We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont hesitate - Book it !”
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham uk
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Dont hesitate - Book it !”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just back from 4 nights at the Porto Bay, what a beautifull location ! It overlooks near deserted beaches & stunning ochre cliffs. Everything in the room was really nice, from the strong shower to ultra comfortable beds. Never had such friendly maids, the room was cleaned to a high standard & soft white towells were replenished every day. We had a full seaview which was glorious. There are over 100 staps down to the deserted beach but these shouldnt be a problem for anyone with just 'reasonable' fitness. I can thoroughly recommend a walk along the beach to Vilamora for anyone with a little more ambition - its probably about 4 miles and takes about an hour to 90 minutes depending on pace. (you can get a bus back from Vilamora)
We visited towards the end of November, so its a valid point to say there is a distinct lack of local bars/restaurants that are open so i dont think this hotel would suit anyone who cant simply lay back & chill out. Having said that, the hotel had some kind of entertainment at night but i cant comment on the quality of it. The real piece de resistance of this hotel is the breakfasts! - Theres simply everything you can think of from sparkling wine & strawberries to fried eggs & pancakes, not forgetting what i found to be beautifull prunes (if you like that sort of thing).
Any negatives ? Well if i had to pick one, maybe the drinks were a little pricey especially the ones in the room minibar, but we didnt let this become a problem, we simply bought wine from the local supermarkets & used the minibar to keep it cool :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carNottinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    703
    134
    27
    9
See reviews for
440
1,501
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

First time in portugal, this hotel in amazing, i loved every bit of it, service is great, reception is very helpful, foods nice. no complaints at all, side sea view room, the view was just enough, could see the sea and all other building in portugal . only thing was its in a quiet location, so 15mins aways from shopping, nightlife, i would definately recommend this hotel.
i will be returning

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments. Hope not the last time in Algarve. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Now we know why almost all the reviews on Trip Advisor are complimentary of this hotel - we chose to stay here for a week in October, and for us it was one of the best weeks we ever had on any holiday. Such a lovely relaxing hotel.Thank you for the bottle of champagne for my birthday,thank you to the person who makes the beautiful potato,cheese and scrambled egg pie for breakfast,thank you to the person who opened the restaurant for an early breakfast so we could eat before we got an early flight home and finally thank you to Fernando Reis Filipe who manages an all round excellent hotel,well done.
At your service D & T.

Room Tip: if you want to change room the hotel will always do their best to accommadate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelMonkiesDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and to mention all members of our staff, including me. We all wait to welcome you back soon at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found it to be a well maintained and quiet place. Our room was with a garden view and all rooms seem to have a small balcony where you can sit and listen to the birds. The room had a mini bar fridge, kettle and simple tea making provisions and there was a generously appointed large bathroom with heaps of towels and nice products to use. Off street parking was not a problem when we stayed and this was free (seems to be a rare thing these days).
The access to the beach is a decent walk but manageable for those able to tackle some gentle steps. It is well worth taking the time to do a long beach walk as it is so beautiful and relatively undeveloped along this part of the coastline. The beautiful eroding sand cliffs may a great backdrop at different times of the day as the ochre colours change in the light.
Breakfast was included and was a bit of a highlight of the day with many selections including freshly made fruit smoothies, hot and cold selections and the option of champagne for those who like this early in the day. The staff are attentive and despite busy peaks the food is replenished and tables cleared quickly. The pool area is quiet without loud music blaring (like the hotel next door had) and you can eat during the day at the pool side bistro.
There is a little kiosk selling newpapers, water, icecream and beach items within the complex but otherwise the nearest stores and non-hotel cafes and restaurants are about a 15 minute walk away.
We went for a day trip to Faro and other small towns in the area and found this a good central location to navigate from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreignforays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for the nice pictures. Looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned with my husband from this hotel. The hotel is very nice and the staff are very friendly. I booked and payed for a junior suite which was lovely but the view we got was of a car park. I feel if you are paying for an upgrade to a suite you should get a better view and there is some amazing views to be had so was a bit disappointed with that. The food was ok not a great selection but always found stuff to eat. We did enjoy our few days there , would we go back probably not,a bit to quiet for us and have been to better 4star hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as the views would be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments. We understand your disapointment with the view, the better option was to book a suite seaview instead. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having stayed at the Porto Santa Maria in Madeira we were expecting good things from the Falesia and I have to say it didn't dissappoint. We stayed in the first week in October 2012 for one week with friends and had 2 side sea view rooms on the 4th floor. Arriving on an early flight we didn't expect our rooms to be ready but by late morning we were unpacking. We couldn't of asked for more really as we could see the sea and had the afternoon sun which shone for all 7 days.
Without repeating all of the previous comments we found this hotel to be excellent value for money. We dithered over taking a half board basis as we like to eat out but the food was always enjoyable and plentiful and our decision to dine in was the right one. Served every night with a different theme, we all found it excellent as was the breakfast. Queues do form in the mornings as they do at most hotels and occasionally the mushrooms or eggs were slow to be replensihed but if that is something that ruins your holiday then go self catering. We couldn't fault it in any way.
Our rooms were meticulously kept clean by the wonderful staff and that extended to the bar, reception, the restaurant and poolside. I really can't think of anything bad to say.
We hired a car from reception for 4 days using Europcar. Went to Vilamoura 3 times and the marina is worth a night time drive too.
Prices in general outside the hotel were fair unlike Greece last year and the happy hour made the hotel bar prices more reasonable. Albufeira is worth one visit at least, the kind of place you either love or maybe not but the marina there was dissappointing. Great beach though.
If one thing you need to help you decide on whether to stay at the Porto Bay Falesia is 'are there returning guest' then YES of course. We have already booked for next year. You too won't be dissappointed.

Room Tip: If you want to save a few pounds then side sea view rooms on the 4th or 5th floor are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyFeet_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Next time you need to visit Vilamoura marina. Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed from October 30th for one week having previously stayed at Porto Bay, Madeira. Reception staff friendly and helpful, others distant. Hotel clean and comfortable. Food disappointing. Breakfast especially seemed geared to the German guests. Evening meals in the Madeira retaurant, where we ate on four occasions, were lacking in taste e.g the Portuguese and International nights were indestinguishable.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool and sea would be essential high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We will wait your comments to help us to improve our breakfast choice. Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,961 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing