We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY PLEASED”
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“VERY PLEASED”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

we stayed for one night, due to the apartment we had booked for the week being available sat to sat, and the flights being cheaper on the friday. We had booked on the internet for 2 adults and 2 children. We arrived about 10pm, and were given a suite. We were so impressed, it was huge. The bathroom was massive, the lounge had two sofas that we could turn into single beds for the children, with very large balcony over looking the pool area and beautiful view of the sea, although we did not find this out until morning when the sun was up. Our room had a large window, but no access to balcony, good views though. Tv's in both rooms, in good decor. We did not unpack, but there was plenty of wardrobe space. We used the bar, and prices were low, beer was nice and cold and spirits were poured generously. The staff were kind and friendly to the children. We explained that we may not be able to access our apartment until maybe 3pm on the Saturday and the staff said that because they were not busy they had a word with housekeeping and said that we could stay if needed till about 2pm. We could use all of the facilities. The outdoor pool was cold, and the indoor one was heated. My children used the indoor one and jacuzzi. The beach that is a short walk away is the best one in the local area by far. Even when we stayed at the different apartment for the remainder of our week, we kept returning to that beach. The breakfast was average, but at a price of £74.30 for us all, I couldn't care. We would go back for the similar circumstances.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Torie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear tor16 Thank you both for your kind words and your great pictures of our indoor swimming pool! Its extremely rewarding to see that our Sea View Suite exceeded both yours and your family's expectations. The nearby beach is indeed a well kept secret. Very cosy and not very explored, which makes it a very relaxing place to sunbathe and to test Albufeira's mild waters.

As always, its our guest's criticism that keeps pushing us forward to have more and be better. We are making several changes as well decor-wise and should we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family in the future, you will be even more pleasantly surprised.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto - director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    55
    21
    13
See reviews for
61
179
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We just come back from Algarve, staying at this hotel. We could recommend who wished for a nice
quiet stay. The room we had was very comfortable and spacious, and also very clean. Extra bonus
fridge in the room. The staff were very helpful and anything we required they did. One thing what is needed courtesy transport to Albufeira. Thank you again, we look forward for a return visit.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Finetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Finetail

Thank you very much for your kind words. Everyday , our team strives to keep the quietness, cleanliness and relaxation factor of our Hotel at top levels and it pleases us to see that our guests enjoy and acknowledge our efforts. We have also taken note of your constructive criticism regarding the courtesy transportation, and are pleased to inform that we are taking measures in that direction. Our guests's satisfaction is a primary concerned and we are happy to keep working towards not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to your Hotel in the future.
Best regards,
Fernando Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My partner and I absolutely love going to this hotel, it is very quiet, no children, in a quiet area and about 700 metres from the most beautiful cove. The staff are all fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. They arranged a cake and champagne for when we arrived as was my partner's birthday. Have only been back home for three days but want to go back again NOW!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room then just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chelseablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Chelseablonde
Thank you for your review and for having chosen our Hotel and its relaxing sea views to enjoy your days in Albufeira. Nothing rewards us more than the satisfaction of our guests, and I will personally make sure that all our staff is aware your kind words.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in a near future.

Kindest regards from our whole team.
Fernando Augusto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I must say this was the quietest hotel I ever stayed in bar none!
It's not a bad place, just strange it's a bit like stepping back in time.
The rooms are really little apartments, living room, bedroom and bathroom,
we had a sea view which was very nice, distant, but better than a car park!
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and I have to say it was awful but maybe we were unlucky other people seemed to like it. I found the staff very friendly and helpful however
there weren't many staff around.
When we went to breakfast I thought I'd stepped back to the seventies, Abba or Chris deBurge on a loop over and over again.....mad!

All that said it was more strange than bad, if your looking for a lively entertaining place to stay
this is not the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bungyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
Our hotel is known as a quiet hotel to relax, however getting relatively close to the center of Albufeira.
Therefore possible to enjoy the quietness while having fun around.
Try to came in a busier time and you will probably see the night life and entertainment of Albufeira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was a wonderful place with great ocean views. The staff was amiable and very helpful. We loved our stay in Albufeira. Beautiful coast and sandy beaches. You can walk to the beaches from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trail-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We fill very happy that you enjoyed your holiday so much.
Hope to see again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Maritur Hotel, Albufeira, Portugal in October 2011. We were 'booked in' by a beautiful and extremely helpful receptionist and went up to our room. Phew, very hot in the hotel and the temperature outside was pretty much the same (30 degrees). Nice room with two single beds pushed together, nice bathroom which was quite large, sliding patio doors leading onto a good size balcony which had a table and two chairs. Awful view from the balcony of a large piece of waste ground but we were able to see the blue sea in the distance. Couldn't get the air conditioning in the room to work so had to sleep with the doors open. Went down for breakfast in the morning. Oh dear. Bit of a shock for a Four Star hotel. Much too hot in the large room. The nice waiter took away the dirty crockery but seemed too afraid to speak even though we were the only guests in the room. He kept himself out of the way by walking around the perimeter of the room but it would have been much better if he said something. It didn't appear to be a friendly hotel at all. We used the free internet near the reception but it was difficult to get logged on and we had to ask the lovely receptionist. She too seemed afraid to engage in conversation and after getting us on-line she disappeared behind her reception counter. We were much too hot inside the hotel so asked a member of staff if the air conditioning could be turned up a bit. "Oh no." Was the reply. "The manager (owner of the hotel) doesn't want to spend money and A/C is expensive to run."
Good points were the super indoor swimming pool. The water was a good temperature and the jacuzzi was well worth going in. There's also an outdoor pool which was nice and clean and a joy to be in as the outside temperature was just too hot. Plenty of sun loungers around the pool and the hotel's restaurant right next to the pool.
Apart from not talking to guests we couldn't fault the staff. The room was clean but the mini-bar was empty and if you required anything you have to fill out a form, take it to Reception and they will get your order. We didn't try it at all.
The hotel is well situated for a great sea food restaurant just five minutes walk away down the hill. It's quite an expensive restaurant but excellent food and you are right on the beach too.
The reason I wouldn't give this hotel the Four Stars is because there was not A/C, the breakfast was terribly poor, internet was difficult to get on-line and the staff had obviously been told not to talk to guests.
Would I return? Definitely not.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the outside pool have a better view of the sea. Rooms on the front side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Wow what a great place - for us as a peace love family that dont want to be surrounded by hordes of other British holidaymakers it was perfect ! Yes it is out of the town so unless you fancy a good hours walk in the heat to get into town then it is a 10 min max bus ride instead - not cheap at 2 euros a head. If like us though you are there for the stunning little beach coves, impressive waves & sea swimming then you can;t go wrong. A 5/10 min stroll gets you to the nearest cove with a lovely if pricey retaurant, wcs & loungers if you want them. The next cove along is busier but again beautiful. We spent nearly all our time here just enjoying the huge amount of fun to be had from playing in the sea - the waves make it very exciting if you have an inflatable ring etc ! Even though it was the end of August it was SO quiet never any trouble finding a quiet spot on the beach & the Hotel although we were told it was fully booked was heavenly. No noise from the corridors or pool at night, no traffic noise at all, no disco nothing....The food was superb with a great buffet breakfast of continental foods & cooked eggs, bacon,sausage. The room was spacious with a sea view & balcony, lovely large bathroom (some slight disolouring to the grouting in places my only down comment), nice quiet air con., hairdryer, fridge but no kettle. 2 outdoor pools & an indoor one - all SO quiet we often had them to ourselves - certainly no rush for loungers here ! We did take a sightseeing bus trip all around Albufeira & didn't see another Hotel to compare to this location for us - but if you want night life, bars etc this isn't for you ! Most of the guests were Portugese which is a good sign if the locals like it. The staff were excellent - & we certainly hope to be back again sometime soon. There was a building under construction across the road but we only saw 1 workman with a shovel on 2 occasions so not exactly a problem unless it suddenly takes off.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
985 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,290 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
125 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Property: Hotel Maritur
Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#38 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing