We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel with large rooms for cheap, out of season board” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with large rooms for cheap, out of season board”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in an area quite away from the 'strip'. It's a good 10-15 minute taxi trip to that area so it's probably not the best place if you are looking for nightlife.

Having been in October, we found it quite empty with one poor, over-stretched waiter doing everything from serving your evening drink in the somewhat, cafetaria-esque bar to serving your breakfast the next morning.

If you are looking for a quieter vacation then there are a few restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance.

Our only gripe, but not one which warranted a complaint, was that we were given a room at the back of the hotel which didn't catch much sun. As a result the atmosphere felt a little damp - so a suggestion for the hotel is that when they are underbooked in the colder months that they ensure people are given rooms facing the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We will take in mind all aspects wich were cited in your review , in order to improve our service in the future.

We thank you for your helpful opinion and we hope to welcome you again at Stella Maris.

Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
136
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean, new and well looked after hotel. The children's wade pool was particularly loved by my youngest and it is also located in a quiter part of the property, away from the grown up section which was nice.

The rooms were very well kept.

On the not so nice side...
The desktop computers in the foyer and the web browsers were very old and slow
The pools were cold
Because of the tile flooring the rooms were quite noisy because you have some guests constantly dragging furniture at all hours of the day. And there was some loud music noise from somewhere around the hotel almost every night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank feedbacktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 lovely days in October, and these were blessed with sunshine and pleasantly warm temperatures.
The studio apartment was clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen fully equipped with a cooking surface, a kettle, a toaster and an oven. The hair-dryer was not a particularly powerful one, and more time than usual is needed. I even had to wait until the dryer cools down before I could finish drying my hair. It looked like the kind provided in the swimming pools.
With your breakfast you could go about it several ways: either cook it yourself or if you didn't feel like cooking, you could go and have breakfast either in the village nearby (plenty of places to choose from) or in the hotel.
You need a car, though, if you want to go somewhere for a more sophisticated dinner, as well as for your shopping. The shop in the village is somewhat overpriced and there is no ATM at all.

The nearby beach is very picturesque, with beautiful sandy cliffs and pine trees. The whole coastline offers nice stretches of beach for every taste. You can even try out a different one every time. All you need is a map and a car. Alternatively, if you don't feel like getting sand into your slippers then stay at the hotel's poolside and try out its bubble bath.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would deffo come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_Tottington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Stella Maris.
Your opinion is an important asset for us and we appreciate your kind review.
We look forward to welcome you again at Stella Maris.


Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just came back from the Stella Maris Hotel. The studio apartment was absolutely clean! Modern and nicely decorated. Kitchen fully equipped as well. The location is really nice if you have a car. it's around 10-15 min drive to Albufeira old town and 5 min drive to Roja Pe to do some food shopping, and 5 min walk to local food store. It's around 5 min walk to the beach. To compare with other villages located at the seaside this hotel has the best one! Very clean sandy beach, not to busy with beautiful red cliffs. The view is really amazing, especially at the sunset. The hotel itself is very modern and overlooking the tress from one side and pool from another. I would recommend the one overlooking the trees. The very last thing I would like to admit that all staff working there were extremely polite, nice and helpful. I can definitely recommend this hotel and will come back there next year!

Room Tip: higher floor are quieter and room overlooking the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went on our honeymoon last October treated like like kings and queens for the full two weeks nothing was a chore for the hotel staff . Bars and restaurants vert good food and good value for money.walking distance to a fabulous beach that we can only dream of in Ireland.hotel very clean excellent views from the balcony of the apartment clean apartment pool area spotless communication with the hotel for airport transfers day trips taxis etc was no problem at all everything was precise and you could depend on all the staff for any request made.thanks guy after an excellent wedding day Stella Maris apartments finished off our special day like the cherry on a cake already planning a return trip next year

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keirantay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are very pleased about your review. Its a pleasure to know that you had a great stay at Stella Maris on such an important moment as your honeymoon.

Thank you for your gentle review, we look forward to welcome you again.

Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice calm apartment hotel, great for families with kids. 2 great swimming pools, one just for children. Great breakfast service, and very clean big apartments. Close to one of the nicest beaches in the Algarve

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scooterpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at Stella Maris for 18 nights, September to October. Found this hotel because other places I have stayed in were fully booked. I was not disappointed as this is a modern and very clean hotel. The staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. The resturaunt is excellent, although not very big. It is in a quiet location, and I would recommend hiring a car, but there a a few resturaunts and bars a couple of minutes walk away. Ten minutes walk to Falasia beach, although there are steep wooden steps to negotiate which can be a problem for the elderly or infirm. The hotel is popular with sports people, and bicycles can be hired from reception. There is a running track at the hotel, and a 'roped off' trail in a forested area next to the hotel. Only downside I found was the noise from adjoining rooms. The rooms and hotel corridors are all tiled, and you can hear other guests quite clearly. The noise can be disturbing late at night or early morning. Rooms themselves are quite spacious, with a good sized balcony, but with a few little snags. There was no full-length mirror, which ladies may find annoying when dressing for going out. Only one electric point at 'work surface' level in kitchenette, which kettle, toaster etc have to fight over. Tv's are old Grundig analogues, but receive BBC 1! Had to ask for extra coat hangers at reception as only a couple in wardrobes. Two wardrobe drawers faulty and a bulb not working in bedside lamp etc. All not very important, but could so easily be 'sorted' before checking guests in. All in all, a nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor will have no noise from guests above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#117 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#134 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.6 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#54 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Property: Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing