We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Ranked #96 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very clean and friendly! Came here with my friend for a 2 week getaway got self catering , really big room with everything we needed. Shuttle bus all week (not on weekends) anyone that says Carlos the driver is grumpy clearly hasn't spoke to him he his really friendly and very informative . A bit far away from the main town but that's why the shuttle is such a great service. Couldn't fault the hotel one bit ! Great fortnight will definitely come back again :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 684 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Came home last night had a wonderful holiday
Hotel is very clean and the staff brilliant.we were A/Inclusive and really enjoyed the food. self caterers there is no shop on site or even nearby for you so if you are on a late flight you cannot buy anything at the hotel. Drinks quite expensive €2.50 for a coffee in the snack bar. We would certainly go back there is nothing to complain about regarding this hotel very good value for money, worth being A/inclusive though
If you are going here you really don't need to have any concerns, I had read previous reviews but don't agree with them

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Block22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Chose the hotel based on price and you certainly can't grumble on that side of things if the weather is good and you plan to do nothing more than lounge by the pool.

Unfortunately for us the weather was pretty dismal with three solid days of rain with reasonable weather albeit not the sunbathing kind on the remaining days. The problem with this is that the hotel is a good 10 minutes by taxi to the nearest life ie The Strip and a further 5 minutes or so to Old Town so basically about 7-8 euros each way, more at weekends. Also the taxi's add a euro or so because the hotel has to call the cab for you. There is a free shuttle bus but only every couple of hours or so and as far as I can remember not at weekends and the last shuttle is at 5pm.

So if you are stuck at the hotel with poor weather there is not much you can do to fill your day. The only English TV channel is a repetitive CNN so take a DVD player and DVD's (that saved us!!). The hotel games room is merely a pool table, air hockey table and a couple of video games. Tennis court and mini golf looked tired and were empty. Indoor swimming pool and gym looked ok but that's about it.

If you are not on an all inclusive drinks are quite pricey although we didn't sample the food so can't comment on the restaurant although the A La Carte menu didn't have an awful lot of choice.

The rooms/apartments were pretty decent and pretty clean bar odd wax like drips on the bedroom walls (Mmmmm!!!) Fairly well furnished with decent storage and with a reasonable kitchen area and ok bathroom although the shower head doesn't really fit the shower bracket so get used to showering one handed or see water fly over your head!! Comfortable furniture although the beds and pillows are a bit hard.

So in a nutshell if you are having a "by the pool" holiday and the weather is good or you will have a car the hotel is a decent choice but if weather is poor and you want to explore and visit and don't have a car another hotel closer to life would be advisable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

WE stayed 4 nights at this hotel as part of a packaged walking holiday. We therefore did not use all of the amenities but found the 'apartments' very comfortable. Breakfasts were good. The weather was mixed and it appeared that there were one or two maintenance issues with leaks etc in some of the outside passageways. Did not use the dining facilities. 2/3 miles from the town of Albufeira so transport very necessary.

Room Tip: We were happy with out room overlooking the pool although the hotel only had a few early season gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonboyDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Got a cheap 4 night deal via travel zoo & fleetway travel. Was meant to stay at different hotel nearer to Albufeira but a week to go was told this is no longer possible and ended up here. The location is out of the way. We used the shuttle bus a lot. The apartment was clean and spacious. Wi fi is available in bar and reception area and it's ok in the poolside snack bar although a little slower. We ate at the sister hotel a few times.

The weather was terrible and we had to spend more time at the hotel than we would normally. This highlighted its shortcomings. The main issue was the buffet style meals. We are not fussy but there are 2 choices of main course and no veggie option. The food was cold and there were signs to say the food is heated to European standards & if we wanted it hotter then we could ask to have it microwaved. I seriously doubt that even European standards allow for cold food. We tried eating earlier and later but it made no difference temperature wise. The food was kept "warm" in dishes suspended above hot water.

The pool bar opened whilst we were there with burgers etc. however thus meant that the reception bar was closed until 6 pm when the pool bar closed. There's no access to tea and coffee unless you go to the pool bar between 10am -6 pm or after 6 in the main bar. There's tea/coffee facilities in your room but you need to take the shuttle bus to buy your tea/coffee and milk.

Local wine and alcohol are included in the all inclusive deal but not cocktails. You are allowed 2 drinks per person. We ordered vodka & coke and a coffee liqueur to make Black Russians. All inclusive ends at 12 noon on departure day.

All in all it wasn't a great holiday. Partly because of the weather but also due to cold food with limited choices and the location of the hotel which is near any local shops and facilities

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Railbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Was booked I here recently but I only stayed a couple of hours. The weather was terrible and so going to stuck in a room for a couple of days was more than I could take. Its in the middle of nowhere you'd want to be particularly. I think the staff are used to people asking about restaurants nearby etc as she bolted out that 'there is nothing here' midway through my question which was funny, she wasn't being rude, just knew what was coming. I wouldn't personally risk eating there but maybe its okay...!?! Can't comment. The same receptionist didn't seem too surprised when we said we were leaving and not to worry if she didn't see us again. We weren't to be reported as lost in action. Maybe we weren't the first.
I did go to the room and its probably about 3 star at most. The beds looked tiny. I cant say whether they were comfortable or not as I didn't even sit on them. The apartment looked adequately clean but did have a bit of a smell. Not terrible but definitely not fresh. We had a coffee in lobby which was ok but I wont be going back. I thought I would manage it for a night or two but couldn't. Left and booked into the Hilton. Different planet. Stayed there for the rest of the holiday.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mantra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

arrived back home monday 31st after a 2wk stay self catering at the hotel. All staff were very helpful & friendly, rooms are clean, spacious & well equipped with large balcony & seating area. Views from most balconys are lovely and we spent many evenings watching the sun go down over a glass of wine. We did also dine in the restaurant one evening & the food was wonderfull, service from Marco the head waiter was exellent. Location of hotel is rurual so a hire car is recommended & this was our 3rd time staying here & shall be looking forward to returning there in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter247978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#42 of 153 in Albufeira
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#46 of 153 in Albufeira
470 reviews
1 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#54 of 153 in Albufeira
448 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico

Address: Lote 101 Caminho de Vale Navio | Branqueira, Albufeira 8200-393, Portugal (Formerly Hotel BlueBay Balaia Atlântico)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $19 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balaia Atlantico is a natural oasis surrounded by the unique beauty and contrasts of the Algarve countryside, among the over 5 km of sandy beaches and crystal clear waters. License No. 849 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 4.50 / each at the front desk. For reservations with Breakfast, Half Board, Full Board and All Inclusive, guests should inform any special dietary needs or allergies before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Aparthotel
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing