We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ultimate Family Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ultimate Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was our second year in a row staying at this fabulous resort. We are a married couple with 4 kids under 6 so its not easy to find somewhere where its equally as good for the kids as it is for the adults. The residence is a step up from the main hotel villas (where we stayed the previous year) but well worth it. We also booked through Scott Dunn which had their own kids club which was superb - every day they took the kids somewhere different - beach, pool, go-karts, arcades etc. and all the nannies were fantastic. The facilities of the Pine Cliffs are superb - lots of great pools, its own private beach, fabulous restaurants, pristine golf course, tennis area, spa etc.. Really in 2 weeks there was no need to even leave the resort. I really can't rate this place highly enough - it's easily the ultimate family resort- I cant think of anything they could do to improve the place

Room Tip: Go for the residence - pricey but worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrL1975_belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with your kind words and to know that you have enjoyed your second stay at Pine Cliffs Resort. Your kind words describing the facilities, activities and the residences are such a praise, we do not have words to express what we feel after reading such a great warm review. Thank you very much, it is very rewarding to receive your recognition.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your review towards our resort and we look forward to welcome you and your family to our resort again where more indigenous and unique experiences are waiting.

Warm regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    211
    66
    20
    20
See reviews for
443
121
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have no hesitation in giving Pine Cliffs Resort a 5 star review, we had a wonderful family holiday there in July. The apartment was fantastic, the kids club was really well run, there are loads of activities and the customer service is excellent.

We traveled with 3, 6 and 12 year old children. Just a few points that may help people with young families.

1. We initially booked a townhouse but this was not ideal for young kids as there are lots of stairs and most townhouses are not that close to swimming pools. We upgraded to an apartment which was more expensive but definitely worth it.

2. The resort is very large so a pushchair is good for getting around with small children. We hired an adult bike with kids seat for our youngest which may be another option.

3. We did not use the beach as it is quite a long walk with young kids with lots of steps and very hot in July. The beach is fine, just better for older kids.

4. The food and service is excellent but as pointed out by others the restaurants are expensive to eat at every day. Every restaurant we tried just outside the hotel gates was good and a lot cheaper.

5. The children really liked the Kids Club, the staff are very friendly, there are lots of fun activities and there is plenty of shade and water provided for little ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rord08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor your feedback about your recently visit to Pine Cliffs Residences.

It is a thrill to read that you had a wonderful family holiday with us and your kind words on the customer service, junior club and the apartment are highly appreciated. We are glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations

We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We returned for the 3rd year with 2 kids (6&8) first week in June. Stayed in 2 bed apartment halfway between club house and o bar this was cleaned immaculately every day and very spacious with huge terrace on first floor. Kids did not use pirate ship this year but still enjoyed heated pool beach and tennis lessons with Hugo who was fantastic (the irish under age tennis team were there being put through paces. We always take scooters for kids and used the train now and again which has some excellent background tunes.

A special thanks again to the italian just outside the main entrance food great service excellent (half price of pine cliffs).

Food at corda cafe not fully up to scratch again and the wine list is very poor for a high end resort. However Great atmosphere with kids finishing off the day with a football tournament and good atmosphere to mix with other families.

We took b&b deal but you may want to do a mix and match with breakfast in apartment some days fresh bakery in supermarket at exit to resort also full cooking facilities (washer and drier also). The maitre de at the O grill for breakfast was excellent who remembered your name each morning and a really great start to the day with a 6 star breakfast and exquisite fresh orange juice.

We took golf clubs and played the 9 hole course every day and they were relaxed about tee times and my 6 year old coming round with his own clubs and hitting a few balls.

We will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: No because we want it next year ! Apartements no further south than o bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post details of your recent visit to Pine Cliffs Resort. Let us confess that we are so pleased to see guests return to us year after year and we are very happy that you have enjoyed the facilities, the golf course, the beach, tennis lessons. It is very rewarding to receive such a 5 star rating from you. Thank you so much.

We look forward to welcome you back next year for another unique and indigenous experience.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite a short walk from the pool. Fortunately, our membership in SPG allowed us to have free Wi-Fi. It was great having a kitchen and a washer/dryer in our room. There is also a supermarket and many restaurants just outside the resort entrance. This was our first time to the Algarve and our first time at the resort but it was soon obvious that we were surrounded by other guests that have been returning to this resort year after year. The other guests were also predominantly British which wasn't a bad thing but just a surprise. If we just sat at the pool and looked around, there would be very little to let us know that we were in Portugal. The pool also seemed to be the place to go if you had little ones. There were so many babies, toddlers and young children. It is definitely a resort that caters to children. Speaking of the pool, the service when we were there was pretty non-existent. Most days we saw no one at all but on our last day there suddenly seemed to be better service. The beach is fantastic although if you are staying near the pool, it is a bit of a walk to get there. We only tried one time to order something while sitting at the beach. After ordering ,and seeing no one again after 50 minutes of waiting, we gave up and went to the (very pricey) beach restaurant. Overall, the resort is great and we would highly recommend it to other families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFiveTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to share your feedback on TripAdvisor which is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in your first time at our Resort. Thank you for express your feelings about what you have experienced and be sure that your remarks were worth of our best attention and shared with the Management Team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed with my family in early june and had an amazing time! The place is beautifully decorated and very clean and the staff are always willing to help HOWEVER, the restaurant and wifi prices are extortionate but this is easily resolved by going out to eat, the breakfast is well worth paying for its a lovely buffet and a great way to start your die. We did not do much in terms of activities in the resort and mainly used the pool and beach so I can'y comment on anything else. Overall its a nice comfortable place to stay and have a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and let you know that it is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Thank you for letting us know that it was provided a good service and our associates were able to help you. We are glad to know that you had a relaxed and comfortable stay with us, thank you very much.

Your remarks were shared with the Management Team and we hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to Portugal.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a second visit to the Pine Cliff Residences. We had an absolutely enjoyable week and I will definitely be returning. It was lovely to see people from last year and already next year's visit is being discussed. The only negative is 7 days in not enough. The staff are extremely professional and friendly, the apartments are spotless and the weather was glorious. We dined out every night but on the resort. Our favourite was definitely Piri Piri as we enjoyed the food plus the atmosphere. The staff were excellent and very obliging. The buffet restaurents are fine but as I'm on holiday I enjoy being waited on!! As previous people have stated the food is expensive but with two small children we decided not to venture too far. Also we did not hire a car but simply enjoyed time by the various pools. Can't wait to return again!

Room Tip: If you have small children S4 block is convenient for both the hotel in one direction and the Pine C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor

It is always a pleasure and rewarding to read comments like yours. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your second stay with us as well as our Piri Piri Restaurant, which is always one of our guests' favorite.

Thank you very much for your compliments on our associates professionalism and friendliness.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We've stayed here a number of times over the years. I could not recommend the resort more highly.
The facilities are fantastic: Very Good pools and the beach is Very beautiful.
The Pine Cliffs Is Very clean and the staff Very pleasant.
The only think i object to Is the charge for wifi. A five stars resort must offer the wifi to the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We´re glad to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and that you always come back, we are grateful for your loyalty and for your kind words on recommendation.
Thank you very much for your kind compliments on our associates, facilities, cleanliness resort and beach. It is very rewarding to receive such an amazing feedback and learn that our core values were kept over the years.

Your remarks regarding the WI FI charges were promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

Thank you once again for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing