We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab week away xx”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Ranked #91 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Balaia Atlantico at the beginning of October . There was six of us ranging from 78 years old to 4 months old .
After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little worried I made the wrong dissicion , But I tell you what its a great little hotel and myself and my family had a great week.

We arrived at the hotel at 11 o clock at night and were greeted by the lovely staff at reception . We were placed on the second floor . There is plenty of lifts so easy enough to get up and down with the pram and the grandma. The only slight problem was the steps leading unto the apartment from the corridor bit awkward with the pram .

The apartments are very spacious and clean . They have every think you need for self catering also a kettle for the babies bottle . There is no complementary tea or coffee Grandma couldn’t believe it . But on all inclusive you get it from the bars. The beds are not very comfy very hard but I prefer soft .
The bathroom was a little smelly but not that bad.
The cleaners were in daily changing the towels daily and cleaning to a good standard.

The pool area is nice in need of a little updating and cleaning but I have seen a lot worse . Both pools are freezing but not bad once your in . You are able to use the steam room/Jacuzzi/indoor pool as long as you were a swim cap they can be purchased on sight for 3 Euro . The indoor pool is heated so great for babies. The pool bar snacks were very basic but very tasty .
There is mini golf and tennis on sight which is a nice touch , you do need 10 Euro deposit for these.

The shop on sight isn’t great and a little expensive but it had the essentials .

The entertainment through the day was limited with the kids . On the nighttimes it was either singers or the piano player . But we did have a reptile show one night.

The Main dining room had nice food very limited but for the amount of people in the hotel I wasn’t surprised . There was a different main meal each night and it tasted very nice . The breakfast is good and a very good attempt at a full English .

Minus the grandma , We walked to the first beach it took us about 20 min with the pram , was a nice walk . But would say the shuttle bus was proberly the better option .

Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would rate this hotel a 4 star xx

Room Tip: Take your on HP Sauce for breakfast .
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 672 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in, the hotel bus was suspended with no alternative offered. The lobby/reception/evening bar is tatty, dated and has no atmosphere. The inside bar isnt open till 6 in evening so if you want a drink and its raining you have to go to lower level and walk in rain to collect ur drinks in plastic cups to take back to lobby. The food is cold and samey daily. Staff all look unhappy. Left at 5 this morning asked for drink of water at desk with reply of no. The rooms are horrid; dark colours with dim lights, very depressing. Would not send my worst enemy to this out dated grubby so called four star building.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed Oct 16-23rd 2012 All inclusive I have taken lots of pics as they may be better than me rambling on age of party 63,41,38,8 and 7

.We were allocated 2nd floor, reception and evening bar on this floor also.We had 3 adults and 2 children under 8.Our room had 2 single beds in bedroom and the 2 sofas in living area which are beds at night.We asked at reception and were told another bed would be brought we had to move bedside table into living area to fit 3rd bed in.We had to get it changed though as it was broken and rusty bits of metal sticking out side,my we girl was not sleeping in that.It was changed and the next one bette, room really cramped after that and all beds squashed together. Apart from that spacious.

We were given 3 cards for the door which was helpfull.You pay a refundable deposit and a daily charge for safe in room.

Bulbs out in bedroom/bathroom they were fixed next day after we reported it.Thankyou

Mini golf and tennis on site 10 euro deposit though (refunded on return of rackets/clubs) to save a trip back to room.Pool bar serves from 11am-1800 drinks hot/cold ice cream and snacks.

Breakfast 7.30-10 on 5th floor great view.Go early get all the fresh food but there were some families complaining about it being cold but microwaves are there.Cooked food,cheese cold meats pastries fruit nice selection.Lunch can also be eaten in there too and is a wee change from pool snacks.Loads of sun loungers and umbarellas.All balconies look onto pool.Ground floor rooms have steps onto pool level from balcony.

Dinner 1900 onwards.On 5th floor or if you book in advance you can use the sister hotel Paraiso 3rd or 4th stop on courtesy bus(when it is running) not at weekends and it was off while we were there so we had to pay for our taxis (see pics)

When wet which we had a couple of days indoor pool a saviour for kids and adults nice and warm sauna and spa.(swimming cap MUST be worn or you will not be allowed in),any other gym classes etc you will pay for.

Do not try to move your sun lounger to a less windy area as the pool man will not like this and I was told to put mine back I think I may have had a little strop after that...oops.
The outlook at our side of hotel was nice but the opposite side looked onto derilict flats.Stable and little cafe realy near by 5 min walk anywhere else you will neet bus/taxi.

Staff all really helpfull and pleasant girl on reception great and telephoned and booked our trip on boat for us. Pleasant pool staff male and female and they try help with my poor lingo Obrigada/o goes down well.We did have a very unpleasant experience with a small male member of staff though Fillippo rude man didnt smile and unhelpful But rest of staff GREAT Thankyou.

Hope this helps everyone will like different aspect enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noangelcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Once again I did my homework on the hotel through tripadvisor and although it was quite highly rated, we were very disappointed. Starting with the positives the apartments were large and well equipped and the maids did a good cleaning job with regular towel changes. However the lighting in the bedroom was ridiculous and dark. The pool was large and the snacks served by the pool side snack bar were ok.
Now for the moans:
the food choices were very limited and repetitive. Quite often the food was cold or luke warm.
Even if you are fully inclusive the drinks that are free are very limited.
The pool is in need of some serious maintenance as there are green algae stains around the walls. In fact it was quite funny when a group of suited and booted business men appeared by the pool one day, and suddenly this hotel worker started to pressure wash the pool surround. As soon they disappeared he put the pressure washer away and never started again!
We decided to try the jacuzzi one day, but had to get out because the chlorine fumes were overpowering and stinging our eyes and throats! I reported it to the gym manager but he didn't seem too concerned and it remained open!!
The surrounding area of the pool has grey concrete slabs which are really drab and the decked area by the pool bar is in need of repair.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and the courtesy bus doesn't run at weekends. The driver of which is a misery and never smiles. In fact some of the staff don't seem to get the idea that you are on holiday and a few smiles are required to help people enjoy their stay!!
The entertainment is dated and clearly cheap!
Finally on the last night the bar ran out of the fully inclusive gin (this was at 7.30pm), so my husband asked for some port, which they had run out of the night before. They hadn't replaced the port and we weren't allowed to have the other gins (which they had plenty of). So we left the bar in disgust and went to see a senior member of staff who gave the bar manager a right telling off over the phone and ordered him to fetch gin and port from the sister hotel. It ruined our last night though and we just went back to the apartment.
I am just not convinced that fully inclusive is understood on the Iberian peninsula because you seem to be made to feel like you are second class.
Won't be returning :-(

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meehanhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just arrived back from staying 5 nights here, although it was not our original choice, as we were moved upon arrival at our original hotel. The hotel is very much off the beaten track, it is a considerable distance from the beach and any nightlife (or any life at all) but as you pull up outside, it looks impressive.

Apartments very spacious and clean, bed very hard and the pillows were terrible. The pool area was good, clean and tidy, although the pool was freezing (maybe the time of the year), the were staff helpful and pleasant at all times. Food was ok, nothing to rave about and not a great deal of choice. The all inclusive meant only local wines, beer and spirits ( the red wine was awful!!). The evening bar on level two is also the reception, waiting and entertainment area and the only place to go in the evening unless you pay for a taxi and go into Albufeira itself.

The corridors outside the apartments echo and any noise travels, so if your not a heavy sleeper, you can easily find that anyone walking back to ther apartment on the same floor will wake you up instantly.

I can see how by having certain features it gets to call its self 5 star, but its really a good 3 star so dont be mislead.

Room Tip: If you want the sun in the morning, ask for a room on the right hand side of the hotel, afternoon su...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just returned from a week here in this hotel.
Positive features -
huge rooms with balconies facing the pool, which has plenty of sun beds and the kids loved playing in. Facilities such as crazy golf and tennis were provided, and the children enjoyed the darts and skittles provided by the entertainment man. The food was plentiful and always available. There are stunning views from the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the sheets were changed once during the week. There is a shuttle bus run by the hotel which goes into town and to the beach regularly. Lovely weather - hot and sunny.
Negative features -
the beds are very uncomfortable and the bathroom was very smelly. At weekends, the hotel gets very noisy. It cost three euros a day to rent the safety deposit box in the room. The hotel is far from the beach and the shuttle bus does not run at the weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Balaia Atlantico for 5 nights from 9th October. We had 27 degrees each day which was bliss from the rain in the UK.

This was a last minute deal, literally booked 2pm on the Monday, flying 7am on the Tuesday, so options were limited. Through teletext.com and specifically Qwerty Travel, we booked this - the price shown online was then inflated by £40 p/p when we actually came to book.... this was explained by Will at Qwerty by the fact that there were no 'rooms' available, only 'apartments' with a pool view.... word of warning, they are all apartments and with a pool view!

We arrived at the hotel around 10.30am and had to wait until 12pm to check in, but were able to sit round the pool whilst we waited. The initial room we were provided was with twin beds, but after a quick chat with reception, we were moved to another room, with the double we booked.

Rooms (or apartments as they call them) are big and well supplied! Enough to sleep 4 people, if not more. We stayed in room 303. The apartment has a large main bedroom with double wardrobes, and seated dressing table area with mirror. The room also has blackout blinds, which is great! Down the corridor there is a safe (which you have to get a key from reception costing 25Euros deposit and 3Euros per day); then a bathroom with shower over a bath, twin basins, toilet and b-day. Ample room in the bathroom, but limited places to hang wet towels; bath seals were mouldy; and most holders (towel and toilet roll) were looking close to falling off - hopefully quick fixes over the winter slow period. Down the corridor you then reach the kitchen/diner, which is stocked with full kitchen appliances (oven, fridge, freezer, microwave, sink, kettle, and multiple crockery / cutlery items). There is a table which seats 6 comfortably and then a lounge with two 3 seater sofas and tv with BBC1, BBC2 and BBC3 on. There is then a large balcony which over looks the pool. The housekeeping staff come daily, making the bed and changing the towels - the washing up/bin emptying only happens every 3 days though. You can hear people in the room next to you from time to time... but I think as we were next to a family that made it louder than normal guests.

We went for all inclusive with our package, so the kitchen appliances/table and chairs were unnecessary, but for those reviewing this hotel, I would definitely consider self catering here - not only because of the apartment capabilities. Food here, and in general in Portugal, we found as 'average'. Generally very bland and/or overdosed with salt. Food at the hotel was provided on a mass buffet basis, so think sliced meat/fish in gravy/sauce of some description, with rice/pasta/potatoes. There is always a good range of salad available however, which I had daily. As other comments say, the food is generally cold/tepid, certainly not hot. Lunch and dinner were similar in menu style, with breakfast offering cooked and continental options. You help yourself to food and go to the bar for your own drinks - waiters just clear tables. Views from the main restaurant are great and worth a visit to see a good deal of the area.

There is also a 'snack bar' at the pool, which serves burgers, chips, hot dogs, toasties and sandwiches. We ordered a chicken burger and a hamburger one lunchtime, and thought we'd been given two of the same... they looked and tasted the same!

Other facilities in the hotel include a fully kitted gym, which we didn't use, but looked good. There is also massage/beauty treatments available (at a cost), but we didn't use so I can't rate.

There is a shop which supplies magazines and newspapers, inflatables for the pool, soft and alcoholic drinks and sweets/chocolate. There are a few basics, but I wouldn't call it a supermarket as described.

The pool area is great - the main pool itself kept my partner entertained for hours!! There is also a baby pool and jacuzzi. The time of year we went meant the pool was cold, but this wasn't to be unexpected. Loads of sunloungers and parasols, which we never struggled with. There are towels available to rent for a 10Euro deposit per towel.

Crazy golf and tennis are also available for those wanting entertainment in the day (deposits required for equipment); with nightly entertainment put on by the hotel in the main reception/bar area - the man on the piano was superb!

Reception staff were helpful and polite - their English was very good. Waiting staff didn't really talk to you and the lady on the pool bar seemed nervously quiet, but was efficient. The male bar staff were more friendly and chatty.

There is a free shuttle bus that runs to the Old Town and back every 2 hours, and each day apart from the weekend/public holidays. Great way to get about, however if you do miss it, taxis are around 7Euros.

The hotel was occupied mainly by Spanish/Portuguese families, generally in large scale. There was one group of young Portuguese friends who stayed towards the end of our holiday who took over a large area on the poolside near our room, and unfortunately bought a megaphone with them for singing/ranting/talking. It was quite disruptive and staff didn't aim to stop them, which I thought was a shame for other guests.

The location of this hotel is outside of the main Albufreia area, which was just what we needed - a short trip if we wanted out, but a relaxing day by the pool if we didn't. There are ample day trip options available in leaflets at reception, which the staff help you to book. We did a 3 hour boat cruise on the 'Condor' - think an old pirate ship - which sailed down the coast to the caves, with a planned stop and swim, and then swim back via the dolphins. It was pretty unimpressive, and didn't allow us to swim at the caves, we literally just got on a dinghy and went on a quick in and out trip, which took less than 5 mins. Dolphins didn't show themselves on the way back.

I think this is a better hotel for families rather than couples, and I would recommend half board or B&B over all inclusive.

All in all I would state the hotel as 'OK' but like in other European countries, 4* always seems to actually mean 3* - mainly due to the food.

Room Tip: All rooms are called 'apartments' and have a pool view - don't get fooled by the travel...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemmahelen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Gemma

Thank you for your somewhat extensive but comprehensive contribution to our TripAdvisor page. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion not all our services lived up to your expectations, and we will take a good look as to how we can improve on the specifics that you have kindly brought to our attention.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#89 of 154 in Albufeira
2,963 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
1.0 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico

Address: Lote 101 Caminho de Vale Navio | Branqueira, Albufeira 8200-393, Portugal (Formerly Hotel BlueBay Balaia Atlântico)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#47 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $37 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balaia Atlantico is a natural oasis surrounded by the unique beauty and contrasts of the Algarve countryside, among the over 5 km of sandy beaches and crystal clear waters. License No. 849 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 4.50 / each at the front desk. For reservations with Breakfast, Half Board, Full Board and All Inclusive, guests should inform any special dietary needs or allergies before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Aparthotel
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing