We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An enjoyable break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We chose the Porto Bay Falesia after staying in the Porto Bay Santa Maria in Funchal. The standards are equally high. Good location within a 5 minute walk down hill to the little town centre where there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants. We opted for a sea-view room which was a little disappointing due to it being on the first floor and hence a restricted view through trees. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes. Only complaint would be that the orange juice is out of a machine. Fresh orange juice costs 3.50 euros. Seems ridiculous when there are street vendors selling huge bags of fresh oranges for 1.50 euros! Service in the hotel generally excellent apart from one grumpy barman who really didn't want to be there. Evening entertainment pleasant but not quite 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must but try to get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FeathersMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused at the Bar, presently offering fresh orange juice at breakfast, however the orange juice from container is the same brand as Porto Santa Maria. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    633
    116
    22
    8
See reviews for
396
1,339
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great accommodation situated 5 minutes from a stunning beach in between vilamoura and albufeira !

A great location if you want to avoid the buzz of two lively resorts either side,
Porto Bay is perfect for accessing both neighbouring areas by car relatively easily but without the late night stragglers on the way home disturbing a good holiday sleep !

Great clean well looked after accommodation looking out onto the ocean, highly recommend a sea view room, definatley worth the extra cost, food is plentiful and of good quality with a large selection and great choice whatever your fancy !

Breakfast is stunning, crispy bacon, gorgeous eggs and tons of fresh fruit washed down with an ice cold glass of cava and the pool bar menu is excellent - the monkfish skewer a personal fave !

Drinks in the bar in the evening are stunning, highly recommend the mohitos or the kit royale and totally worth a swift one before heading out for dinner.

Too tip.... If you want to sit in the shaded garden area overlooking the beach - get down there early, very popular little spot to unwind, munch on some peanuts with a beer and read your book.

Great stay and good value for money, thanks a million.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonahandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We chose this hotel due to it's location on top of the Falesia Beach in Albufeira. The view is extraordinary and the overall hotel amenities are OK, nothing to complain about. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We really appreciated the welcome sparkling wine bottle and the fruit basket offered by the hotel, since we really haven't expected it.

The only downside is that there aren't many restaurants and bars you could choose from in the walking distance. If you have a car, that's no problem, but taking a bus to Albufeira or other surrounding cities may be inconvenient, since you may have to grab a taxi for the way back.

It is one of the best places to stay in Albufeira.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LidiaZ983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very relaxing and a lovely position on the cliff. Beautiful views with seating on the cliff. Good selection of food and drinks. Staff friendly and attentive but not intrusive. Plenty of sun beds, the hotel is possibly suited more for couples.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel twice now - most recently with our two boys, aged 4 and 2 in May. It is a fairly international affair with clients from Scotland, England, Ireland, Germany, France, Spain, and the USA amongst the accents/languages we could pick out. The staff were amazingly multi-lingual and impressively switched languages on demand.

We chose a family suite which is pretty much a junior suite with a standard room interconnecting - very spacious and comfortable, although I gather that they all face the back of the hotel. The down side is that the living room has only a small window and the main bedroom none. It can, therefore, be a little dark. The other problem is that the soundproofing isn't great and you're guaranteed to be disturbed at some point - mostly by other guests chatting in the corridor or thumping doors. Those problems are easily forgiven though - the hotel was very quiet between 23h and 8h.

The facilities are great - a warm indoor pool, perfect for cooler days and a large (but unheated) outdoor pool. There is also a small children's splash pool outside. A long, sandy beach can be reached via a descent of about 70 steps - this was hard last year whilst our younger son was still mostly in his buggy. This year, I just carried him up and down. The beach is nice and sandy and very long. There are at least two cafes on the beach too plus clean and well maintained public toilets and showers. The beach was pretty quiet when we were there - there were times when we almost had it to ourselves, although I expect it would be busy in the peak of summer. The hotel also has a café by the pool - the food and service is excellent although it is slightly pricey.

The food at the hotel is one of the crowing jewels - a good element of dinner and breakfast is freshly cooked by a chef at a station in the buffet. The rest of the buffet is amazing, fresh, well maintained, beautifully presented and plentiful. The staff keep the counters well stocked and spotlessly clean. Tables are seated, served with drinks and cleared in an efficient manner without creating a rushed feeling. It is well worth enquiring about half board promotions or dinner vouchers at reception; my experience of this chain is that there is always a promotional price. The one thing that was a bit disappointing with respect to dinner was that they charged half for our four year old. That felt a bit excessive, as like most children of that age, he's only really interested in chips and ice cream.

I've already mentioned that the hotel is spotless - an army of friendly, efficient cleaners make it so. The seem to endlessly clean and polish all the common areas in addition to the rooms.

An excellent break, would return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SPH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Will reinforce policy for children consumptions at Restaurant. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Lovely location, good facilities, clean rooms. Staff very helpful and pleasant. The walk to the beach is long and involves walking past a rowdy pool of a neighbouring low rent hotel and this takes the luxury away from the experience but all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Facing the sea if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent a week in this hotel at the end of May. The location is beautiful, views of the sea and beach from several seating areas around the hotel grounds.
I had previously e-mailed the hotel asking for a room near the lifts as my husband is disabled. They put us in 304 which was ideal. They even made a wheelchair available for my husband to use - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool bar staff in particular gave excellent service. Meals in the restaurant were plentiful and varied, although one or two nights my husband was disappointed by the lack of meat (not a fishy person, but I loved it!).The whole hotel was very clean and well kept. The chambermaids worked very hard and very cheerful.
Annoyed that lots of guests put their towels on sunbeds despite a notice to the contrary.
Enjoyed the happy hour 50% drinks early evening too.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing week and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the better views and worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#5 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing