We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, very quiet relaxed location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, very quiet relaxed location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I returned yesterday from a 4 day stay at Stella Maris with my boyfriend. We really needed a few very peaceful days away which is what we got! The hotel Is immaculate!! So clean and modern, kept to a high standard. Rooms were very large too with great facilities. All staff were more than accommodating and genuinely helpful. We stayed half board, breakfast was fine, but we felt the only let down for us was the dinners...choice is limited to say the least....with only one meat dish and one fish dish each night with a few chips and some pasta. After a couple of nights we gave up and on the last night went to the local Chinese restaurant which I must say was very good!
The beach is a 10minute walk from the hotel and beautiful! But there's not a lot else near at all other than a couple if restaurants and a supermarket. You can however get a taxi into villamoura marina for 15euros, worth the trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
136
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was huge compared to what we've stayed in in other hotels. The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels left. The staff are friendly and willing to help. The pool was clean and well kept. There's a seperate large childrens pool but it's located on the other side of hotel away from main pool.

There's a supermarket within a 5 min walk and it's reasonably priced but there's only about 5 restaurants and bar 1 of them the food is shockingly bad and overpriced.

I would def recommend hiring a car as you are well away from the main towns and taxis are pricey enough

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, we went self catering which I would recommend as you can buy from local supermarket and save a bundle. The room was clean and cleaning every single day. We had no complaints whatsoever. Good 4 star property you won't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelectSecurityltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotel, quiet location, perfect for families with children, clean rooms which were made up every day, complimentary toiletries in the bathroom, very good selection of towels, you can also get beach towels from reception and they change them for clean ones when you want. Nice bed, nice aircon room, no Mosquitoes at all. Great beach, like all the other reviews have said this place is a tad quiet, but this was just perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at this hotel over the past few years. We went with our two children aged 9yrs & 20months. Its a lovely family friendly hotel just a couple of minutes walk from a handful of local restaurants all based around a pretty square. The beach however is about ten minutes walk up a steep hill & then down about 100 steps so not ideal for people with walking problems or pushchairs! The hotel has a nice pool area, a small park and a splash pool for little ones. There isn't a kids club there. The rooms are a good size with separate kitchen and a large balcony. The hotel was always clean throughout. Falesia is a very quiet square of restaurants and a couple of bars. There are some little gift shops and a large supermarket. It costs around 15 euros in a taxi to albuferia old town which is a much livelier place! I would recommend the Stella Maris apartments in Praia de Falesia to people looking for a relaxed break in nice surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigercub21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

After spending ages deciding which hotel to choose, we decided on this one after reading so much about this place (all +). We took our 2 boys, this hotel is run like a Hilton hotel, very professional, clean rooms which were made up every day, complimentary toiletries in the bathroom, very good selection of towels, you can also get beach towels from reception free of charge, and they change them for clean ones when you want for free.
Nice bed, nice aircon room, no Mosquitoes at all.
Nice selection of places to eat nearby also.
Great beach, like all the other reviews have said this place is a tad quiet, but this was just perfect for us. We loved this hotel and will be back next year.
We used Yellow Fish transfers from the airport, they I must say were outstanding, very professional outfit, texting you reminders all the time, nice drivers, cannot recommend enough.

Paul
Select Security Systems
www.select-security.net

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchaikovsky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from the Stella Maris with my wife and 2 boys aged 8 and 11. I will try and be as detailed as possible. Firstly we booked everything separately, so flights with Ryanair, no problem, transfers through Yellowfish Transfers, brilliant, waiting for you at the airport, nice air conditioned, wifi enabled, comfortable taxi. Transfer took about 30 minutes.£50 return Highly recommend this company.
On arrival check in was very quick and professional. We were in room 219, so second floor in the lift. The room was a Studio Plus, one of the biggest we had stayed in. Not your typical hotel room at all. Huge double bed ( well two big singles together) in a separate part of the apartment but not private. Could have done with some more pillows, but pretty comfortable. In the lounge area was a dining table and four chairs, two comfortable chairs and a sofa bed. The sofa bed folds out to a small double for the children, not very comfortable but the kids didn't mind. There was another fold out bed but we did not use it. The separate kitchen was all you could want, fridge freezer full cooker and all the utensils you could possibly need. The bathroom was very nice with a shower over the bath, very powerful but the hot water would only last two showers, so we had to rush to get everybody washed before the water turned cold. Although there is a hair dryer, I recommend that you take your own as the dryer in the bathroom is just a hose attached to a box on the wall. Looks like a vacuum cleaner hose which gets very hot to hold after a few minutes. The balcony was very big with patio table and chairs, ours overlooked the next door apartments pool and our children's playground, very nice view and private.
Hotel facilities....the main pool was very nice, a bit cold but very refreshing in the heat. Plenty of sunbeds with no rush to get your towels down, but if your later than about 10:30, you probably won't get one. No towels on beds policy is run by the hotel, and to be fair nobody tries it either, we used to sit outside for breakfast by the pool and keep an eye on our beds, then go over after breakfast. To make sure we had them. The toddlers splash pool is very nice, but situated at the back of the hotel, nobody really uses it though. But is great if you have little ones. There is also a hot jacuzzi by the main pool.
The pool snack bar is ok, a bit expensive, 3euros for a beer in a plastic cup if your taking it to the pool area, 2.50euros for a coke and 2.50 euros for a magnum ice cream. Tip Stock up your freezer with Lollys from the supermarket, they are much cheaper, so is the coke and beer. Warm snacks re also served which very pretty good.
Breakfast is also served from the same place, very nice with loads of choice, cooked breakfast, cold meats and cheese, breads, cereals and fruit. All in all very good. They also serve evening meals, buffet style but we did not eat here so cannot comment, all I can say is it seems expensive at 18euros per person per night, 50% off for kids though.
The hotel has a games room/area with a pool table (1euro), a play station 4 euros for 15 minutes and a tv. Wifi is available free in the reception but stretches to the pool and if your lucky, you will get it in your room.
As shown in the pictures of the hotel, there is a football pitch and athletics track next to the pool. Do not book your holiday for this reason, it looks nothing like the photos, the grass is brown overgrown and sharp, the track is ok but the athletics facilities are not in working order. I asked at reception if the boys could get past the barbed wire fence to have a kick about, but the hotel wanted 3.50euros per person to use the facility. Didn't bother.
All in all this is a very good, extremely clean hotel, however it could do with some form of evening entertainment, the bar area is dyer as everyone goes out in the evening.
Outside of the hotel perhaps 3 minutes walk away, you will find a square of a couple of shops, a supermarket(very good) and a selection of restaurants, one Chinese (very good), one pizzeria (very good), then 3 other Portuguese places, we had good meals at all of these. The square is quite cute, be sure to go on a Saturday night, when one of the places do a BBQ with live music, great atmosphere.
The beach, which is one of the best we have seen, is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, it is huge with plenty of room and sunbeds/shades to hire if you wish. There is a life guarded area but to be onesy although the beach and sea are beautiful, the sea is not suitable for small children as it goes deep very quickly with a strong outgoing current and very big waves crashing close to the shore. Lots of fun for older kids and adults alike though. Although no cafe on the beach, there are people walking the beach all day selling coke, water and the best donuts ever.

All in all a very nice family resort, to chill out and hav a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RASHFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#123 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#133 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Property: Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing