We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic resort for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We just came back last week from a two week stay around Christmas & Newyear. This is my first time in Portugal for Christmas holidays and a word of advice, the place was dead! Most restaurants and bars in and around the resorts were closed. We hired a car and travelled around and the place was soulless! It rained and the weather was overcast most days! The pools in the resort are not heated, not even one was heated, kids club was closed more days, but the outdoor play area open. Don't bother with the pool in the health club, the changing rooms are very outdated, pool not suitable for young children or babies. Most bars and restaurants inside the resort were closed too. But But But....inspite of all this, I loved this place, we just picked the wrong time to visit! The Pine Cliff resorts, is a great find, safest and cleanest resort with so many good amenities, if you are coming as a group or with friends this is a great place for self catering. Lovely lush grounds of immaculately maintained gardens, nice pools, a good kids club (designed like a pirate ship) and play area, tennis and golf. The beach is very sandy and a lovely stretch. Access to the beach is via a lift, here's a wooden pathway with steps, might not be ideal if you had a pram. The staff are very friendly and at your service all the time, there were somedays when we were the only one's in the bar, but the staff and management did everything they could to keep us entertained. We did get some guests around New-year and the place was more lively. The buffet dinner + fire works in the beach and after party until 3:00 am was all well organised and there were kids everywhere dancing, playing and having a great time. Ours children are 5 & 3 and were up partying all night!! We did have some trouble getting a booking to the Newyear party event, as we were half board we thought we were automatically included in the guest list, but obviously not! The restaurant was fully booked. We spoke to management on New Year's Eve morning and everything was sorted efficiently, they managed to put an extra table for us soMehow. We booked through jet2 holidays and we were allocated a townhouse in the Sheraton. The townhouse was very outdated and tired looking. We spoke to reception and asked to move us somewhere better at no extra cost. The staff from reception were so helpful, they took us in a shuttle around Pine Cliffs residences, showing us all the different accommodation that was available and we picked a two bed apartment at the residences. The apartment was very spacious and modern, had a lovely terrace and the kids loved it. Room service were so good, they emptied and loaded our dishwasher, even hand washed my daughters tippy cup! How thoughtful! They left a stocking outside our door on Christmas Day, filled with bags of sweets & cookies. The piri piri restaurant was open few days and is a must try, the steaks and lamb are delicious. Most of the bars were closed so can't comment, but the music bar near main reception was open all days, they have a good selection of cocktails but beware drinks and food if not included in your plan will cost a bomb! Special mention to the lady who sang at the bar, Louisa, my kids just loved her! Overall we had a great time, We would definitely come back here in the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed at S1, it's near the golf course and over looks a shallow pool and paddle pool. Get gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaya247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted with your outstanding feedback and so pleased that you have enjoyed our Resort and all family is enthusiastic to visit us again in the summer!
We are happy to learn that despite visiting us on a quieter season, all family had a good time celebrating New Year’s Eve and enjoyed their experience in our Resort. Your kind words about the Resort grounds, beach, swimming pools, the kids club and the activities available are highly appreciated and motivating. All Sheraton Algarve team, including Luisa, express our sincere gratitude for your compliments on our associates.
At Pine Cliffs Resort we offer different types of accommodation, featuring different designs and décor in order to meet all our guest’s requirements. We are happy that our Front Office Team pro-actively assisted you with the room change and that the Pine Cliffs Residence fully met your expectations and the remaining of your stay was flawless.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in summer and we look forward to it.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    211
    66
    20
    20
See reviews for
443
121
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent a week mid September in a 2 bed apartment in the residences. Our first holiday abroad with two toddlers ages 2 and 3 . I had read the reviews on trip advisor and contacted the concierge before our holiday to request an apartment close to casa pine cliffs (reception, gym, restaurant and mini market)and was really pleased this request was accommodated.
We had an amazing week and I can honestly say this was the first time in 3 years that we all got a chance to kick back and relax!
The staff were always welcoming, friendly and helpful and the facilities on the resort are first class.
The apartment was gorgeous with everything you could wish for, serviced every day with evening turn down - they even loaded and emptied the dish washer for me ...I'm embarrassed and secretly delighted that I didn't wash a dish the whole time we were there!! The kids loved the kids club they went every afternoon whilst we played tennis,swam and got a chance to read a book.
I loved this resort so much we have booked to go back next year . I did find the restaurants were expensive and the food was maybe a little on the stodgy side but overall I think if you have young children and are looking for a rest this place is just the job.!!
I would recommend asking for a room in block s4 it is very central and overlooks the gorgeous pool. The indoor pool is perfect for a cloudy day but pack your own swimming caps as the hotel ones are 7 euros .i think having no free wi if in the rooms is a great thing as it meant we actually had to talk to each other!!

Room Tip: Block s4 is close to everything with lovely views over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pigsinablanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are most pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed your stay at Pine Cliffs Residence and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thank you for your preference in our Pine Cliffs Resort.
All the Pine Cliffs Residence units are equal and fully equipped, they have space, ideal to relax and take the most of your time. Thank you again, for the recommendation and kind words about our staff and facilities.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Played 2 rounds of golf here last week (end of November). With club hire 18 holes cost €65. you can get a 3 day package for €163. Went 2 days, the club was almost empty. We had a couple of beers that weren't overpriced considering the location and the staff were nice. The hole lengths aren't that long but plenty of little traps that will test you. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Golf Course.

We are happy to learn you had a good time playing Golf at the Pine Cliffs Golf Course, as it is our constant aim to create a unique experience for every Guest who visits us and we feel so honored to that you are considering to return, we look forward to it!

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in November for a week's golf. The golf course, a nine hole course, is good but not in nay way challenging. It is good for a short game but luckily we had also booked some major long 18 hole courses for a more challenging game.

The hotel was excellent with very nice quality rooms. The lack of tea/coffe making facilities in room was however a major limitation. The other major problem was the restaurants. I should say the restaurant. Being out of season only one restaurant was open. This was the buffet restaurant and I don't eat in buffet restaurants as I like my food cooked to order and not in vast quantity. Buffet restaurants are one of those awful things the Americans have brought to the food world. All of the other advertised restaurants were closed despite nothing being mentioned on this in the booking details. The Piri Piri steakhouse was open for two nights a week. Unfortunately you cannot run a good restaurant for just two nights a week and this showed. The food was poor. For example the calamares was obviously frozen and out of a packet. The piri piri chicken was totally over cooked a dried out. I'm glad we did not have the high-priced steaks. The good news however that just off the property is at least one independent and far lower priced restaurant. My advice is don't eat in the hotel's restaurants apart from breakfast. Breaqakfasts are truly excellent and it shows what can be done. Sheraton, get your act together and improve the quality and pricing of your restaurants.

Another major problem is out of the Sheraton's control. that is the location. Getting to the hotel is a pain as the Portugese don't have any good road signs. Try getting back to the hotel in the dark when coming from the west. It is dreadful!

If you are coming for a golf holiday and want challenging golf then book somewhere else. If you area learner then this is quite a good course.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your post on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn about the limitations that prevent you from having a pleasant stay.

Although our golf course is a 9 hole, there is some degree of dificulty, and in the surrounding area there are 18holes golf courses including some championships. Kindly note that our restaurants are seasonable, however we have taken note of your comments food and beverage, which will be addressed to the respective departement so that corrective measures can be introduced.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

+
The territory, architecture of the buildings, facilities, views are superb.
Beach was beautiful, good for bathing both adult & child.
Internet payable but reliable and very fast.
Beach resto/bar has good wi-fi and tasty cuisine, including fresh fish.
Though overall expensive all restaurants have special menu for kids with friendlier prices.
-
We stayed in older apartments, which bathrooms should be renewed to meet 5* standard. (I know they have a range of newer apartments to offer both to rent and buy).
Only cable internet in room and the cable was too short so always had to use laptop while standing in the foyer. I can accept the price for internet but that should allow several devices as it would be really expensive to buy a pass for each possible device, while logging out and switching between different devices is not prompt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlgirdasMuzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having shared your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to know that you and your family had a nice stay at our resort and that you enjoyed our superb views, the architecture, the landscape, the beach facilities and our cuisine. In regards to the accommodation, we do regret that the standard did not fully meet your expectations and please be informed that we do offer 2 and 3 bedroom luxury residences which are fully equipped and suitable for families. Should you wish to visit us in future, our reservations department are more than happy to assist you with your reservation. .
We do hope to welcome you back soon to our resort.
Guest Relations Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
210 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I actually would prefer it if people didnt go and stay at the Pine Cliffs because then they will put up the prices and I won't be able to afford it! This is a truly magnificent place and I would like to live there full time! What more could you want from life than a superb apartment overlooking a beautiful golf course within short distance of a fabulous child friendly sand beach and crazy golf, heated pools, tennis, spa, beach club restaurant etc the list goes on! Free Wifi in the lobby. I can't criticise it save: kill all the wasps at the beach cafe please if you can! And charge a bit less for the tennis and golf. If you do, I'll be back like a shot.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the Golf views from your apartment, along with our beach facilities, the mini golf, swimming pools, tennis and Spa services, as well as our Restaurant offer met your expectations and contributed to some superb days at Pine Cliffs Resort.

We highly appreciate your kind words and your remark about the wasps at the Beach Club was worth of our best attention and we would like to thank you for bringing this to our consideration and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Pine Cliffs 10 days in August 2013. There is actually nothing I can complain about. We went there with a 3 year old boy and I thought it was a great choice for a family vacation. The children centre is great and there are many other things to do with kids.

I would definitely go there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PawelTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn how much you and your family have enjoyed your holidays with us and that Porto Pirata was a great success with your 3 year old boy.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Resort.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing