We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but clean rooms, friendly staff, stunning views” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel da Gale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel da Gale
Ranked #153 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic but clean rooms, friendly staff, stunning views”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We paid extra for a sea view, which we had, from the window(no balcony!!) of our matchbox sized room. Most rooms on higher floors appear to have a seaview, I'd take your chance. The room was dated & a bit shabby but it was clean. It was a shame the bar wasn't open as it would have been nice to enjoy a drink & enjoy the views, which were beautiful. Maybe they should consider a vending machine for drinks as there are no facilities in room to keep drinks cool & with the bar shut it was a case of go thirsty or take the 57 steps challenge to go to a supermarket/ bar. The staff were friendly & helpful & the hotels location to the old town & beaches are a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    50
    40
    100
See reviews for
40
106
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

a lot of steps (57) at the back of the hotel to get to beach and old town, keeps you fit and healthy, breakfast very good if basic and plenty of good bread (no toaster).
the view from the breakfast room is fantastic and it is a pity that the bar is not open until June we stayed end of May, as we would have stayed the couple of days that were cloudy around the hotel and spent more there - no Kettles in room so a good tip is to take a travel kettle! and watch out for the cold showers (no hot or even warm water). all in all, Hotel clean if basic and in need of some updating, you could not receive a warmer welcome or more helpful staff than that a the Da Gale.

Room Tip: Room 602 is at the front of the Hotel and very quiet with easy access to pool area, the Hotel does h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

They say in life you get what you pay for, I would like to say that the Da Gale hotel was basic but very clean and in a really good spot. Nice to have breakfast (although basic) looking out to sea.
I have just spent an enjoyable week alone in Albuferia I felt very safe in the hotel and slept very well, It could do with a bit of TLC but it was worth every penny. Not Ideal for anybody with limited ability as it has lots of stairs and is a long steep walk to the beach and the centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinabLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisaltur, Gerente at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for the very good feedback that to the Hotel da Galé**. It is very important for us to see that our guest are very happy with our services and with our hotel.
We hope you came to visit us one more time.
Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel gets a fairly rough review, so expectations were not too high, however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Da Gale and certainly recommend it to travellers on a budget.

It is perfectly situated close to the old town, beach, restaurants, cafes, shopping etc. The views are also spectacular.

The rooms were a bit old, but they were clean. I think other reviewers need to keep in mind that this place is a two star hotel. We had a room with a balcony and nice views.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

I would certainly recommend this place and would encourage other potential guests to not take some of the other overly critical reviews too seriously.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisaltur, Gerente at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am the Hotel manager of this two star hotel. we want to thank you for the excellent review that you leave us. It's very good to read such good feedback because we try to give the best service to our guest!! For us our guest are like Royal and our job e to treat them as carefully as possible.

We hope to receive you again on our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just back from a great weeks weather in Hotel Da Gale.We came back a lot fitter than we went having to climb 57 steps up to reception twice daily.The hotel is very basic but it is 2star.The staff are very friendly.The views from the top floors are amazing.I wasn't pleased with my room on arrival but got reallocated to more suitable without any problem.Breakfast was very basic always running out of cups and cutlery would hate to see it in peak summer time but for the price we didn't expect much.We were disappointed the bar wasn't opened at all.when we asked they said doesn't open till June.Our room was good could of been cleaner dust thick on doors and frames dirty other than that think could do with another socket for electric.cupboards were a bit smelly could do with freshen up and lick of paint.

Room Tip: We thought room 603 was good easy access to roof terrace for sun worshippers also can pick up free w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleydavidson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisaltur, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest, we want to thank you for your review about the Hotel da Galé. It's important for us to understand the opinion of our guests about their stay on our hotel. We are a service company and this type of comment help us to see what we need to change or pay more attention.

Kind Regards,
Hotel da Galé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

It is not a perfect or very luxuous hotel, but it is only a 2 stars, but for the price, it is very well located, near one of the most famous beaches in Algarve, it has a very good view and very friendly employees. Not perfect but a very good place to stay for a very low price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deadless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisaltur, Gerente at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

My name is Paulo Freitas and I'm the hotel manager.

I want to thank you for your excellent feedback. It's very good receive this kind of reviews. It's like a price for us because of our efforts to give the best for our guests.

We hope to see you again on our hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Fab location (moments from the beach and the old town), amazing views, terrace and rooftop swimming pool to die for. Perfect for those who want budget holidays. Not ideal for unfit people (stairs, stairs and stairs and uphill from the beach (but the views are so worth it!). The easiest way to go to the beach is down the stairs from the back door, first left, first right, first left and straight until you get to the beach (there is a lift down to the beach on the right!).

Room Tip: Anything on top floor; if you are close to the roof terrace, you should be able to pick up wifi sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyduck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisaltur, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel da Gale, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Google Translation
Bom dia JCAlmeida.

Antes de mais, agradecemos por ter escolhido o Hotel da Galé para as suas férias.

Estamos muito gratos e felizes por ter gostado de ter ficado alojado connosco. Estamos aplicados a melhor as nossas condições e os nossos serviços, e as opiniões dos nossos clientes são muito importantes para nós.

Esperemos que volte a reserva connosco.

Melhores cumprimentos,
Hotel da Galé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.4 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#133 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Residencial
Colina do Mar Residencial
#92 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#136 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#74 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#151 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Gale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Gale

Property: Hotel da Gale
Address: Largos dos Lusiadas - Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel da Gale 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Gale is a small beach hotel. Its style is very Portuguese, it has 60 double and triple rooms, with or without balcony, and almost all have a sea view. All rooms have their own private bathroom with bathtub, a telephone, safety box and cable TV. The top floor is home to the Navy Bar, with its panoramic view. This is where we serve breakfast and create a friendly relaxing atmosphere right through to until midnight, with background music to soothe you as you gaze out to sea and across the marvellous Albufeira coastline. ***************************************** E uma pequena unidade hoteleira de praia de estilo bem portugues com 60 quartos (duplos e triplos), com ou sem varanda, quase todos com vista para o mar. Todos os quartos tem casa-de-banho privativa com banheira, telefone, cofre e TV por Cabo. No ultimo andar temos o nosso "Navy Bar" com uma vista panoramica, onde servimos os Pequenos-almocos e criamos uma atmosfera simpatica e relaxante, ate a meia-noite, com musica ambiente para o servir, vislumbrando o mar e a maravilhosa costa de Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel da Gale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Gale Albufeira
Da Gale Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Da Gale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing