We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa California

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sophienb8...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Villa was beautiful, spacious and very clean upon arrival. The villa itself is lovely and was immaculate.

We had trouble finding the villa, the map on the site is not accurate and the road name does not come up on any sat navs. Sandra kindly came to find us after we couldn't find the villa and showed us how to get there. You will need a car to get around as the amenities are not accessible via walking. It is very quick and easy to get to old town albufeira with the car.

The hot tub was a great addition to the villa, but it needed cleaning after a few days and the jets were broken so would only work if 4 of us were in there at a time. It needs to be fixed really. We were disappointed that the outside bed wasn't set up as it looked gorgeous in the photos.

The bathrooms and bedrooms were all lovely, and the air con worked perfectly. I would say, it would've been nice if there were basic bits left for the kitchen, eg sponge, bag, salt, oil etc. Most holidayers leave these bits behind so we were surprised there was nothing there.

Sandra was easily contactable if we had any queries. We all had a fabulous stay and I would definitely recommend staying at Villa California!! A few teaks / improvements and it would go from very good to excellent!

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julieruth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, great holiday with family”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely villa, had a great holiday with family! Clean and spacious with owner accommodating to our needs! Giving us two travel cots and high chairs for the two babies! Quiet area in which the villa was situated! If wanting to get about a car is definitely needed as its 10/15 mins to old town and new town! Zoo marine and Iceland very close but taxis unsure where villa is located! Best advice when using taxis is that villa is behind chalet restaurant!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinDay1...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Villa”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this Villa in January, for three couples and two babies and we had been looking forawrd to it ever since, i'm glad to say that we were not disappointed at all! The villa was exactly as described and shown in the photos, the villla was clean and spacious with excellent facilities inc nice bathrooms, good beds, wifi and large kitchen.
The Villa is situated in Guia which is a small town but has the large Algarve Shopping Forum nearby which you can walk to, at the shopping forum their is everything you need inc chemists, retail shops and a large supermarket.
We hired cars so getting around was very easy and the cars could all be parked on the villa driveway, which was behind automated secure gates.
In terms of walking to places this was not really possible for us with the small babies however trips to Gale beach were about 10mins drive, Albeufierea town about 15mins and Villamoura was 25mins and Sagres to watch the beautiful sunset was about 1hour 40mins . Drive from Faro to the villa should be approx 40mins had we not got lost finding the N125 main road several times!!

Overall we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the villa and would not hesitate re-booking, lastly i'd like to extend a big thankyou to Sandra for all your help before our hoilday and throughout the week especially for providing us with the extra high chair, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa was as Photographed so we wasnt disappointed, Air Con and beds great
Liked least: The Barbeque was a little small
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo G
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation - A fab stay!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this VIlla !!! We were a family party of 8 adults and were not disappointed with this beautiful Villa. It so spacious and the outdoor kitchen and seating area is fantastic and what a surprise the outdoor Jacuzzi was!!. The owner Sandra and her husband are a lovely couple and nothing was too much trouble - they even lent us their Makro card for the week! You do need a car as nothing is really within walking a distance but taxis to Albufeira Old Town were only 8 euros , The nearby Restaurant Sao Martinho was beautiful and we ate there twice, its literally a 2 min drive from the Villa, if you want total relaxation then this is the Villa for you.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and so spacious
Liked least: Could not walk to bars or restuarants
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelsao1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Excellent Villa”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic time at the Villa out there celebrating my 30th Birthday. The Villa looked as advertised on the Pictures with great quality all round. Rooms where spacious and clean. Loads of room and pool was nice and clean. A car is recommended to get from the Villa to the Centre of Albufeira and shops but a cab ride is not expensive costing around 9 Euros one way.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Entire Property Quality
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGill233
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful villa in an excellent location”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have been to Portugal several times with our young family - two sons aged 4 and 8. This villa was outstanding the best we have stayed at. It is based just outside Guia and the location is really ideal. The N125 is the main road in the Algarve and this is literally a 5 minute drive. This provides access to the whole of the coastal Algarve. The shopping mall is nearby and Albufeira is a short 5-10 minute drive - you will need car. Also zoomarina is also 10 minute drive. If we go back to Portugal will definitely look to staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura t
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent high quality villa”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and 2 year old son have just arrived back from a fantastic week at Villa California. The villa is very spacious and finished to the high standard. All rooms are en-suite and the kitchen is well equipped.

The pool was fantastic and the garden enjoys the sun all day. There is a large parasol that can be used if you want some shade. The air con is very efficient and the villa was generally cool anyway (temps of 28-35 whilst we were there).

The villa is very spacious and our son had plenty of room to play inside and outside.

The owner was very helpful in explaining where local amenities are (we hadn't been to portugal before) and gave good directions to meet us to hand over the keys and let us follow her to the villa.

The villa is just outside Guia about a 10 min drive to Albufeira. When we booked the location map showing the villa on the north west side of Vilamoura was completely wrong so if you are looking for a specific location, check to see if the map now shows the villa near Guia.

Within 10 mins drive are great beaches at Pria de Gale and Evaristo. I would definitely recommend getting a car for this villa as the nearest amenity is a restaurant which is probably a 10-15 min walk on a main road with no path. Nearest shop probably a 25-30 min walk on the same road.

If it is a peaceful week in a beautiful villa look no further. This villa is excellent value for money and somewhere we would definitely re-book.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
Hi, Laura

Many Thanks for the review, but isn´t published.
Can you send it again?

Thank you

Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing