We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exactly as hoped” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #85 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exactly as hoped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a week or so in September which is a great time to go as weather is still fantastic and slightly cheaper.

Entire place is clean and the staff were very friendly/ helpful. Apartments are a good size, comfortable and stocked with all the necessary things for self catering. Room fully air conditioned and nice balcony overlooking the pool. Pool itself is a reasonable size with plenty of seating and a jacuzzi.

The location is also good. Is is a fairly quiet area and very close to the beach probably 5 minute walk or so. However it is not really near Albuferia so you will need to get taxis or the transport service that they offer. No free Wifi which, although not uncommon, is slightly annoying.

All in all great trip and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris26H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
136
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed in Stella Maris for 10 days in Oct. in an owners apartment.There are a number of the apt for rent by owners. The hotel's restaurant and bar are closed but pool and some apts are still for rent. The apts have a clean modern feel to them and are very spacious. The pool area has sun on it all day long. We couldn't believe how good the weather was for late Oct -early Nov. We spent lots of time on the fab beach 5 mins walk away.Looking forward to returning in Spring 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yes the stella maris has closed down. I booked to stay there from the 29 september to 6 october, i had a phone call on the 28 september from the hotel saying the hotel was closeing on 1 october. They offered me alternative accomadation but after some heated talks between them and epedia, whom i booked with and did not even let me know the hotel was closeing, i cancelled and managed to get a room in the falesia hotel which is nearby. On the 1 october my wife and i went for a walk to falesia beach and decieded to see if the stella maris was closed, and yes it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsward, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

In september 2013 we stayed in the Stella Maris for 12 days. It is a large hotel with 150 rooms, about 15 minutes walking from the beach. We asked for a quiet room and though there seemed to be some troubles, it could be arranged. Perfect!
The staff was very helpfully with maps and other information of the environment.
The apartment was spacious, with all the necessities you need. Everyday it was well cleaned.
Breakfast is served in the same place as dinner and there was always room enough in the morning.
By the way: Praia da Falesia is just a small village with only a few activities. The beach is the most important issue. There is a possibility to rent a car is you would like to see more.
Because our flight was early in the morning, the hotel offered a packet breakfast.
Stella Maris is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roosje1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

These apartments hotel are absolutely brilliant. Very clean, the ladies would come every day to make the beds clean bathroom, very modern kitchen and utensils. Great balcony and three pools all very clean.
Lovely bar and onderful staff.
The beach is fab and just 3 min walk. The area has a few bars and restaurants, might be a bit quite for young people but absolutely perfect for families with small children, there is a running track, tennis courts and cross country track all around it. 5 star to this fab aparthotel

Room Tip: Good for families, rent a car, very easy driving around no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 435Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a different kind of place to where I normally stay, but this was a different holiday for me. I traveled with my niece for a 5 day break rather than my husband. I booked this a week before we traveled 20-25th Sept and I just wanted a chill time and Id set my self a budget and this was the most positively reviewed within that budget.

I booked half board and if youve read the other reviews you will see that the evening meal isnt great, we ate out 2 of the 5 nights and Ive got to say the fact that the hotel will let you change your plan for lunch is a good option as the food in the snack bar at lunch is better, by that I mean hotter and fresher. Please dont let this put you off - just take on board self catering may be better value. The room, although a studio was spacious and clean - perhaps a little tired, perhaps we were given a lesser room as we were only there for 5 days and were 2 females together?, not the best view and rather close to reception . At the time of our visit there were a lot of families with small children who, due to all the floors being tiled made it a little noisy. The tiled corridor, with bumpy tiles reverberated the noise of cases being towed along.

The resort is quiet with lovely beach and being in between Vilamoura and Albufeira gives you the options of going to either although the cost of taxis can rack up.

The staff are nice, friendly and helpful. Overall I think its good for a budget holiday and in a nice quieter area, yes a car would be a good tip. Would I stay again? yes I would in the same circumstances but I fear it may be a little crowded in the height of summer.

Room Tip: The standard of the fittings in the rooms are average but the room and balconies are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelsfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just arrived back after a 6 night break. We wanted a quiet, peaceful getaway & got exactly that. We had a studio apartment & it was huge. Our balcony overlooked the childrens pool & got the early morning sun. Everyone was polite, helpful & friendly. The apartment was cleaned daily and towels changed regularly. The pool was peaceful & no trouble getting a sunbed - although, admittedly, it is late in the season. Towels for the pool were 10 euro each that was returned at the end of our stay. Safe was 2.50 Euro a night. Local supermarket was reasonably priced as were the restaurants. The café opposite the supermarket has lovely pastries & iced coffee. We walked along the beach to Vilamoura & it took us about 50 minutes......and rather longer back!!
Overall we had a fantastic break in a beautiful area in a lovely hotel. Would most definitely recommend it & stay there again. Didn't use the restaurant in the hotel so cant comment on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#117 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Property: Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing