We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at Stella Maris for 18 nights, September to October. Found this hotel because other places I have stayed in were fully booked. I was not disappointed as this is a modern and very clean hotel. The staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. The resturaunt is excellent, although not very big. It is in a quiet location, and I would recommend hiring a car, but there a a few resturaunts and bars a couple of minutes walk away. Ten minutes walk to Falasia beach, although there are steep wooden steps to negotiate which can be a problem for the elderly or infirm. The hotel is popular with sports people, and bicycles can be hired from reception. There is a running track at the hotel, and a 'roped off' trail in a forested area next to the hotel. Only downside I found was the noise from adjoining rooms. The rooms and hotel corridors are all tiled, and you can hear other guests quite clearly. The noise can be disturbing late at night or early morning. Rooms themselves are quite spacious, with a good sized balcony, but with a few little snags. There was no full-length mirror, which ladies may find annoying when dressing for going out. Only one electric point at 'work surface' level in kitchenette, which kettle, toaster etc have to fight over. Tv's are old Grundig analogues, but receive BBC 1! Had to ask for extra coat hangers at reception as only a couple in wardrobes. Two wardrobe drawers faulty and a bulb not working in bedside lamp etc. All not very important, but could so easily be 'sorted' before checking guests in. All in all, a nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor will have no noise from guests above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
136
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here as part of a running holiday - this is a popular hotel for runners as there is a running track next door, a cross country course down the road, many trails and of course the beach.

The Stella Maris itself is hard to fault.
I was in a studio single which was very comfortable and clean and had everything I needed. All the staff were friendly and efficient. Wi-Fi good at 12 Euro for a 24 hours (not per calendar day as rate card might suggest - so buy a 24 hour ticket and it will last all week). Breakfast plentiful and good choice. Two good aircon units in the studio, large immaculate bathroom.

This is outside the hectic Albufeira town centre so it is a peaceful and relaxed area. There is not much locally other than the beach and a small shopping mall - but you can eat in a different place everynight for a week without getting into a car. The apartment kitchen was fully equiped so you could cater for yourself if needed but the choice of food in local supermarket is not brilliant and the local places were quite reasonable. About 30 min from Faro by taxi. Nearby Villamora marina worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want total silence ask for a top floor room. The apartments are tiled throughout so you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grisholm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that, you enjoyed your stay at Stella Maris. Your opinion is very important to us and we appreciate your kind review.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel was spotless with good facilities, large studio apartment with a reasonable sized balcony overlooking trees. It's in quiet location which is lovely, 5 minutes walk from the best local beach (which is huge) and supermarket, and just a 15 minute taxi drive away from Albufiera and Vilamoura. Pool is large and a perfect way to cool off in the heat, also a jacuzzi which is a nice touch. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food looked good. The small praire de falesia town is nice but very small so we went to restaurants in Albufiera, Vilamoura and Olhos de Agua for more choice, and just to note that there is no cashpoint within walking distance of the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and would go out of their way to make us feel comfortable; they booked taxis for us every night and also booked our day trips to water parks and our activities such as jet skiing. Overall we had a fabulous stay at Stella Maris and would recommend it to those looking for a quiet holiday with easy access to lively towns to explore at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was my first time at Stella Maris and I can honestly say that it exceeded by expectations in all aspects, from the professionalism and friendliness of the staff both at the bar, reception and cleaners, the cleanliness of the room, pool and public spaces and the whole 'feel' of the place.

There is not one thing I can fault or criticise and I will certainly be returning next year.

Although we did not eat at the hotel, the menu looked excellent.

We preferred to eat breakfast at the cafe closest to the tennis courts which is situated next to the running track. They provide an excellent english breakfast or fresh omelettes, it is very reasonable and the staff are friendly and the service is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DisneyfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place is clean, quiet...with generally nice staff. I found the pool odd. They sold balls by the poolside, but if you used them in the pool a member of staff ran onto the deck to complain. THe food was nice and reasonably priced. Wifi was expensive - and it was hard to access gmail from the computers. There is a nice pizzeria close by and a cool running track adjoing the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review about your stay at Stella Maris. We will take in consideration all the aspects mentioned by you.

Hoping to welcome you again,

Yours Faithfully,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment. The room is finished to a good standard and very spacious; In addition to the bedrooms there were two bathrooms, a lounge dining room, a fully stocked kitchen (only missing a microwave) and a massive balcony. The hotel is situated in the middle of lovely pine forest surroundings.

The room would easily accommodate 7 adults.

The decor is minimal, modern and fresh. The rooms were in a good state of repair and clean. The hotel pools are great. The children's pool is perfect for toddlers.

We hired a car for the duration of the stay and would not like to stop at the Stella Maris without one as it is a little isolated. In walking distance there are a small number of bars & restaurants (5 mins), mini-supermarket (5 mins) and beach (15 mins).

We got a very reasonable room rate and wouldn't hesitate on using the hotel again or recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Two bed room apartments are massive (but do not look out over the pool/courtyard as advertised on so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BoingBoing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in a two bedroom apartment, two adults and two kids. What with two bathrooms, lounge, dining area and kichen it is amazing for the money we are used to being cramped in one room and having nothing else much. This was our second visit here and I can't fault it apart from pool being a bit too cold for my liking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoventryJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your gentle review, we are very glad to know that You enjoyed your stay.
Its a pleasure to know that You choosed us again. We hope we continue to have your trust in the future.

Yours Faithfully,

Jose Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#123 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#133 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Property: Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing