We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Visiting”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent hotel, clean and well maintained. Only issue was sprinklers were over used on grass area and unable to sit as ground was muddy in the morning. Otherwise a hotel I would consider aghain in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IainCCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    703
    134
    27
    9
See reviews for
440
1,501
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just back from a totally relaxing and enjoyable 10 night stay at The Porto Bay.
Unlike many self appointend 4 and 5* hotel, this place has all the qualities one would expect.
The staff are all wonderfull, from the front desk, to the restaurant staff to the cleaners and the bar staff. A special mention for Sissy who does the Yoga (along with Nadia), Pilatis and Aqua Gym activites (also others) with a smile and understanding for all ages and abilities.
There is an air of calm here with no noise and you can be guarenteed to come back relaxed.

The hotel is extremely cosmipolitan with about 25-30% Brits.
Age ranges probably average around 45- 55 but certainly suitable for young couples.
Only a few (well behaved) young children were seen during our stay (in early June).

The food is good, we stayed on B&B terms as we enjoy flexibility. The buffet costs €22 per person per night + drinks but you can get this cheaper if you buy 3 or 5 nights in one go.
We mainly ate at the in-house Italian resaurant which can offer great steaks, pasta and fish dishes as well as decent wine @ +/- €15 a bottle, which you can enjoy from inside, poolside or a decking area with views over the clifftops and sea.

I know I'm starting to sound like a travel agent now but we really enjoyed this place so much!

GO THERE!

ps Sea is COLD

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your sincere and genuine review and special mention to the Staff. In fact you can enjoy a relaxed atmosphere all over the Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalgety fife
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked here as it looked fantastic, big mistake.
The indoor pool (Spa) is about three times smaller looking in real life, and if you are unfortunate to have bad weather the (Spa) turns into a creche for toddlers, we couldn't get near the pool for rubber rings and blow up Dolphins, while trying to chill out on the beds was a joke, it's screams all round for Parents and Kids!!
If you book as we did a sea view and like to sleep with the window open, there is a good chance you will be wakened every morning at 07 -15 with people in the pool although it states quite clearly it's not meant to be used till 08-00, when we asked about this we were told there couldn't be as the (Security) would not have allowed it!! We have the photos.
Drinks are over the top price wise but not measurewise, the cocktail we had was a dash of Spirits and I mean a dash. When we asked just for the spirit we were given a drink from another bottle! Diluted?
They say they have a putting green, check it out if you go, it's a joke.
Finally, if you do go,check out the small print in the Hotels in house paper, it's the only place I've been where,if you pay in advance for two meals 44 Euros each the 44 Euros turns into 30 Euros!!! and that's for eating outside in the cold. We paid our bill and left a tip for the service but in the middle of the night a letter was slipped under the door to inform us we still owed them money, our special night on the Terrace, turned into a Embarrasment.
I could go on but It would take far too long.
Won't be back soon.

Room Tip: we had a sea view which was noisy, and the other rooms overlook the car parks, take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benitoDalgetyFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. All pre-booked vouchers are to be used in the Buffet Main Restaurant as advised by recepcionists and stated in the information given at your chech-in where you can eat as much as you want, change to the À la Carte restaurant means another credit like for all the Half Boards. The Á la carte Restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating areas, where guests can chose according to weather conditions, no seating imposed. Please accept our appologies for any inconvenience or misunderstanding caused. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After traveling through Portugal we opted to spend the last few days of our trip in the Algarve, and we we not disappointed. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the beach and central Algarve location. The location was ideal. As the beaches are banked by large cliffs, the hotel is located atop the cliff providing an absolutely stunning view. We visited in March, and although the temperatures very hot, the beaches were gorgeous and perfect for hanging out or a walk along them. The hotel itself is located right next to the small village of Olhos de Água. It is a mere few minutes walk to some small beach shops, cafes and bars. An ideal place to pass the afternoon having a drink next to the water.

The grounds of the hotel are very nice, there is lovely pool area providing cliff views of the beach, plenty of seating and lounging area, tennis courts and a grass/play area for children.
The restaurant has a multitude of food options, and the quality is very good. The menu theme varies every night providing different options for dinner. The breakfast is also very good with lots of options. Tables are not reserved, and there is an outdoor patio area which is very nice on a sunny morning to sip your coffee of mimosa. There is also a small pool side restaurant where they serve lunch. The options are more limited, but the quality remains the same. That being said, it seemed lots of guests opted for lunch out or at one of the beach side restaurants (of which there are many).

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom and shower facilities are very good as well. The spa has some lovely treatment options, and a nice (quiet) pool and hot tub for enjoyment.

As a group of young couples, I would not say that the evening entertainment was thrilling, but we certainly managed to enjoy ourselves. The staff are very friendly, and the service standard is very high. Every single drink is served with a napkin/coaster, and a salted snack (mostly peanuts) is served as well.

We visited Vilamoura on a beautiful sunny day, and it is a lovely place to walk around, shop and grab lunch. Although we never made it to Albufeira, it is also a short drive and would be ideal for a day trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is a high rise still, not "village style" as some resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phanie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review. Happy to know that you enjoyed the Hotel and surroundings. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Lives up to all of the reviews. If you want a relaxing break, this is the place to go! The hotel was immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The spa pool was lovely for a swim in the morning before breakfast. The views from the hotel over the beach and cliffs were fantastic. I look forward to trying the Madeira hotels owned by the the Porto group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyElinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Don'y wait to long to book you next trip to Madeira Island, but don't forget the Falésia. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just come back from Porto Bay Falesia after 2 very enjoyable weeks. Unfortunately on our last day there my husband was taken very ill which meant we couldn't fly home but the staff at the hotel were second to none, they couldn't do enough for me to help me through this very worrying time allowing us to stay in the room we had had for the previous 2 weeks, which took some of the pressure off me. They certainly went beyond the call of duty especially Pierre who helped me so much. I would recommend this hotel & can't praise and thank them enough.
The hotel is pristine & kept beauifully. The choice at breakfast was excellent, but unfortunately the hot food selection wasn't always as hot as we would have liked but please do not be put off by this. I will be definately be back.

Jean, Manchester

Room Tip: We were situated on the entrance side of the hotel where we got the sun on our room in the morning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Will take measures to correct any problem with hot food.. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just spent a week at The Porto Bay Falesia with our friends and what a wonderful time we all had. All the hotel staff were pleasant and helpfull from the Reception ,Restaurant and housekeeping every one you met made you feel welcome and special.
The pool and gardens are a credit to the Hotel pristine and beautifully kept.
Breakfast choice was excellent as was the dinner buffet also first class.
The nightly entertainment just completed a perfect week of rest and relaxation at a very lovely hotel in a beautiful place.
We will be back hopefully sooner rather than later.
Mr & Mrs K. Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TKRKEDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,960 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing