We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Coleraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012, 2 children and two adults. Due to it being late in the season everything was either shut in the hotel or in the process of shutting. Nothing done to try and make us feel welcome. Indoor pool dirty and jacuzzi very smelly. In fairness the apartments were spacious and kept clean. Choice of food poor, again as end of seson.Overall it was a dissapointing experience and one we wont be repeating. We travel alot and expect to be treated as if we are guests and that our business is appreciated no matter what time of the season. Could this have been a good experience, maybe if an effort had been made by staff. I had put this comment on another site as they had requested feedback but they have not put it on.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of corridor have larger balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    232
    148
    76
    56
See reviews for
302
192
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just stayed here in March, it was very comfortable and the apartments are spacious and clean with air con which was good as it was cold so we had it on all the time, we hired a car as it is in a quiet rural setting with no shops or restaurants nearby except in the hotel, the nearest beach is about a 10 min drive. The staff at the hotel are the friendliest we have come across in all the 30 years we have visited the Algarve and they were very helpful and kind, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are accessed by outside doors so if you go during the winter/spring ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie247970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in the balaia atlantico in march 2013 with seventeen of us all eager to sample the local cheese.The hotel was fantastic in all areas,food,drink,and service with a smile.The breakfast and evening meal was brilliant.The only complaint I have is that there wasn't enough black men

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Joffmacwidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in September and it was my first time abroad so I was a little worried about what we would find when we got there. When we arrived we put our bags in the holding area and went straight to the pool bar while waiting for our room to be ready as we were early. The pool was beautiful and I loved the pool bar. It was 26-35 degrees during our stay and as I'm not used to the heat I enjoyed jumping in and put the pool to cool off. We bought two chair lilos from the shop on sight and they had cup holders in them so we could order our two beers each and float around the pool. Which we couldn't stop laughing about!! The rooms were lovely and clean, the air con was no extra charge and kept the room very cool. Breakfast was really nice and the service was great. Once we were on our sun loungers in the morning we didn't want to go up for lunch so we ate from the pool bar and it was yummy. Dinner always had loads of choice and john at the bar loved a quote from little Britain, when we asked for a drink we were told computer says no. Haha. Sometimes the food wasn't as hot as it could be but that was good for us because we could just eat and go as the reception bar opened at six. The staff were so nice behind the bar, they would make us cocktails from the all inc spirits and we had to guess what was in it. We had such a laugh with them and we learnt a lot about their culture and about the surrounding area. There was a guy on the piano and he would do things to wind the bar staff up which created a happy atmosphere. They had the football on and it was lovely to chat to everyone while watching it. The bar manager looked just like elvis Costello. After the bar stopped serving all inc drinks which was 23.00 we would go down to the pool bar to the entertainment which changed each night.. Karaoke, bingo, dancers, country music, singers etc. we went on a tour of western algarve and it was so interesting to see the non tourist part of the country and to learn about the algarve, we went up into the mountains and had a three course meal with wine, we went to lands end and to a place where the rock formations were incredible!! It was a long and tiring day but well worth it. The bus came every couple of hours and it was nice to have a couple of trips out to the different towns. We had a gorgeous holiday and I wish we could go back again this year, the staff were so friendly and they really made our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayroo0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

5 Star service. But the food is cold.
Complained several times but it seemed to fall on deaf ears.
All inclusive is definitely a no no due to the temperature the food is kept at.
They claim it is kept at 65c but I asked for a food temperature monitor and it was definitely kept between 26c and 36c that's when Bacteria grows most.
Asked to speak to chef, but they refused and told me to complain to the european foods standard.
I shall be complaining on the 2nd January about the food temperature.
MY DAUGHTER NOW HAS FOOD POISONING.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are 4 adult friends aged 31 to 59 and stayed in this hotel from 23rd to 30th October,weather was not brillient, in fact it rained most days and was quite cool but you cant order the weather you would like so not really complaining about that.
The hotel though did have a mix of good and bad points.
Good points,the rooms were all pool view, spacious,modern and kept clean by daily cleaners and if you were self catering (we were all inc) there was everything you needed in the modern kitchen,towels were changed every other day and the bathroom had a good shower with plenty of hot water.The staff were pleasant and helpful especially the girls on the reception desk.The pool area was kept clean and there were plenty of sunbeds( no sun though) although the hotel was very quiet( maybe the time of year) and was great if you wanted a quiet relaxing holiday or if you didnt have a young family The dining room was on the top floor and had a lovely view overlooking the pool which was lit up in the evening.The all inc drinks were good in the dining room and bar.
Not so good points, we found the bedroom was very dark and the beds slightly hard(maybe some would say they were just firm but we found we ached after the first couple of nights),The food was a bit hit and miss,some days better than others,although we found the breakfasts were excellent ,some lunchtimes and evenings were a recipe of leftovers and left a bit to be desired but we didnt go hungry,the salads were always a good option and always plenty of fresh fruit.A good tip,about 5 mins walk away there was a small family run restaurant that was amazing and served brill food,lovely atmosphere, made you most welcome and were very cheap.
Bad points, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere,we were led to believe there was a courtesy bus to take you to the nearest beach/town but this was off the road for repairs/servicing so we ended up paying for taxi,s which added up to quite a lot of extra euros we had not budgeted for,there was the most awful entertainment,bad singers and a most annoying man on a piano several nights,there was no atmosphere in the lounge in the evening and nothing for children,as the" kids club" was closed ( although we did not have children the ones that were there were obviously bored to tears).The pool bar served up the most disgusting snacks( i have never seen or tasted what they called "fish fingers" they were some grey, vile tasting things) and the "chicken nuggets" tasted of fish,not good !!! The shop on the site was virtually empty so if self catering you would have had to go to nearest town( by taxi) and the area where the indoor pool was,smelt so strongly of chlorine it nearly made you sick so we didnt use it ( the outdoor pool was absolutely freezing so didnt use this either)
On the whole it was not a bad holiday,you have to make the most of what you get, we got out and about( by taxi)Albufeira old town is nice and we went on one of the advertised trips (not cheap at 50 euros each) and to the Marina at Vilamoura. It was our first time to Portugal but dont think we will be returning,hope this review is helpful to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank imartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here in October for 12 days from 17th self catering. Hotel is very clean and one bedroom apartments are spacious. All apartments have nice balconies and overlook the pool. Our apartment was on the 3rd floor, room 313. and we had the sun from 9am until 3pm on the balcony. (When it wasn't raining!!,Unfortunately we did have 5 days of rain out of 12).The rooms have everything you need for self catering....toaster,kettle,microwave,oven etc. Safes in the room cost 3euros a day.!..... One drawback was we had to wait for 2 days for an iron as they were all being used by other rooms.I would advise taking one if you need it desperately. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily. Very efficient.Reception staff were very helpful and polite. Entertainment in the evening was pretty poor and no atmosphere at all.
The main drawback is that it was miles from anywhere.We love walking but it was a brisk 45 mins walk to the "STRIP" and even longer to "THE OLD TOWN". There was a shuttle bus that ran 4 times a day but stopped at 5pm so was useless for going out for an evening,In any case it went out of service 3 days after we got there for the rest of our holiday. Taxis are pretty reasonable at around 7 euros each way to get to a decent restaurant,so factor this in to your budget if you are self catering . We did eat in the hotel restaurant one night as it was raining.It cost 16.50 euro each for dinner. Food wasn't cold but not much choice. What was there was JUST ok in our opinion.
What we found disgusting was that if we wanted to use the Gym it cost 20 euros a week each. I have never known having to pay for the gym before!!!!!
There is ONE restaurant close to the hotel...O FAVHINO.... Walk out of the hotel turn right then left, about 4 mins walk. Nice guy, MANU. Drinks are dead cheap but again food just ok.Other people have said the food there was great so maybe we just ordered the wrong things.(T-Bone steak and Lamb chops.) BEST restaurant in the new town is FUZI a japanese place.Entertainment value and food and wine 10/10 but a little pricey. Best restaurant in the old town O CATRAIO. A tiny place but food is lovely,very reasonable and the best house wine I have tasted.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right looking from reception to the pool are sunny in the morning and afternoon, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joshaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#92 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#50 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#94 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico

Property: Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Address: Lote 101 Caminho de Vale Navio | Branqueira, Albufeira 8200-393, Portugal (Formerly Hotel BlueBay Balaia Atlântico)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balaia Atlantico is a natural oasis surrounded by the unique beauty and contrasts of the Algarve countryside, among the over 3 km of sandy beaches and crystal clear waters. Located on the outskirts of Albufeira, surrounded by magnificent forests of olive trees and lush citrus tree plantations, it offers spectacular ocean views from any of its 139 apartments. The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 4.50 / each at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Aparthotel
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing