We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just returned with friends from the porto bay.......We had such a lovely time,would recommend this hotel and the surrounding area.
We had bed & breakfast only.......which was very good ..........the restaurant locally we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here in early May and our choice was based on overwhelmingly positive reviews of this hotel - happy to say none were exaggerated. Staff, facilities, food selection, location, ocean view - everything was first class. Breakfast deserves a special mention. Our 4 year old son particularly enjoyed the indoor spa area and walks to the beach. The hotel overlooks probably the most beautiful beach we've seen on the whole southern coast of Portugal - and the walk downhill is not as long as it may seem at first glance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viktor_Viktoriia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. Was able to check in early, straight to our good size and clean room. Bed was really good, and room had decent selection of TV channels. The hotel's setting is lovely, with cliff top views and many different places to relax (eg. near pool, on nice lawn/garden, on cliff terraces etc). Was a 5-7 min walk to lovely beach, although the ocean water took a bit to get used to as its quite cold at this time of year. The hotel pool was slightly warmer temp, but still a bit cold. Breakfast was really good with something for everyone. Didn't try dinner as we went into the town each night to the local family run type restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danielmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

this place is well worth putting on your to do list. great hotel, staff and stunning location. ignore any previous gripes as everything here is first class. staff are always helpful throughout the hotel and the array of different foods at breakfast means no one should go hungry and it;s constantly being refreshed. don;t hesitate just book it.

Room Tip: high floor rooms offer quiet and a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and great support. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spend half my time in Albefura and the last half in Porto bay, Falesia. Beautiful hotel, with lots of cosy spots and bean bags to take in the stunning view. Staff were 5*, helpful, polite and very friendly. Love this place, going back ASAP. Private beaches, walks and treks, close enough to all the hustle and bustle but you can still have peace.... Great food, room big and fantastic memory foam bed.Ahhhhhh.....

Room Tip: Garden view is really nice to wake up to....The Spa was a disapointment, was really looking forward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzieDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Helpfull if you could comment about your Spa experience. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic relaxing holiday at Porto Bay. We were at Cliff Bay, Madeira (also of same group), two years ago, so we had high expectations and it passed with flying colours.Comfort, food, staff, cleanliness and surroundings are all excellent. The management team of the hotel must be given full credit for this. They are totally committed to providing good service from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. This is reflected at all levels throughout the hotel by friendly efficient staff. The spectacular setting is enhanced by imaginative landscaping and the sound of the waves from the beach below. We loved it and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: A sea view room is best to appreciate the setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IAB592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia, hope you don't wait two years. Warm regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

At a first glance we thought we had chosen the wrong type of hotel for us (too big and too much mass tourism) but changed our opinion immediately.

The Porto Bay Falesia is big but you don't feel it. The reception area and staff is perfect. The whole area well maintained and serviced. The rooms clean, functional und a good size. Although big, the pool and outside area very silent and tranquil. The view and the beach fantastic.

Everything we did and tried whether Gym, Poolbar, pool, breakfast etc. was of very high quality and service level. Congratulations to the staff and management because it is not easy to do so at a hotel that size.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2Horst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I will congratulate all staff, not easy without them. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 153 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 153 in Albufeira
2,070 reviews
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
8.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $74 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing