We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed and breakfast with style.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Bed and breakfast with style.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Although you can stay here all inclusive we opted for the bed and breakfast package and were delighted with the result. This small and extremely friendly hotel is hidden from view of the adjoining main route into Albufeira by the apartment blocks that form an intergal part of this complex.However the hotel provides an ideal base for those wishing easy access to the lovely near-by beaches whilst also giving you some peace and quite if you wish it. The whole place is kept very clean and the staff helpful and welcoming. It has a homely feel about it and although the rooms are not overly spacious they are well tended and our particular room came with balcony which gave us access to the sun from early morning to sunset.

The breakfasts were again excellent and exceeded our expectations. Continential or cooked breakfast can be feasted upon if you desire it. Plenty of fresh fruit and juices to be had, sadly the only fault one could find was the morning coffee. Maybe it was an accquired taste but one I had no wish in accquiring! However the nearby supermakets can help the coffee addicts with a wide selection of instant (good quality) coffees with which to brew your own.

The reception staff are to be commended, without exception they were on the ball and always willing and pleased to ensure your stay was both enjoyable and trouble free. For a nominal fee they would call the taxi's to take you wereever you wished. The taxi's were both reliable and relatively cheap (although this is not a cheap country to holiday.) The staff also can help you get the the best rental deals and speaking excellent English are pleased to do the bookings as well. All in all a recommended place to stay if you are looking to chill-out but still want easy access to some night-life and excitment.

Finally the pool, it was great for swimmers. Cleaned everyday morning whilst we enjoyed an early breakfast on the surrounding terraces, it was a real delight to swim in.Plenty of room for the keen swimmer and for those that just wanted to cool of. A childrens pool is also provided but no lifeguards are on duty.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet rooms, they come with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    353
    124
    11
    4
See reviews for
238
364
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

stayed at this hotel 3/09/2011 first impression - staff were very welcoming and helpfull, showed us to our room which had a large balcony over looking the pool area which was exactly what we asked for. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived straight away, We reported a fault with the electric socket and a electrician was sent straight away and fixed it. The food and snacks could not be faulted, even the fizzy drinks were branded. It was only a 20 minute walk to the strip. The rooms were cleaned every day (very good job they did to).You might say the only downfall was the lack of entertainment at night.

Room Tip: ask for rooms 31-36 pool facing sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alan77109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We went to this hotel all inclusive from 31/08/2011 - 07/09/2011 and it was brilliant... yes the rooms are basic but everyday we had clean sheets and towels. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The food although wasn't hottest cant complain! there was something different every night... lots of grilled meats and plenty of variety for fussy eaters like myself and deserts were lovely! The pool is a nice size, although a little cold! always clean and tidy though. The reception staff are very helpful and helped us book many excursions and taxis! ... The location of the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the strip...not our cuppa tea! although Albufeira old town is only a 5 minute taxi journey costing around 6 - 7 euros..drivers not for the faint hearted!!
The only thing the hotel is missing is a bit of entertainment in the evenings, other than that brilliant would go back tomorrow :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is in quite location, room was clean and cleaned every day. Helpful staff and very good food :o) Hotel has own supermarket and beautiful Maria Luisa beach beach is about five minutes walk downhill. Hotel is 15 minutes walk from Olhos d'Agua, but is little bit far from Albufeira downtown (about 60 minutes walk = 6 km). If you wish to go to the Albufeira, you can use local bus, which leaves every 40-60 minutes (daytime service only). Bus stop is just oposite the hotel. The second option is use your rented car as we did. There is lot of free parking spaces near Albufeira. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool may be a quite naisy during the day and evening, we stayed at the room no. 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was our first time in Portugal so wasn't sure what to expect but had a fabulous week. On arrival at reception we were made very welcome by reception staff and was checked in promptly. The room we were initially given looked out to the poolside and as we had arived in the afternoon it was quite noisy, not good if you would like a nap in the afternoon. We asked to be moved to another room and staff were very obliging no questionas asked. We were even asked to have a look at the next room first before excepting it. This room was ideal and included air con, fridge, tv, shower and bath and a lovely balcony. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and extra towels were always left as the need to shower frequently was a must due to the hot weather.

Food at Balaia Mar was great. As our board was all inclusive we were a bit concerned about the quality of food as with a lot of these inclusive deals, they're not always what they make out to be. Balaia Mar proved to be way above my expectations, food was freshly prepared and the quality of meat, fish, fruit n veg were excellant more prone to probabaly what you would expect from a 4 or 5 star hotel without the finicky drizzle on food and pointless garnish you can't eat on the plate. Food was also availble outside of meal times at the bar area, from a cheesebureger to a club sandwich or simply a salad. The quality of food at the bar was also very good and well presented.

A wide selection of drinks are available at the bar from the local stuff to international brands. Be sure to ask for a specific brand of drink as the local stuff would always be offered first. The measures were also very generous, for example asking for a whiskey you would get 3 UK doubles or more in a glass on avaerage. So if you don't drink very much, shout 'That's enough' or you'll be on your back very quickly.

All the staff at Balaia Mar were either Portuguese or Brazillian and you just couldn't fault therm for consistency and service. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly and would converse with you if you make the effort, even though many of them knew very little english if any at all. We were even taught a few words and phrases in Potuguese by staff who were also keen to learn a few words of english in exchange.

The beach is no more than 10 mins walk from the hotel and a fabulous beach it is indeed. In fact we went to 2 other beaches in near by Albufeira and Vilamoura and this is definitely the best.

The clientele of the hotel was about 98% Portuguese which probably explains why the quality of food, drink and service were excellant. The only thing I would say is that the evenings are very quiet as there is no night entertainment whatsoever at the hotel and I mean nothing at all. It's dead!! However this is great for meeting new people and socialising rather than sittiing and waiting to be entertained by a tribute band or flakey magician who gets it wrong or something like that. There is a sports bar with pool tables and wide screen tvs showing football the majority of the time. Not much else in the sports bar apart from the grumpy barman who if smiled, his face would fracture :-) However if you are looking for some nightlife it's worth knowing that the notorious Albfeira Strip (bars, clubs etc is a 3-4 minute taxi ride so you can boogie the night away and come back to some peace and quiet and a good nights sleep at the hotel.

Overall thumbs up to Balaia Mar, it's a great hotel with excellent facilities even though there's no entertainment at night. I'm a late nighter but did I prefer it being quiet afetr a couple of days as it was easy enough making a few friends and having a laugh. I'd definitely recommend Balaia Mar as a place to stay. Ah yes, I'd also go all inclusive as its well worth it and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martin501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Clean hotel, lovely pool, and the staff were more than helpful.
No AC so was a bit uncomfortable at night, but the staff gave us some fans for the bedrooms.
The rooms on the ground floor of Block A which were near the main road were noisy, but we were moved to a nice quieter room.

Room Tip: Ask for fans, and anti-mosquito plug-ins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just returned from a 4 night break . As a travel agent I am very well travelled. I found this hotel to be very clean. Staff in general were very nice . Location was a little out of the way if you want nightlife but taxis are cheap so no problem. Food well presented always something to eat but not loads of choice. We stayed all inclusive and found this to be good value as some premium spirits were included. There was no evening entertainment which wasn't a problem to our group but maybe to some. Overall I would return to this hotel really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlmglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Property: Balaia Mar Hotel
Address: Beco Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing