We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room sizes and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in a two bedroom apartment, two adults and two kids. What with two bathrooms, lounge, dining area and kichen it is amazing for the money we are used to being cramped in one room and having nothing else much. This was our second visit here and I can't fault it apart from pool being a bit too cold for my liking.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoventryJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your gentle review, we are very glad to know that You enjoyed your stay.
Its a pleasure to know that You choosed us again. We hope we continue to have your trust in the future.

Yours Faithfully,

Jose Domingos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have just arrived home here in England.wish we were back there.Stayed at the Stella Maris Hotel a very enjoyable stay, the Hotel is very clean and pleasant staff. The rooms are excellent and pool area, facilities. They need to restart the kids club as they were plenty of children.Alfie my grandson enjoyed it very much and he made plenty of friends Jenson,Mollie,Patrick,and many more.NICE Area to stay not too far from the beach,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilkies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights in early June. It's not fancy but offers large, clean & quiet condos 10 minutes walk from the beautiful Falesia Beach. The staff was very friendly and professional and any issue or request was dealt with promptly. There was a small swimming and a kid's wading pools but we didn't use them, because we came for the ocean.
The breakfast was adequate but too repeatitive and offered the typical english breakfast fare.
If you are a party of 4 or more people, the boiler heating system might mean that there will be not enough hot water for all of you, so some will have to wait till the water is hot again. Also, though there no microwaves in the room, you can ask the staff to bring you one, if needed.
The area doesn't have much to offer if you want to go out or buy groceries. There's a cluster of very subpar restaurants and a smal supermarket with limited supply. You will need a car if you want to see the area, find a better place to eat or buy the groceries. There's an excellent Restaurante Adega TiCosta 1.5 km from the hotel but the streets are not pedestrain-friendly. Other good restaurants are even further away.
I would strongly recommend to travel around and see places like Silves and Tavira.

Room Tip: it's a quiet place, but the rooms facing west can be slightly noisier due to open bars nearby an...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Spent 1 week here with my 2 boys. Great apartment, we had a studio 2 singles and a sofa bed, kitchen, big bathroom large balcony .previous review mentioned about the sofa bed I agree awful. put the mattress on the floor and that was fine. Good location close to the beach , pool was great, nice local restaurants and a shop that has most things you need . Quite peaceful no noisy clubs , Food was good value, very clean place would definatly go again. Helpful staff, really nice guy on reception got the boys breakfast at 4 am when departing for the airport, which is only about 25 mins away.

Room Tip: The sofabeds are bad.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brookwood63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We (2 adults and 3 kids aged 14, 9 and 2) stayed here at half term and had a lovely relaxing week. Our 2-bed apartment was huge, plenty of room for the large cot provided to go in with the kids' twin beds, and we didn't realise there was an ensuite bathroom as well as the shared shower room. The sitting/dining room was very large, and there were two balconies. Everything was spotlessly clean, the maids came in daily and the bedlinen was changed once while we were there.The kitchen was large and well-equipped but we stayed on a half-board basis which worked very well - the resort is very small with a few reasonable and friendly restaurants but it was easier for us to eat in-house rather than wander around with our toddler deciding where to eat. The self-service food was plentiful and good quality - all the usual stuff you'd expect for breakfast including fresh fruit, ham, cheese, croissants, cereals, sausages, bacon, beans and scrambled eggs. Evening meal - not fine dining, but freshly cooked and with good choices which always included a home-made soup, various salads and breads, a fish dish, a meat dish, a veggie dish (usually pasta) and vegetables with either potatoes/rice/chips to accompany it. One simple dessert such as a piece of tart or cake, and fresh fruit. We all ate well.

There is a large clean pool along with a paddling pool for little ones, and a great pool with fountains and toys round the other side of the hotel along with a little playground. The beach at Falesia is 10 mins away and gorgeous. The people moaning about the 80 steps to the beach must have been extremely unfit; our 2 year old was up and down them once a day in the hot sun without a complaint. They'd only be a problem if you had mobility issues in which case this wouldn't be a great choice of resort.

The staff were all courteous and helpful, and the waiting staff in particular were very friendly. The hotel was just starting to get busier towards the end of our stay but we never had a problem getting sunbeds or using the lift etc. and there was a good mix of guests from the UK, Ireland, Germany, Spain and Portugal. Stella Maris is definitely somewhere we'd stay again if we wanted this kind of holiday.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front of the hotel but there was very little road noise and it never got too...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed in May 2012. The rooms were excellent. The hotel was not busy and plenty of room round the pool. The pool was a little chilly but a welcome relief from the sun.
All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
It states the rooms are sound proof but they are not.
Booked for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigwelshpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at the Stella Maris for 5 nights with a friend in late May. I thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing break here and would definitely return. I have nothing negative to say about the hotel – in fact they were the best apartments I’ve ever stayed in – you don’t get many apartments with 3 piece suites and dining room tables in them. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom also had some toiletries which you don’t often see. The room was cleaned every day and was spotless.

One thing I will add is that the shower was freezing (I was the second to go in, the first shower is warm) but the weather was so nice during the day I didn’t mind a cold shower of an evening!

There is a supermarket and square of bars/restaurants within a five minute walked. Our plan was to go into Albufeira most nights but only went once because there was so much choice, and good quality food in the square. Albufeira is a 20 euro return taxi journey away and unless you’re after nightlife there’s not much point in paying the extra with the choice just five minutes from the hotel.

We didn’t eat in the bar I’m afraid so cannot comment on that but the drinks from the bar were lovely and the bar tender even brought our drinks out to us by the pool. Excellent service from all members of the team and would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

I’ll be returning and recommending to friends and family!

Room Tip: I would suggest a pool view as there's not much to see from the front/entrance to the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlondieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Jardins da Falesia
Jardins da Falesia
#133 of 154 in Albufeira
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
6.4 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Falesia Garden by 3HB
Falesia Garden by 3HB
#6 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
36 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
3.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Address: Falesia Beac Rua do Pinhal | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $70 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing