We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was there recently with my wife and 2 sons. Great food, free drinks (even after 23-00), nice swimming pool and fantastic, pretty clean beach. We have taken also one day tour to Seville. One problem is Internet: not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begench1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    130
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
136
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with partner and young son.

I am very picky about cleanliness but this hotel was spotless!!! Very modern and ideal for what we wanted.

Little boy loved the pool with little slide and the play area.

It was quiet and the beach unspoilt.

Best place to eat was the pizza place and Chinese in the square and by far the best service.

Absolutely brilliant holiday would love to go back only thing that would make it much better would be hiring a car!!!!

Also recommend yellow fish!!!! Airport transfer was spot on and a complimentary bottle of wine perfect for the first night when all the shops were shut!!!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourguidejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and daughter in May 2013. The apartments were very spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Lovely area, found some nice walks. Some shops, restaurant and bars nearby. First time in the Algarve but would go back and to these apartments/

Room Tip: Our apartment overlooked the pool and was a corner apartment - bigger balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a week or so in September which is a great time to go as weather is still fantastic and slightly cheaper.

Entire place is clean and the staff were very friendly/ helpful. Apartments are a good size, comfortable and stocked with all the necessary things for self catering. Room fully air conditioned and nice balcony overlooking the pool. Pool itself is a reasonable size with plenty of seating and a jacuzzi.

The location is also good. Is is a fairly quiet area and very close to the beach probably 5 minute walk or so. However it is not really near Albuferia so you will need to get taxis or the transport service that they offer. No free Wifi which, although not uncommon, is slightly annoying.

All in all great trip and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris26H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed in Stella Maris for 10 days in Oct. in an owners apartment.There are a number of the apt for rent by owners. The hotel's restaurant and bar are closed but pool and some apts are still for rent. The apts have a clean modern feel to them and are very spacious. The pool area has sun on it all day long. We couldn't believe how good the weather was for late Oct -early Nov. We spent lots of time on the fab beach 5 mins walk away.Looking forward to returning in Spring 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yes the stella maris has closed down. I booked to stay there from the 29 september to 6 october, i had a phone call on the 28 september from the hotel saying the hotel was closeing on 1 october. They offered me alternative accomadation but after some heated talks between them and epedia, whom i booked with and did not even let me know the hotel was closeing, i cancelled and managed to get a room in the falesia hotel which is nearby. On the 1 october my wife and i went for a walk to falesia beach and decieded to see if the stella maris was closed, and yes it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsward, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In september 2013 we stayed in the Stella Maris for 12 days. It is a large hotel with 150 rooms, about 15 minutes walking from the beach. We asked for a quiet room and though there seemed to be some troubles, it could be arranged. Perfect!
The staff was very helpfully with maps and other information of the environment.
The apartment was spacious, with all the necessities you need. Everyday it was well cleaned.
Breakfast is served in the same place as dinner and there was always room enough in the morning.
By the way: Praia da Falesia is just a small village with only a few activities. The beach is the most important issue. There is a possibility to rent a car is you would like to see more.
Because our flight was early in the morning, the hotel offered a packet breakfast.
Stella Maris is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roosje1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#124 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Beach & Sport Resort
Alfamar Beach & Sport Resort
#134 of 161 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#2 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Property: Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing