We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but lovely surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algarve Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Algarve Gardens
Ranked #146 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic but lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have just come back my m8 & I & we had a gr8 time.We were in one of the studios,ok bit dated +no kettle..had a saucepan!..The area was peaceful,the little shops had what u needed half hr walk along the glorious beach is Vilamoura,very nice,if u want a lively night reception will call u a cab 2 the Strip,brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jeashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    51
    34
    62
See reviews for
53
100
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

My God I do cringe at comments on this but i will do my best to give it to you as it is. My partner and myself travel alot and have stayed in everything from 5* to 2*. This is a 3* without a doubt. It is really a lovely place to stay if you are looking for a quiet holiday. You can use all the facilities at the hotel at no extra cost. There is a fantastic pool and beach. Now to the rooms which alot of people cry about. We too did stay in a 3rd floor room on one of the three 4 story blocks. Yes they are basic but so what? everything works. And if you dont have a toaster or a kettle all you have to do is ask at reception and your sorted. There is no a/c but there is a large sliding door which if left open is just perfect. Anyway the wind does rise at night so dont even worry about a/c. The place is cleaned every day and staff were very nice. For those who moan about places like this, maybe you should go for a 4* or 5* as you get what you pay for. We just got back yesterday 22/09/11 and had a great time. There is a bus stop right outside which costs 3.10e eachway pp to Albuferia if you want to hit the pubs and diners. They stop at 7pm so after that you have to get a taxi which is about 12e. Also from the beach you cal walk to Villamoura, about 20-30 mins depending on how fast you walk. It's beautiful. It has a fantastic marina, beach, restaurants and bars and you can check out the hotels there for another trip. Might suit the moaners who are happy to moan about 3* but want 5* accomodation. I hope this was helpful now go and enjoy your hols.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
50 Thank deckieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Don’t stay here, we were placed in this complex by mistake so only spent 1 night and a morning here, the hotel (the Alfa mar) was actually very nice, with what looked like a nice pool area and was set in very nice grounds, we were told the hotel had its own beach which is where everyone appeared to be heading.

Algarve Gardens was part of the Alfa mar Hotel Resort and consisted of a hotel and villas/apartments plus two or three tower blocks. We were placed in one of the tower blocks right at the end of the complex and were told we could use all the facilities the hotel resort had to offer so that was good, but my god the room we were given was basic. It was on the 3rd floor (with no lift) and the room was decorated in the 70’s and hasn’t been updated since. The beds were about ankle height off the floor and the pillows were tissue paper thin, whilst the TV was the size of a mobile phone screen (it was that small the 1970’s telephone on top of the TV almost dwarfed it). The bathroom and kitchen were dated just like the rest of the apartment, there were 2 hobs, a fridge and a cupboard – that was about it. Don’t get me wrong, the place was clean but just not very nice to look at/live in and it didn’t have any air con which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. There was a supermarket over the road so you could have got all your supplies but thankfully we were outta there the following morning.

As stated earlier the hotel complex looked nice so did the villas. Everything was clean even in our tower block but our room infact the whole of the tower block we were in was just dated. Plus the resort is 15k from Albufeira!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimbo006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here Sep 2010 in one of the out buildings self catering away from main hotel they where very basic but clean and quite comfortable. The kitchen was not fit to really do any cooking in we were lucky we did have a kettle others we spoke to were told they had to buy there own, The toaster was something out of the arc never seen anything like it, The small kitchen was very tired and battered very shabby and run down, We had a two bedroom bungalow one bedroom upstairs and one down, The place had seen better days but wasn't bad for what it cost us. We could use the main hotel which was better nice pool, lovely beach, we never used the restaurant it seemed very formal i was not sure if we could use it think you may have to be guest of hotel or all inclusive?. You could get snacks at bar which was OK, but hotel just seemed to be for the German market entertainment we seen was just for Germans and not very good, all trips out brochures where in German none at all in English even some staff at reception spoke very little English. Nothing much in the area outside of complex three bars, restaurants, shops all not very good found other bars, and such about 30 Min's walk away it was better there but not great. We had to get cab into Albufeira which is not that close at a cost of 12 euros one way and cabs were not up and down the road by hotel we always had to phone one but never waited to long for them to come. We did enjoy ourselves it is quiet there and peaceful if that's what you are looking for. The Hotel is not bad but I would not go back I would get a hotel in Albufeira which is more livelier and not have to spend on cabs up to 4 times a day some days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here in June this year and the hotel and grounds were beautiful, with a gorgeous private beach, however we stayed in one of the two blocks of appartments which arnt too good. The kitchen had two rings to cook on and a fridge, no work surfaces, no kettle, no microwave, no air con in fact it was very basic, and not comfortable at all. If you can afford it I would reccomend you upgrade to the hotel or one of the little bungalows in the grounds of which there are many they looked much better. Hotel facilities were good, bar and reception really helpful and friendly, swimmingpool really nice. Bit far way from any of the nightlife though, it cost £10.00 to go into Albufeira and £20.00 to Villamoura. There is not much around the hotel so you need to venture out. There is a bus at the bottom of the road which runs on the hour until 7pm costing £3.50 one way which brings the cost down a little. There is also supermarket at the bottom of the road which is really reasonable if you have a proper kitchen to make breakfast in. Albufeira strip and the old town are fab for great nights out and the weather was beautiful evenin June

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyboo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

When you book a break to somewhere new it always feels like a gamble and a risk, especially when you read other peoples reviews on a place. My boyfriend and I booked to stay at Algarve gardens as a short break without the children and we were so surprised and pleased when we arrived. The staff all seemed really helpful and friendly and the setting within beautiful gardens was gorgeous. The beach is a stones throw and is breathtaking and the complex is set in a quiet area but with easy access to the bus stop which gets you to Albufeira in about 15 minutes. From Albufeira you can access other areas of Portugal and there are lots of activities , trips, markets etc to entertain you. On the whole my boyfriend and I love this place and are looking to take the children back within the month!! Do not be put off by negative, moaning fussy holiday makers who would not be satisfied anywhere!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank lovelylucy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

We arrived eventually at the algarve gardens in our hire car (there are no signs for the "algarve gardens" as it comes under the alfamar hotel ).We had booked a studio and on opening the studio door we immediately turned around and headed back to the hotel reception !! It was horrendous and there was no way my wife and I were going to spend a fortnight in that studio.On speaking to the receptionist I managed to get an upgrade to a one bedroom villa at an additional discounted cost of 190 euros.It was worth it however as the new accommodation was much better.
So my advice would be to steer clear of the studios at this complex and you will be ok.
It is out of the way but in a beautiful location right on the beach and I would say that a car is essential if want to visit the nearest towns of Albufiera,Vilamoura and Loule on a regular basis.
There were very few British people staying at the complex it was mostly Germans bit they were very mannerable.

Room Tip: don't book a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frasthebishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.1 mi away
Alfamar Hotel
Alfamar Hotel
#134 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
7.7 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#72 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#63 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
3.7 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Gardens

Property: Algarve Gardens
Address: Praia da Falesia | PO Box 2159, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algarve Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Algarve Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Gardens Albufeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing