We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with all aspects of this holiday it went so well and at little cost
Firstly we had a jet 2 flight from Leeds our local airport the flight is only 2 hrs 30 minutes so very short travel time.
We booked a transfer on line as my husband will not stand one of the shuttles where you wait for lots of flights to come in and then they drop you all over the island. We used a private company nicely named yelloww fishtaxis com , they were only 30 Euro each way , and gave a free bottle of wine , they just met us in the Airport with our name on a yellow plaque , dead easy to find and recommended.
The hotel was very well priced so we expected budget standard , but no it was well located near the most gorgeous beach ever called Falasia , if you like beach walking this is your resort .. There are conveniences close by , supermarket , bars etc although not a huge amount. But enough. The main Town Albufeira is 10 minutes away by taxi we went once but mainly stayed local as it was so nice .
The rooms are large , ok the beds bit hard but do you ever like your hotel bed really?
The balcony we had was big and got the sun .
We found a lovely cake , scone coffee shop up a little dirt track , called Quinta do Mel , you must try it lovely country location.
If you want a relaxing holiday then this could be your resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
136
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

just got back from staying in albufeira today and have to say what a great hotel to stay in....
lovely location 5 minutes from the beach.. nice and clean and appartments are really big and comfortable... staff were brilliant big shout out to daniel who worked in the bar..
food was great service was great and the overall experience was great...
the main town and strip aint much cop so it was nice staying in the place we were, had everything we needed... looking forward to going back next year for a well relaxed break...

Room Tip: we stayed on top floor round the back.... all you could hear was tree's swaying.... bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phild38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Honestly this review is a bit belated, but it is better late than never. My family had stayed at Stella Maris for one week in May 2011 during our trip to Portugal. It is only 10-15 minutes walk from the beautiful Praya de Falesia. We were staying in 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very nice. The area around the hotel and the hotel itself were extremely quiet. The staff at the reception was quite friendly.
Because we had a car, so we didn't have any problems getting around. There are few very nice restaurants in the walking distance from the hotel as well as a grocery shop.

One inconvenience I found was that the laundry was only available as laundry service, which is quite expensive, and a longer stay would have been problematic from this point of view. The wireless internet connection was a bit spotty, but in general it worked. We actually haven't used the pool once (who needs a pool when there is such a beautiful beach nearby).

The bottom line - Stella Maris is the great place to stay and if we are in the area again, they will most likely be our first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yellowprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in. Very peaceful, quiet, decent facilities. Breakfast is limited but does the job. The rooms are bigger than I expected, especially the kitchen. Terraces are lovely. Staff friendly and helpful. Pool is good and gym is well equipped (it's next to the tennis courts). The internet wasn't working the entire time I was there which was frustrating and I found the beds and pillows lacking in comfort. Hire a car or a bicycle to get around. Those looking for a bar/night life will want to venture elsewhere.

The beach is about a 15 minute walk away and is stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in an area quite away from the 'strip'. It's a good 10-15 minute taxi trip to that area so it's probably not the best place if you are looking for nightlife.

Having been in October, we found it quite empty with one poor, over-stretched waiter doing everything from serving your evening drink in the somewhat, cafetaria-esque bar to serving your breakfast the next morning.

If you are looking for a quieter vacation then there are a few restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance.

Our only gripe, but not one which warranted a complaint, was that we were given a room at the back of the hotel which didn't catch much sun. As a result the atmosphere felt a little damp - so a suggestion for the hotel is that when they are underbooked in the colder months that they ensure people are given rooms facing the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We will take in mind all aspects wich were cited in your review , in order to improve our service in the future.

We thank you for your helpful opinion and we hope to welcome you again at Stella Maris.

Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean, new and well looked after hotel. The children's wade pool was particularly loved by my youngest and it is also located in a quiter part of the property, away from the grown up section which was nice.

The rooms were very well kept.

On the not so nice side...
The desktop computers in the foyer and the web browsers were very old and slow
The pools were cold
Because of the tile flooring the rooms were quite noisy because you have some guests constantly dragging furniture at all hours of the day. And there was some loud music noise from somewhere around the hotel almost every night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank feedbacktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 lovely days in October, and these were blessed with sunshine and pleasantly warm temperatures.
The studio apartment was clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen fully equipped with a cooking surface, a kettle, a toaster and an oven. The hair-dryer was not a particularly powerful one, and more time than usual is needed. I even had to wait until the dryer cools down before I could finish drying my hair. It looked like the kind provided in the swimming pools.
With your breakfast you could go about it several ways: either cook it yourself or if you didn't feel like cooking, you could go and have breakfast either in the village nearby (plenty of places to choose from) or in the hotel.
You need a car, though, if you want to go somewhere for a more sophisticated dinner, as well as for your shopping. The shop in the village is somewhat overpriced and there is no ATM at all.

The nearby beach is very picturesque, with beautiful sandy cliffs and pine trees. The whole coastline offers nice stretches of beach for every taste. You can even try out a different one every time. All you need is a map and a car. Alternatively, if you don't feel like getting sand into your slippers then stay at the hotel's poolside and try out its bubble bath.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would deffo come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_Tottington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Stella Maris.
Your opinion is an important asset for us and we appreciate your kind review.
We look forward to welcome you again at Stella Maris.


Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#121 of 154 in Albufeira
5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.9 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#127 of 154 in Albufeira
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Property: Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing