't right at the beach, there's a lot of land between the hotel and the sea.It costs around €10 in a taxi to the new town if you're looking for some entertainment.The food was way below average, continental breakfast was ok but if you wanted anything cooked ie bacon or eggs, you had to ask, there was no sign up advising this, I only knew because I noticed someone else doing it. It comes on a small side plate with only two items on it?! Hardly worth the hassle!Dinner was supposed to be buffet but it was changed after the 2nd day to the waiter asking you to pick either the fish or the meat dish! Two choices?! The quality of food was well below average and I advise you to eat elsewhere if you stay here.The indoor pool was very cold and the jacuzzi only worked properly for one day! The pool area was a bit dull, hardly any lights were on or working properly.

Good points- The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean and you get a great view of the ocean if you you pick a sea view room. The indoor gym has very good equipment in it.

Overall I would avoid this hotel for a while, it seems to have changed hands recently and they're still adjusting things, t-shirts at the gift shop and the plates still have the old hotels name(marium) on them.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Robert D

Thank you very much for your review.
We apreciate all our comments, they help us to do allways better.
Refering to your comments let us tell you that we are close to 2 wonderful beaches (Arrifes and São Rafael) 10minutes walking distance, around 500m.
If you are looking for entertainment (bars and Discos) you have not only the new town (the famouse Strip) but also the turistic old town where´s a taxi costs around 6€.
On our buffet breakfast we prefer to have the hot breakfast, fresh an hot, doing it on the moment in front of the guest "Show Cooking", allways as the wish of the guests.
About our dinner we do buffet when´s more than 15 guests in half board, but when we serve set menu we have allways several choices (Soup, several salads, fish, meat, pasta dish, sweet desserts and fruits)
Our indoor pool is standardly on 28ºC an jacuzzi on 33ºC.
We are gratefull about your comments on our staff, and once again thank you for your time.
Next time please tell us if you have any problems directly, so we can solve them in the best way.

Best Regards
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 322 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel, as it is early in the season it was quiet, which suited us perfectly, only few minutes drive into the hustle & bustle of Albufeira old & new towns. Very nice small secluded beach nearby as well with restaurant, staff here were very friendly. Breakfast had a good variety every day, with fresh fruit, juice, cereals, meats & cheeses. A variety of breads, rolls, croissants & cake, a cooked breakfast could be had on request. Our room was cleaned, with fresh sheets & towels every day. Staff were friendly & helpful, so we are home again & only regret is that our stay was not for longer.

Room Tip: Rooms with Sea View will also have sun on balcony in the morning, but the rooms with street will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianMayo_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Marian

Thank you that you have taken some time to write about our hotel.

It is always a pleasure satisfy our guest.
We have the privilege being located in a quiet area, the São Rafael beach and Arrifes beach are just 500m from us, and each beach has a Restaurant.
The distance from our hotel to the old town is 10 minutes by car.

Next time take some more days, it will be a pleasure welcome you again.

Kind regards
Fernando Augusto
General manager
director@hotelmaritur.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned today from 4. Day break at the Hotel Maritur.This hotel is perfect if you want unwind and get some peace and quiet the staff are very friendly and are always pleased to welcome you back and they will cater for all your needs.
Try to get a room on the second floor overlooking the ocean.
A must is to go down the road to City Bar and looked after by the owners Cissy and Patrick
Several good restaurant within walking distance.

Room Tip: Just ask the Maritur and they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAYODEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Rayode

Thank you very much that you have taken some time to write about our hotel.

Your opinion is very important for us and we are very glade about your good comments.
Our sea view rooms are very good located with an excellent view.

The hotel is in the highest point from the pretty are “São Rafael”.

You will be very welcome in our hotel as always in your next visit.

Hope to see you again soon


Best Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
director@hotelmaritur.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I just cameback to London after my birthday trip to Portugal where i stayed two weeks in Maritur Hotel. This place was very good choice because of very cheap and beautiful 4-stars hotel with fantastic staff and with nice clean and comfortable rooms. We had an room with ocean and small lake view and it was good. Hotel has good facilities because of small gym and swimming pool with jacuzzi. Breakfast was rich and we could order hot meal every day (in english breakfast style). Now i want to talk about only a few bad things in the hotel. Okay, so location in Sao Rafael isn't the best before summer but it wasn't a big problem. I was walking every day to Albufeira and it just helped me a bit with my condition of my body. Another quiet negative thing is that rooms don't have any kettle, television has only a few channels(what isn't very important but i am big Formula 1 fan and i had to go downstairs to watch an F1 race) and bathroom is very close to the entrance door what isn't the best option because of wooden surface in the hallway which was very wet when i cameback from the bath. Anyways i was very, very happy because of this hotel and i'm sure that i will visit that place again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafael-israel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for taking some time in writing a review on Hotel Maritur.It is always a pleasure to read about guests feed back.
We´re very glad that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the Kettle we got them on request.As you´re planning to come back,please email us and we´ll provide one upon arrival.
Once again Thank you very much for your kind words.
Looking forward to welcome you again

Kind Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel and can only say That the staff were most helpful and all very friendly. The service from everybody was excellent. The walk into Albufeira became part of our routine, The hotel is clean and the balcony overlooking the bay an added bonus. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be the icing on the cake but nevertheless we can recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Portugal for a holiday.

Bill and Kate

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Gerente geral at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Mrs Kate

Thank you very much for your kind words.It is always a pleasure to satisfy our guests.

I´ll make sure that the staff will be informed of you´re great feed back.
Regarding the ketlle we got them on request.Please ask for one on your next visit,or email us and we provide one upon arrival.

Looking forward to see you again in the future,

Kind Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Decent sized room with large balcony and amazing views.
Good facilities, indoor pool and gym, and some very friendly staff. The hotel was very clean
There was no kettle in the room which is the only negative thing. The continental breakfast had a lot of choice with the option of having a cooked one as well. Very close to a beautiful beach with a 10 minute walk to another.
Quite a walk into town but there is a bus stop just outside which the staff were very helpful with explaining.
there were supermarkets and bars close by but they weren't open while we were there as it was out of season.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynC454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mr Robyn C

Thank you for spending some time in writing a review on Hotel Maritur.
Your kind words were so much appreciated and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
We provide Kettles on request.We´ll make sure you´ll get one on your next visit.
I am delightful to have your feed-back.

Kind Regards
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
director@hotelmaritur.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose this Hotel as it was close by to our friends who live nearby. We were given a large room with a balcony overlooking the sea, the view was stunning, Both the room and hotel were very clean, and although we visited in January and it was quiet, the staff were very helpful, we asked for a kettle, water and milk and they was brought up straight away together with a tray, tray cloth and cups. The breakfast had a very good range of buffet food and a very nice lady would freshly cook you eggs and bacon etc. We used the pool and jacuzzi and were pleased to see they had a disabled chair to lift you into the pool if required. Towels also provided. We spent most of our time with our friends and they were also made very welcome when they visited us. We love the area, as its quiet and very beautiful, the weather was sunny and warm and made a very welcome change from our English weather. We would walk to the beach or along the cliff after breakfast and marvel at the scenery. There also a very good bar known locally as Nelson's, very good food. We would highly recommend this hotel and will most certainly return.

Room Tip: Worth staying in a sea view room sunny all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gigi517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Gigi. Thank you for the time take to write such a delightful comment on both our staff and the hotel itself. It is very rewarding for all of us to read your kind words, and I will make sure our staff will be aware of it as well. Also, in my point of view, you have understood perfectly what we can offer: large rooms with great views, we arrange tea and kettle facilities, indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym, quietness for our guest and two excellent beaches just down the road, 10 minutes walking, the path way over the cliffs is amazing.
Finally, we are very, very happy to have been a positive factor in the opinion you built about Portugal. We are very lucky our weather is fantastic.

If you are planning to visit Portugal or your friends again, it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto
General manager
Director@hotelmaritur.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,045 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
796 reviews
3.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#38 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $48 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing