We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Apartments lovely and clean Bosh washer, dishwasher large fridge freezer microwave kettle ironing board, iron plus hair dryer.Large bathroom with bath shower over bath excellent.It was a very large studio on the ground floor A19.Towels changed every few days plus bedding changed a least twice in a week while we were there.If you leave your towels outside the bathroom door on the floor they will change them everyday.We ate round pool a few times and ad no complaints club sandwiches and chips was enough for two people.Never ad to fight to get a sunbed and it was lovely and quiet round pool,plenty of people but no loud music must be getting old.If you go to these apartments you must try the Resturant on the hill up towards old town.Theres sign outside saying oldest Resturant in Alberfuria sorry forgot name but if you go you might see Cliff Richard who eats there because he leaves his boat in the marina.We booked through Travel Republic and we are going back next year to these apartments because we enjoyed so much would recommend to anybody as lond as you dont mind walking 10 to 15 min stroll to old town,but there is plenty of resturants in marina which are 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLOSEY999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    119
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
128
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of August for 7 days with our 3 children (aged 10, 6 and 2), our oldest child is disabled and is in a wheelchair. When booking we requested an accessible room and they supplied us with an apartment on the ground floor. Thank you. We had 2 bedrooms (one double and one twin singles bed), 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and a living / dining room. All was very nice and clean. In fact in the living area we had what must have been a sofa bed opened up and set as a bed, which was handy for our eldest when she was out of her wheelchair. They also supplied us with a travel cot for our youngest but he ended using one of the beds.

The apartment had all the appliances we required including microwave (some reviews stated they didn't have a microwave), hair dryer, iron etc. the TV was probably a 22" CRT and there was a selection of channels some English, German, Portuguese, but the reception varied throughout the day, wasn't really a problem as we weren't there to watch TV.

We had three air conditioning units, all three worked no problems. We had an issue with no hot water, but after mentioning to reception they resolved with 20 mins.

As mentioned in other reviews the safe costs €17.50 plus a €25 deposit. The wifi only covers the reception area, not a problem for me as I had bought a Internet sim from the vodafone shop at faro airport and used this in my unlocked mifi device, this only cost €20 for unlimited use.

There is a regular bookable shuttle from the apartments into town that I used the next day to do some shopping for our stay at their supermarket called continente (sp?) this is a lot cheaper than the shop in old town or the rear of the apartments going towards the marina. They have a lot better variety too.

Going into old town, as other reviews have stated it is a bit of a walk, that too a little uphill. We as a family walked that distance fine for our stay nearly every day and as the weather was sunny and a nice breeze we enjoyed it. I can understand for some people doing that daily would probably loose it's charm. However you do have the shuttle or cabs from near the Barclays at the rear of the apartments. That said the apartments seem to be in a quiet (non touristy) side although there are a fair number of building sites I felt it was better than some of the more built up busier areas.

We found the staff at reception at the apartments to be very helpful and they also called to book taxi's for pickup directly outside the main entrance. Our experience with them was very good.

Regarding the pools, they were as others have mentioned, FREEZING!! But the kids seem to adjust, it would have been nice if they had a kids playground as we felt we couldn't spend the whole day by the poolside as the kids would just get bored.

The marina is close by, if you've got a pushchair / buggy / wheelchair be aware there are lifts from the road (facing the road) at the rear of the apartments that go down to the marina level, it's not really obvious but they are there! The marina itself is nice and pleasant and has plenty of restaurants and small kids activities (bouncy castle and ride ons), I felt these were a little expensive but we only visited a couple of times but the kids enjoyed.

Overall our experience was very positive and we'd gladly visit again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank navgeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Orada with my boyfriend. We stayed in a studio apartment and when booking, had requested to be on an upper floor however we were informed on arrival that all studio apartments are on the ground floor. The apartment was spacious and modern with a large living and dining area/bedroom, a good sized, well equipped kitchen and a bathroom. As we were on the ground floor there was no real balcony but a small patio with a table, chairs and a rusty clothes horse.

I noticed when we arrived the bathroom seemed clean enough - there was no obvious dirt but on closer inspection the sink and counter hadn't been wiped as there were bits on it and the floor was the same in the harder to reach areas. It's a shame because it only takes seconds to wipe down a surface. Maid service is supposed to be everyday and towels and bedding are supposed to be changed twice a week however we didn't get 'clean' (faintly marked and not the most pleasant smelling) towels until day 5 of our 7 night stay and it was clear the bedding hadn't been changed because there were still faint remains of my mascara on the pillow and bed sheet. I informed the lady at reception and she assured me that we would have fresh linen the next day. The maids did finally come and change our bedding but the following day they didn't bother coming at all and we were leaving the day after! From my experience this would be unacceptable in a 2 star accommodation let alone 4! The cherry on the cake was on the day we checked out; As we were dragging our cases to reception, we passed the maids cart and I noticed a toilet brush from one of the rooms placed on top of the pile of clean towels - lovely!

The pool area was nice enough with plenty of sun loungers but the water was freezing cold and there were a few tiles missing around the pool which looked sharp.

We were disappointed with the location because at the time of booking, we knew there was going to be around a 20 minute walk to the old town and the beach and that it was a little out of the way but the fastest we ever walked it was roughly 25 minutes speed walking! At a leisurely or even brisk pace its definitely longer than that!

The Marina is just a short walk away and there are several restaurants. We ate at the Spanish Restaurant there one night and the food was amazing, I would definitely recommend giving it a try! There is also a small cafe which do lovely pastries and a few shops selling essentials and the usual touristy things right by the apartments however the nearest proper supermarket is roughly halfway between the old town and the new town which is too far to walk; especially with bags. We ventured out to the new town twice and it was 8 euros each way in a taxi from the apartments. You can also catch a little train from the Old town which will take you there for a couple of euros. If you want lively nightlife, its the place to be and there are plenty of shops and restaurants. The old town is much more authentic than the new town but also quite lively in the main square with plenty of places to eat.

Overall I would not recommend staying at the Orada particularly if you want to be by the beach. It wasn't terrible but there was also nothing great about it. The location is quite out of the way, the apartment could have been cleaner, 2 of the receptionists I spoke to were helpful and pleasant but overall service was not 4 star and we could have stayed somewhere nicer for the price we payed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Where do I start,this place I have to admit gives a good first impression, clean and tidy. That's about all. It is a good 20 minute walk up a steep incline all the way into the town, we spent a fortune in taxis in the week we were there as we just couldn't handle the walk home, and the nearest supermarket is in the new town area which is easily a 40 minute walk away, not exactly ideal when you are staying in self catering accommodation.

Secondly, upon check in we were told to have a safe for the week would cost €17.50 PLUS a €25 deposit! this added with the most unhelpful receptionist I have ever had the displeasure of meeting, she was bordering on rude when we asked her the usual questions, where is there a supermarket? how do we get there? where does the bus go from here into town? we had to figure all this out on our own, and we didn't find out until the 4th day that there is a taxi rank in the main avenue near the marina kind of important when the walk is 20 minutes!

We were absolutely disgusted with the level of service we received here not even mentioning on the day we were checking out we were asked to pay €50 for the handle on the fridge door which had broken during our stay through no fault of our own, we paid it for the sake of a quiet life but again the receptionist was very rude when we tried to query why it would cost this outrageous amount to fix the handle on a fridge door when they have a maintenance man working on site, needless to say we were furious.

I won't even get started on the location of our apartment within the complex which only received sunlight in the early morning time without a proper terrace, the smell off the 'clean' sheets was revolting every day and the ALL of the English speaking T.V. channels had awful interference when we wanted a break from the evening heat all we could watch was CNN. Oh, and the swimming pool was too cold to even venture into.

All in all we did enjoy our holiday but, not thanks to Orada Marina steer clear if you can!!!!

Room Tip: Stay closer into the town, near the beach would be perfect as it's right in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My Familyof 5 with our 3 kids aged 13,18 and 23 stayed at the orada apartments (3 bed apartment no. F119) for 10 days (23rd july-2 aug 2012) on a self catering basis.
The cost of the apartment was approx £1800 for the 10 days .
The 1st impressions was fine with check in smooth and the lobby , pool area and bar all looking clean and inviting.
Upon Check in we was told the room safe would cost 28 euros plus 25 euros refundable deposit, we were also told that pool towels are not available and would have to purchase them if we had not brought any.(Tip: onsite mini mkt wants 20 euros per towel but you can buy from old town gift shop for around 5 euros each).

We was hoping that we would have a pool view apartment but unfortunately f block is located behind the pool view apartments and they do not have a very nice outlook.. The 2 storey 3 bed aptmnt was located on the 1st floor up a flight of stairs.
The apartment was huge with 3 large upstair bedrooms all with bathrooms, downstairs the large lounge diner also had a seperate fully fitted kitchen and another downstairs bathroom. The apartment was clean, modern and decorated all ok.
The large lounge was fitted out with a small sofa bed and a single armchair which seemed to be strange as up to 8 people could use this apartment. As it was if all 5 of our party was in the lounge area , one of us would have to sit on one of the heavy wooden dining chairs.
The apartment had 3 balconies in total but none of them had a nice outlook and only 1 cheap white plastic chair was provided between all three balconies.
The next thing we noticed was the tiny old fashioned 15 inch portable tv provided with the quality of signal for english speaking channels being very poor. Trying to watch the olympics on this tv from the other side of the lounge was impossible.
In the kitchen we noticed that it had no microwave oven , no kettle , 1 side of the oven shelf holder was missing and the fridge freezer door was catching on sometthing so not shutting properly. Also we could not get the downstairs air conditioner to work and had to be reset by the maintenance man.
A kettle was provided the next day and we just put up with the other minor niggles.
The pool area is ok although the large unheated pool is showing signs of wear and tear with tiles missing and a lack of parasols when busy. There is no entertainment on site , no night time bar and no poolside music, which was fine for us but beware if you want on site activities and action.
The wifi is only availble in the lobby area and the signal is very unreliable making logging on very frustrating somedays.
The orada aptmnts are located next to the marina which has a few bars and restaurants around it ,but like a lot of portugal the area seems to have run out of money with a unfinished feel to the area.
The old town is a nice scenic walk from orada along the coast and taxis to the strip were easily ordered from reception.
To sum up i would say the orada apartments are ok and we enjoyed the holiday,the weather was lovely but im not sure that the 10 day holiday was worth the £5,000 that i spent in total for the 5 of us,including flights ,apartment, spending money etc

Room Tip: Ask for pool view apartments, take pool towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garylee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Accomodation good size with well equipped kitchen.
We much prefer location outside busy resort, but with enough local restaurants and bars within easy reach.
We walked into Old Town if we needed a lively night only 15 minutes walk.
A couple of truly good restaurants close by, will review separately.
Cleaned every day, towels alternate days. Shuttle service to Old Town and even major supermarket - brilliant.
Large grounds and the pool is large, albeit not heated in August that is a relief!!
Our only criticism. Safe costs €17.50/ week. Not enough sun shade (brollies) for sunbathing by pool.
Air conditioning in rooms, but kept needing re-setting.
Still would come back.

Room Tip: No restaurant or shop on site. Bring your own sun bed towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianmavinhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The rooms were huge and had all we needed. The resort has a minimum of services (reception and pool bar - pool bar was quite good). The marina has a few shops, a mini-market and a few ok restaurants. So if you want more, Albufeira is luckily within walking distance.
It was very practical to have a car. Our parking spot was in a closed garage, just a few steps from our front door. Great place if you want some space and you are able to entertain youselves. We had a great time.

Room Tip: The room we had in block A was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cehein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#61 of 154 in Albufeira
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada

Property: Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
Address: Sitio da Orada - Apartado 2422 | Albufeira Marina, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#35 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Turisticos Da Orada Hotel Albufeira
Orada Apartments Albufeira
Orada Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Apartamentos Turisticos Da Orada Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing