We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large, Very nice family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cliffs Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Cliffs Residence to your Saves list
Pine Cliffs Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Praia da Falésia, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very large, Very nice family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite a short walk from the pool. Fortunately, our membership in SPG allowed us to have free Wi-Fi. It was great having a kitchen and a washer/dryer in our room. There is also a supermarket and many restaurants just outside the resort entrance. This was our first time to the Algarve and our first time at the resort but it was soon obvious that we were surrounded by other guests that have been returning to this resort year after year. The other guests were also predominantly British which wasn't a bad thing but just a surprise. If we just sat at the pool and looked around, there would be very little to let us know that we were in Portugal. The pool also seemed to be the place to go if you had little ones. There were so many babies, toddlers and young children. It is definitely a resort that caters to children. Speaking of the pool, the service when we were there was pretty non-existent. Most days we saw no one at all but on our last day there suddenly seemed to be better service. The beach is fantastic although if you are staying near the pool, it is a bit of a walk to get there. We only tried one time to order something while sitting at the beach. After ordering ,and seeing no one again after 50 minutes of waiting, we gave up and went to the (very pricey) beach restaurant. Overall, the resort is great and we would highly recommend it to other families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFiveTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to share your feedback on TripAdvisor which is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in your first time at our Resort. Thank you for express your feelings about what you have experienced and be sure that your remarks were worth of our best attention and shared with the Management Team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed with my family in early june and had an amazing time! The place is beautifully decorated and very clean and the staff are always willing to help HOWEVER, the restaurant and wifi prices are extortionate but this is easily resolved by going out to eat, the breakfast is well worth paying for its a lovely buffet and a great way to start your die. We did not do much in terms of activities in the resort and mainly used the pool and beach so I can'y comment on anything else. Overall its a nice comfortable place to stay and have a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and let you know that it is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Thank you for letting us know that it was provided a good service and our associates were able to help you. We are glad to know that you had a relaxed and comfortable stay with us, thank you very much.

Your remarks were shared with the Management Team and we hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to Portugal.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a second visit to the Pine Cliff Residences. We had an absolutely enjoyable week and I will definitely be returning. It was lovely to see people from last year and already next year's visit is being discussed. The only negative is 7 days in not enough. The staff are extremely professional and friendly, the apartments are spotless and the weather was glorious. We dined out every night but on the resort. Our favourite was definitely Piri Piri as we enjoyed the food plus the atmosphere. The staff were excellent and very obliging. The buffet restaurents are fine but as I'm on holiday I enjoy being waited on!! As previous people have stated the food is expensive but with two small children we decided not to venture too far. Also we did not hire a car but simply enjoyed time by the various pools. Can't wait to return again!

Room Tip: If you have small children S4 block is convenient for both the hotel in one direction and the Pine C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor

It is always a pleasure and rewarding to read comments like yours. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your second stay with us as well as our Piri Piri Restaurant, which is always one of our guests' favorite.

Thank you very much for your compliments on our associates professionalism and friendliness.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We've stayed here a number of times over the years. I could not recommend the resort more highly.
The facilities are fantastic: Very Good pools and the beach is Very beautiful.
The Pine Cliffs Is Very clean and the staff Very pleasant.
The only think i object to Is the charge for wifi. A five stars resort must offer the wifi to the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We´re glad to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and that you always come back, we are grateful for your loyalty and for your kind words on recommendation.
Thank you very much for your kind compliments on our associates, facilities, cleanliness resort and beach. It is very rewarding to receive such an amazing feedback and learn that our core values were kept over the years.

Your remarks regarding the WI FI charges were promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

Thank you once again for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I travelled with my family 5 adults & 3 children aged 9,7 & 2 & can't speak highly enough about this resort we absolutely loved it. We stayed in a four bedroom Villa with a pool which was lovely & although there are a lot of restaurants around the resort our favourite place to eat was the Beach Club accessed by lift & short walk to a wonderful beach. The staff were so friendly especially Alex(The Great), Andre, Patricia & Valter. The food was equally brilliant as was the location overlooking the beach. The boys loved the Pirates Kids Club where the staff again were so nice. There are supervised children football matches every evening, an Annabel Croft tennis club, nine hole golf course. crazy golf, 2 gyms, a spa etc, etc. We also loved the Mirador Bar which is on top of a cliff with a fantastic view run brilliantly by the lovely manager Philippe. We are already booking now for next year & can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameswintle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent stay and for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy and delighted to know that you and your family have enjoyed our facilities, apartments, beach, Porto Pirata, Golf course, Tennis and the Mirador Bar on top of the cliffs. Thank you for your compliments on our associates, it is very rewarding.

Once again, thank you for your review which was highly appreciated!

We look forward to welcome you again next year.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is situated in wonderful well maintained grounds with a more than adequate provision of sun beds as near or as far away from the pools, of which there are many, as you wish. The rooms are pleasant and spacious but not 5 star and you should check the position of your room with regard to its aspect. Sporting facilities are excellent and well organised. Although there are several restaurants they are not all available at all times and a family will find eating in the Hotel very expensive indeed, there is a definite absence of inexpensive snacking opportunities and without a car you are a long way from external choices.Drinks are very expensive up to four times local prices.

We were a family of seven with two fairly mature teenagers and even they found the invasion of noisy and aggressive youngsters a nuisance once the schools broke up mainly because of absence of any parental control and my advise to guests without children to avoid the school holidays at all cost.

The staff in direct contact with the guests were excellent without exception but I did have some reserves about some of the staff higher up the chain.

None of the above prevented us all from having an excellent and enjoyable week.

Only one more thing it is totally unacceptable in 2014 for a 5 Star hotel not to provide free Wi-fi connection throughout and they must address this issue which annoyed many of other guests during our stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 804George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking a moment to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us,
We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated the grounds of the Resort, the rooms of the Hotel. We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words on our associates who keep work to maintain our core values. Thank you so much!
However we regret to learn about issues you went through and please accept our sincere apologies. We promptly shared your remarks with the Management Team for their consideration.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future and provide you an indigenous and exceptional experience.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This my third year on the trot at the resort and they gave us our requested room as per last year. Resort still outstanding. My only gripe is as per last year ie the WIFI. 1) it is very expensive 2) I paid for 3 connections ( the max per apartment ) but as I have mobiles phones, tablets and laptops that number greater than 3 I need to switch between devices. However it is impossible to logout and even if you switch one of the logged in devices off it still stays logged in until it times out some 2 hrs later. Very annoying especially given the cost of 18 euros a day. Please sort out the wifi I travel the world and never have this problem in any other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to monitor the level of our service. We regret to learn that Wi Fi procedure on the rooms have not met your expectations due to the issues you raise in your review. Please be assure that your remarks were worth of our best attention and promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

We hope to welcome you back again for a memorable stay at our Resort.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
Sheraton Algarve Hotel
#12 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence

Address: | Praia da Falésia, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Hotwire, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing