We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not for young couples”
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel not for young couples”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night but booked 2 weeks as we thought it wasn't too far from the town centre and near a beach, restaurants etc. on the day of our arrival we had a look around and it was very very quiet. None of the restaurants were open, it's in a resedantial area. The "beach" was very disappointing covered in litter and not much sand. The room was ok, quite small and very dated. Balcony good size but swimming pools looked tiny! No one was there, was far too quiet.

We decided to look elsewhere because it certainly wasn't what we expected. Definitely a hotel for the more mature guests as there was literally nothing to do, had a hire car about a 15 min drive to main centre. I would not class the hotel as **** because it was dated, lacking any personality and not well equipped (no kettle in room either)
So if you are looking for a hotel quite far from it all with not wanting to do much it would suit. We then went to sbest lose to the town centre, much better as could walk to a choice of stunning beaches, restaurants, bars etc.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear L240 Thank you for your review. Regarding your observations, allows us to inform that our location is 3 KM away from the town center and the main downtown area; that location is quite visible on the main Map applications on the web and in our own website, so if you were looking for an hotel close to the busy & noisy nightlife of Albufeira we are sorry that we weren't able to deliver on that expectation, even though the Hotel is extremely well connected to the center via the bus stop. We would also like to thank you for noting the quietness of our Hotel - we strive to provide our guests with quietness and relaxation. Even though the Hotel does get quietter during the day that is because most of our guests spend the entire day on the 2 beaches that are within walking distance of the Hotel.
Regarding the kettles, indeed we have no kettles in the room, but we do have them upon request on our Reception.
Finally, we are sorry we were not able to fullfill your expectations, but perhaps we were not the type of Hotel you were looking for. Should you eventually look for a quiet, relaxing, and out of the main area Hotel if you return to Albufeira, we are more than happy to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    116
    53
    21
    11
See reviews for
58
166
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My brother and I visited this hotel 24 June for four nights and i advise you to ignore any negative reviews you might tread for this hotel - those that have something to complain about at this hotel will always find something to complain about!
The hotel is what it is and does it very well. It is effeciently and well run, is friendly, peaceful and quiet, spotlessly clean and well equipped. If you're looking for a hotel that throws entertainment at you then go elsewhere. There's no music nor bar at the poolside but this brings a peaceful and relaxing environment and less kids! (you can get drinks form the bar and take down to pool if you desire)
We only stayed B&B but the breakfast was great quality - you want 5* star food then go and pay 5* prices. There is nothing wrong with the selection and quality of food at breakfast here.
We ate at the Pizza restaurant one evening and agin nothing bad to report
The room was one of the best i've stayed in anywhere in Mediterranean Europe and the bathroom was decorated and equipped to a standard that would embarrass most UK hotels
Taxi's to the centre of Albufiera cost approx. Eu6 each way and take less than 10 mins but this is worth it for the peace and tranquillity you get from been slightly out of town
So that's it - book it, get there, chill and relax

Room Tip: Don't be disappointed if you can only get a land view room - very quiet and pleasing views eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1962RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear R N Thank you very much for the taking the time to review your stay in our company. It is our goal as an hotel to make sure we do our very best in fullfilling the expectations we create to our guests: from our off centre location, our relaxed and friendly approach to hospitality and the value for money our Hotel represents, all things considered. One thing that we cannot emphasize enough is the sheer size of our rooms, its bathrooms and balconies. We are very glad that you noticed it, and shared it with the world.
Should you ever come back to Portugal and to the Algarve, let me know. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room I stayed in was very big and clean. The hotel is close to 2 wonderful beaches and the Marina. I enjoyed my stay, the staff was very friendly and since I was travelling alone they would always have a little chat with me and they were very helpful too.
Very relaxed atmosphere so if you want a nice relaxing stay with lots of sun and beautiful beach 3 minutes away from you door - this is a place for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_Vaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear B_Vaida Thank you for your kind words toward our Hotel, its location and our staff. I will personally make sure they are aware of your feedback. If you decide to revisit the Algarve - and you should as there's more to it than meets the eye - , feel free to contact me at anytime should you need anything.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our company.

Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

my wife and I are just back from 7 nights in the Hotel Matitur in Albuferia.Overall the holiday was good, the big let down was the evening meal.Two choices fish or meat, never totally hot, choice of veg very poor, on two consecutive nights we had frozen mixed veg, followed by two nights of cabbage, then surprise surprise vegetable soup, full of cabbage.The starters and sweets were good as was the breakfast, so it was a surprise how average the evening meal was, a view shared by several guests, who like us will not venture back.

Room Tip: there are only two floors, a sea view will cost you extra, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normanfowler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear normanfowler3 Thank you for you constructive criticism, its this sort of feedback that goes a long way in helping us improve our standard of service. We are however pleased that in the overall we were able to meet your expectations, and leave the guarantee that the points you raised will be improved upon.
Should you need anything from us, feel free to contact me at director@hotelmaritur.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

the hotel maritur was a lovely surprise. the room had a great view of the ocean and beyond. no high rise and there was a lovely quaint atmosphere reminiscent of greece from the rooms terrace. There was a lovely table and chairs on the large terrace with portuguese tiles on the table. The grounds were lovely and compact with 2 swimming pools. The lounge /reception area was very nicely decorated with great seating and t.v.Breakfast also was excellent with fresh fruit,coconut yogurt, and cooked breakfast available. The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and well stocked with great products. It is in a beautiful upmarket area with a great choice of beaches and restaurants around.Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the hotel all seem to have great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear rosemary s First of all, allow us to thank you both for your comments on Hotel Maritur and specially, for choosing our Hotel to enjoy your well earned break in Albufeira. We could try to point out the great things about the Hotel, but you and our guests actually do it so much better than us! Its extremely rewarding for us to see that our recent changes in the decor for the bar/lounge area didn't go unnoticed and on a personal note, noticing the portuguese tiles on the balconies is just fantastic. Portugal has a centuries old tradition in expertly working beautiful mosaics, and it is something that is definetly worth looking into should you return to Portugal. And if you do, nothing would please us more than welcoming you back at our Hotel.
Best regards,
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Excellent standard/beautiful location /quiet yet near to main areas (taxi 5 euros)
up the hill from a fab cove and bar/fish restaurant overlooking the beach.
great sea view room /large and well equipped.we will stay again .
free parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear anneh Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Maritur with the world. Indeed our quiet yet close-to-everything location makes our Hotel a perfect spot to rest in. Specially, as you pointed out, while enjoying the inspiring sea views.
Should you need anything else from the Hotel or have any questions, feel free to contact me to director@hotelmaritur.com at anytime.

Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

we stayed for one night, due to the apartment we had booked for the week being available sat to sat, and the flights being cheaper on the friday. We had booked on the internet for 2 adults and 2 children. We arrived about 10pm, and were given a suite. We were so impressed, it was huge. The bathroom was massive, the lounge had two sofas that we could turn into single beds for the children, with very large balcony over looking the pool area and beautiful view of the sea, although we did not find this out until morning when the sun was up. Our room had a large window, but no access to balcony, good views though. Tv's in both rooms, in good decor. We did not unpack, but there was plenty of wardrobe space. We used the bar, and prices were low, beer was nice and cold and spirits were poured generously. The staff were kind and friendly to the children. We explained that we may not be able to access our apartment until maybe 3pm on the Saturday and the staff said that because they were not busy they had a word with housekeeping and said that we could stay if needed till about 2pm. We could use all of the facilities. The outdoor pool was cold, and the indoor one was heated. My children used the indoor one and jacuzzi. The beach that is a short walk away is the best one in the local area by far. Even when we stayed at the different apartment for the remainder of our week, we kept returning to that beach. The breakfast was average, but at a price of £74.30 for us all, I couldn't care. We would go back for the similar circumstances.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Torie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear tor16 Thank you both for your kind words and your great pictures of our indoor swimming pool! Its extremely rewarding to see that our Sea View Suite exceeded both yours and your family's expectations. The nearby beach is indeed a well kept secret. Very cosy and not very explored, which makes it a very relaxing place to sunbathe and to test Albufeira's mild waters.

As always, its our guest's criticism that keeps pushing us forward to have more and be better. We are making several changes as well decor-wise and should we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family in the future, you will be even more pleasantly surprised.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto - director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
953 reviews
4.5 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa
Belver Boa Vista Hotel & Spa
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Property: Hotel Maritur
Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#39 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing