We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,692)
Filter reviews
2,692 results
Traveler rating
1,669
811
167
35
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,669
811
167
35
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewil basilicoporto bay hotelsporto maremadeira restaurantthe cliffolhos d'aguared cliffstennis courtslovely hotelstandard roomplenty of sunbedsevening buffetroom safehalf boardrelaxing holidaytea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 2,692 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2017

We've just returned from a 5 day break to the Portobay Falesia. Superb hotel, quiet and relaxing. The food was plentiful and very varied, the entire hotel spotlessly clean. We opted for as sea view room and were not disappointed. Excellent location and staff friendly, helpful and attentive. This hotel is a must visit. Not sure about summer season but for a winter break either early or late this is certainly the place to go. We intend to go back again as soon as we can. The weather was a good 18 to 22 degrees. The sunsets and sunrises breathtaking to watch. Nice long sandy beach, clean and tidy. Access is by some steps but worth the climb.
We had an unfortunate experience in Tuscany this summer for 14 days, but at this hotel, just the five days we had more than made up for it.
Please take some time to check this out. It'll be well worth it

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony. A/C effective and quiet. Try for 5th floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selhurstpark2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Staff wonderful very helpful and speak several languages Breakfast amazing caters for all diets, did not want to leave Spa not available as technical issues but staff put themselves out to make other arrangements
Will definitely be back at some point. Suzie Carrina And Jouo were wonderful and Excellent approach also very patient with my friends and I Hotel Superb have everything you need

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

This was our fourth winter visit to Porto Bay.
We meet many return visitors from all over Europe. Like them we love the care and attention lavished upon us by the helpful and friendly staff.
We dined in on all of our fourteen nights and enjoyed the breadth and quality of the food.
Being members of the Prestige Club we enjoy reduced rates at the Bar and Restaurants and were given an automatic upgrade to a Sea View Room (November through to March each year). Happy Hour Cocktails are a must.
Weather in late November and early December averaged around a lovely 20 degrees.
Needless to say we have booked to return in February and March.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms (from floor Two upwards) offer great views and optimise the heat of the winter sun
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertadixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again in February / March.
Best regards,
Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017

Gorgeous views, they really are breath taking. We really enjoyed doing yoga in the morning. The rooms were good. Service was ok. Very enjoyable stay. A quiet area for anyone looking for a more peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c5678h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017

After 9 visits to Porto Bay Falesia it just gets better as all the faithful staff now know us and treat us as friends and humans.
Cost for 14 nights less half than a recent stay at "Up Market Hotel" for 4 for 1 night,and much more enjoyable.
At Portobay on departure we were given a 20 eu note as we had over paid.
The other hotel on check out £5,300 we were asked if we would like to add another a tip for other staff.
The world is crazy.
Thanks to Fernando, all the staff, Louise, Rogerio, Dias, Pedro all the Joses, Maria and the ladies.
Scenery, cliff top site, food is all wonderful.
Brian and Susan.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank SusanSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews