We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piri Piri Restaurant - great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #32 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but having read the reviews below about the Piri Piri restaurant I just had to write to re-dress the balance. Our family of four, inc 2 boys age 8 and 9 yrs called in on spec tonight looking for a nicer place to eat than anything we had been shocked by in Albuferia. From the moment we arrived the service, staff and food was 5*.
I had the crab dumplings and swordfish steak, husband had soup of the day and veal and the body's ate off the children's menu -spaghetti bol! The staff were great and treated us to a huge range of Piri Piri to try, the boys loved it, this was a memorable evening for our holiday and I would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBubbles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you and your family have fully enjoyed your experience at Piri Piri Restaurant and we appreciate your kind words about the food quality and our associates.

We hope to welcome you back at Piri Piri or at any other of our restaurants and possibly have you and your family as guests at our Resort.

Kindest regards,

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 787 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed as a family of 5 in a two bedroom in the S-apartments. They are very large and well decorated. We liked the hotel, both restaurants and pool areas. Beach is also great, with a nice walk over the rocks to the neighbouring town where a fantastic fish restaurant is located. The golf at the hotel is great. I can strongly recommend this hotel for a lovely and relaxing luxury holiday at the Algarve.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsten_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to acknowledge that you had an excellent holiday at our resort. It is very rewarding to receive such compliment on our facilities and services and we are thankful for your recommendation.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a lovely 10 night stay in the Residence apartments – our apartment was a three bedroom place but two rooms were locked making it one bedroom only. Fully fitted out to a really good standard – we even had an electric juicer. Totally suitable for self catering if you want it. Clean throughout.Grounds are well kept.
We were travelling with our baby (5 months) and staff were great towards him. He was treated like a superstar at the nursery and we were very impressed by this facility, especially the personnel. Couldn’t recommend using the nursery highly enough. Lots and lots of families when we were there – mainly babies and toddlers.
The main pools were all freezing – put us off having quick dips. No hot tub either which was a disappointment.
Breakfast which was included was excellent – think 80% of a Vegas buffet.
Starwood always charge a lot for food and drinks and food on the property was expensive. Pizza or burger €15, buffet dinner €35 beer €5. SPG card gets a 10% discount. WIFI free in residence and hotel reception areas.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor residence suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveybigpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the Suite at Pine Cliffs Residence was suitable for your family and met your expectations.
In regards to the pools, kindly be informed that we do have one outdoor heated pool located by the Golf Suites Vacation Club and an indoor heated pool located on the main hotel, which are more suitable for families with young children. Also in the main hotel health and fitness club you will find a Jacuzzi and Sauna.
We highly appreciate your kind words about our associates and Porto Pirata and It will be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon..
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife, daughter, son in law, 17 month old grandson and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which has a lounge, kitchen area with all the equipment you need plus a balcony for each room. Very nice indeed. We stayed the last week in September and the weather was not perfect, no rain, but sometimes a bit cloudy, but I understand that is very unusual for the Algarve and anyway it suited us that it wasn't too hot. Also the resort seemed to be less than half full so most of the time we virtually had a pool to ourselves.
Observations on some of the other reviews I have seen :
Very expensive to eat and drink? I didn't think so - e.g at the Beach Club, 5 Euros for a large beer, 14 Euros for Hamburger and fries. My most expensive meal was 30 Euros for a great fillet steak at the Piri Piri. I did join as a Starwood Member and got 10 - 20% discount on food at certain restaurants.
A long, difficult walk to the beach? My wife is not great at walking, but didn't have a problem. We left the push chair at the top and then carried the grandson down no problem.
Friendly staff? Absolutely, especially at the restaurants. Also we had a small issue with the cooker and someone came round within 5 minutes to sort us out.
We were in S8, one of the furthest from the hotel, probably a 20 minute gentle walk, but such a pleasant walk skirting the golf course.
Good choice of pools, the one at the golf course was my favourite. The indoor one was nice, but expected it to be a bit warmer.
I would definitely recommend for a family holiday.

Room Tip: S1 and S2 are closer to the hotel and overlook the golf course and the footpath between the residenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that the apartment at the Pine Cliffs Residence was suitable for the family as well as the overall resort facilities and that you had a great holiday. We do regret to know that you have experienced a small issue in the restaurant but we are glad to learn that was resolved in a swift manner. Your kind words on our employees are highly appreciated, and enable us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sheraton Pine Cliffs Hotel was very enjoyable on our recent 10 day stay. It was a good base to explore the Algarve from as we took advantage of several local tours.
Thanks to Vanessa and the Concierge staff for assisting on our outings. We really enjoyed Seville and the areas of Lagos and Sagres in addition to Silves. The Resort itself is large but doesn't feel to overly so. Several options for meals within the property but we enjoyed Pinhal accross the street. Just more authentic, and cheaper! Several different pools and lots of areas to choose from so you can get away from the little ones that are sure to be there when you go.
The staff was accomodating and we enjoyed our choice to stay there.

Room Tip: Just confirm your air conditioning is working properly right away. 6 attempts to get it right and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRDBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our resort and the Algarve as well.

We would like to thank you for your kind words on our employees performance, specially Vanessa from the Concierge who assista you during your stay.

we look froward to welcome you soon

Kind regards
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent accom in two bedroom apartment overlooking 1st fairway of pretty nine hole course. Lots of space and well equipped. Nice to find a fully equipped kitchen with microwave and fridge/freezer etc. Great terrace with plenty of seating/loungers. Clean and well looked after.

Lots of restaurant options and a variety of pools (the one beside the golf club is heated). Breakfast in O Grill very good. Friendly and helpful staff there and good evening meal there too. Otherwise we found the food in the resort distinctly average (club sandwich/burger etc) and quite expensive. Stick to the seafood. There was no evidence of restaurant management at all, and quality of service and food was patchy (save for O Grill staff who were great). Almost walked out of clifftop champagne bar as we couldn't get anyone to serve us.....Also find local restaurants to eat in "off campus". A few folk we spoke to had escaped (tunnelled out I think) and found it liberating! Good supermarket outside the main gates for water, booze and other holiday essentials.

Kids club staff were great and it's a good facility. Only black mark there was the hotel photographer going in and taking photos of all the kids and then posting them publicly (to purchase of course) without (in my son's case) my knowledge or consent (unless it was well hidden in the small print). Really not on.

All activities are expensive but pretty good on the whole. Nice golf course. Watersports guys were ok but spoke little English (more than I can speak Portugese, to be fair).

Would I go back? Yes. Good for a relaxing family holiday with all facilities readily available, but take your credit card and be prepared to use it. It's a lovely place in mature and well kept grounds with lots of facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADM-Lasswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that overall you and your family enjoyed your recent holiday at our resort.
We would like to apologize for some inconveniences you have experienced in some of our services especially in some of our restaurants and the Mirador bar. We took note on your comment regarding the photographer taking pictures of your children without your consent, and please be assured that we will pass them on to the photographer to avoid this situation in future.
Your constructive comments are very much appreciated and enable us to improve our overall services in order to provide a better experience for all our resort guests.
Once again we would like for your feedback and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to the Pine Cliffs Residences. We were originally booked into the 2 bed townhouses of the Sheraton Algarve, but on arrival found the standard of these to be much lower than expected and not up the price point we had paid, so upgraded to the residences, block S10. The quality of the accomodation is very good, as are all the facilities.
We used the creche at Porto Pirata quite a bit, and the standard of care appeared high, and our children loved it.

We had a potty/baby bath/high chair/steriliser and bottle warmer provided by the hotel in the room, which is very helpful when you are travelling.

The beach is a long way away from the residences, and is a long way down the cliffs, with many stairs, so a litle difficult with very small children so bear this in mind if the beach is your priority. However the pool areas are good for kids with good childrens pools for toddlers, and a large area in the main pool that is shallow enough for toddlers.

Our only gripes would be :
1 Initially the hotel wanted to charge €11 per night to have a travel cot in the room, we managed to negotiate on this, but this really is ridiculous for a resort that sells itself as a family resort.
2 Wifi is only available in reception free, to have wifi outside of reception is €10 per day
3 there are no DVD, or movie options in the room. Again to hire a DVD is €10 per day. For a family hotel where sometimes you are self catering and in the apartment this is not ideal, and the English channel options are very limited.

One other warning, typical of many European hotels, a number of facilities at the hotel start to shut down the first two weeks in September for maintenance etc. there are upsides to going at this time as the pool areas are not busy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to know you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday at our property.
We would like to thank you for your comments and for your preference in choosing the Sheraton Algarve Hotel & Pine Cliffs Resort for your summer vacations, and we are pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed the time spent with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our associates and facilities.

Best regards and we all look forward to a future visit.

The Guest relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 152 in Albufeira
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 152 in Albufeira
2,471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Village & Golf Suites
11.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $134 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing