We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Holiday”
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Pleasant Holiday”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very impressed with the hotel overall, the rooms although fairly basic and a little small are very clean with room service nigh on being daily, it does have a fridge to store water etc and also a TV that has sky news and BBC1, we also had a decent sized balcony with sun loungers and a table and chairs too, the pool area is really nice and always spotless, as is the hotel has an whole, the food was of a good standard, breakfast was the usual sausage, eggs (boiled and scrambled), bacon and beans but this would only be luke warm alot of the time so I usually opted for toast with jam etc which was decent enough plus they had crossiants and fruit too, the lunch and dinner options were mainly the same with a different selection of meats, the food could get abit repetitve at times but the meat on the grill was lovely, there was steak, chicken and lamb kebabs, veal, spare ribs, pork, grilled chicken break etc...it was always cooked perfectly by the chef on the grill, plus they also had seafood, the grilled salmon I had was lovely, they run a shuttle bus of a night that took you into the strip or old town which was free if you was all inclusive, and a cab was was only approx 7 euros so location wise its really good, staff were all very friendly, the young girl on reception could be slightly moody at times but not in a horrible way, but I supppose people cant be happy all the time, the hotel is great value for money and if I go back to Portugal again for another relaxing week then this is the hotel I would defo book again, the only downside is there is no entertainment of a night, if that was sorted it would be a great little hotel, also the sports bar was very empty at night but that may be because we went in late September, but the pool tables kept us entertained for a while, overall great place would recommend it!

Room Tip: The rooms that are nearest to the pool area on the ground floor seemed quite good location wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    364
    125
    13
    5
See reviews for
244
383
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel and Portugal , WE were given a nice room with a great view of the pool. the pool area is lovely and clean however the pool is very cold and were unable to swim. We stayed for 3 nights all inc just returning this week. The food at hotel is very nice and had a great selection at evening meal (fresh meat bbq) Our lunch time meals where made to order due to hotel being very quite. The drinks on offer for all inc were great. the free shuttle which runs 8pm to 10pm to the strip (which is 5 euros) and the old town (8 euros) was great and the driver was very helpful. The reception staff where great aswell and helped us book a quad bike tour. Over all we would defiantly stay here again in the future. Thanks for a lovely holiday :)

Room Tip: room with pool view, we was in 3 ourselfs :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsy19811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathgate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

we spent 12 days here between september and october,on arrival we were met at receptiion, and were made welcome right away,the receptionest even took one of our bags as she showed us to our rooms no 108 and 109 located behind the pool, the hotel is very very clean ,and the staff are excellent ,very friendly helfull and fun, the drinks were included as we were all inclusive and unlike other all inclusives the beer was san miguell as apposed to local bath water ,the spirits were good but if they ran out (which they did)they just supplied the real mcoy ie baileys pernoid and smirnoff without any fuss,the meals were excellent a great choice always something differant and it was the first time ive been to an all inclusive where they cooked your meal individually for you and as i like my meat and fish well done this was brilliant for me,the pool is spatious with pleanty of lybeds and tables and chairs ,at any time the staff will help you no matter what you want ,also if youhave been all inclusive you will know that a lot of the time when you go for coffee or drinks the waiter ill say one band one drink well the barstaff very quickly relise how many are in your party and will serve you multiple drinks no problem and as my party love there coffeee that was great we didnt have to all go to the bar each time we felt like a coffee, the quality and quantity of the food was excellent ,the waiters put out just enough of the veg potatoes pasta etc then kept topping up so it was always hot and fresh, there are afew small supermarkets around the hotell and a shopping area about 10 mins walk , albufera is a 6 euro taxi ride away ,and the desugner shopping center is a 12 euro taxi fare away, it was quite amazing how clean the whole area around the hotell was ,and the staf seem to be always doing something, there is no doubt some people might find a flaw with this hotell but for myself with some 35 years of holidaying abroad this is one off the best if not the best

Room Tip: rooms 108 and 109 gett the strong morning sun and cool shade from about 3pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilfordW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I arrived back on 5th october having spent 10 nights at the Balaia Mar. We wanted a bit of sun after the terrible summer we had, so this was a last minute holiday. Our room was in the hotel and overlooking the pool. It was a good size room with a king size bed, actually two singles pushed together with a mattress topper. It also had a fridge and kettle with two cups and saucers for tea.The tv had bbc1 and channel 5 in English. The balcony had table and two chairs and two sunloungers on it. It was massive and got afternoon sun. The patio door had shutters which you could close when leaving. The bathroom was a good size too with a shower over the bath, a hairdrier and shaver point. The room was cleaned every day and towels changed when needed. One point to note is that the hotel does not supply pool towels you have to bring your own, although you can buy them everywhere from about 7euros. Also the reception do not change traveller cheques and when booking a trip i had to pay in cash. I mention these because the banks are in Albufeira and close about 3:30 and the nearest cashpoint i could find was about 15 or 20 minutes walk away in santa Eulalia. There is no entertainment in the hotel but taxis are about 7 euros to the old town and as has been said there is a free shuttle bus to take you there BUT ONLY IF YOU ARE ALL INCLUSIVE. The meals are adequate and well cooked although repetitive and not very exciting. Same frankfurters at breakfast, same cereal, same desserts, only creamed spinach for veg every day.If you are picky or choosey you will go hungry. The best bit of the hotel is its location on Maria Luisa beach, an unspoilt beautiful stretch of clean sand. The waves can be quite strong but lifeguards are on hand

Room Tip: rooms in the hotel overlooking the pool for afternoon sun and large balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Balaia apartments for 5 days and we really enjoyed our stay. We had half bred, maybe the breakfast wasn't variable enough, but the dinners were always great. Every evening different kind of fish and meat. The beach is also very near to the apartments and its really nice. If we will have opportunity, we will definitely go there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gedas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My friend & I have had a brilliant time staying in Balaia Mar Hotel, the staff were always very helpful, friendly & happy. Very clean hotel & food very good,although could have been a bit hotter but asn't a problem & still enjoyed everything will certainly recommend. I came there to fulfil a dream of swimming with the dolphins & your hotel & staff helped to make this a perfect holiday Thankyou.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony, we were initially given a double room when down for twin gut this was sorted w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived at 11am and was told that our room was ready but could'nt use the A/I until after 3pm, we had been up from 3am and was dissapointed that we had to pay for food in the hotel as they know what time you are expected, So we ate at the bar on the beach that day good value for money and lovely meal,Excellent hotel for middle age couples who are looking for a quite location, The staff where excellent as was the food, There was always something different each night plenty of different meat you could have steaks almost every night if you wanted, About 10 mins walk down steep hill to a beautfull beach, Bus stop right outside the apartments but taxi just as cheap if there are 4 of you about 6 euros to the strip.

Room Tip: No air con in the apartments even though the webb site said there is but could cope in september, wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabhand-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing