We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
Ranked #16 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a location. Stayed here for a week in July and after arriving in the dark, was beginning to have second thoughts when we ventured along the main strip in search of essential provisions. However, once the sun came up, I need not have worried. The location of the complex right on the beach had everything you need without having to venture further a field. The pubs and restaurants along the beach front provide a good range catering for all tastes. The apartment itself has everything you need: dishwasher, hob, oven, fridge freezer, coffee machine etc. All of the apartments face the sea, so you have that wonderful uninterrupted view that constantly draws your attention, perfect as a backdrop for a meal or just drinks on the balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Gerente at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excelent for families. Simple hotel, no luxury at all but with plenty of room at the apartments and very clean! Swimming pool is excellent for kids all ages! Beach is just 1 min walking and it's beautiful! Main St with restaurants, pubs and all kind of fun just around the corner!

Room Tip: The apartments are really big! So a T2 flat (the way they call it!) is big enough for 6! Because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelita1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved these apartments so much we are returning in october! The location is perfect, you have direct access to its own small beach complete with sea facing bars and restaurants. Our self catering apartment had absolutely everything we needed,right down to a coffee machine,dishwasher and blender! I have never stayed somewhere so well equipped. The rooms were cleaned every day,even if we had a lie in, when we came back later the room had been cleaned in our absence. 6th floor leads to the strip, so you can be as close or far from the madness as you want. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aeah1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments, We are very glad you had a good time at our hotel. . Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

stayed here in January and was very nice but new owners took over the complex and the prices went up by 25% for next year.So we have decided to try somewhere else for next year, as we have been to this complex for the last four years although we stayed at the other part of the complex C.P.O. but people were getting fed up with that part and a lot were thinking of trying the beach view hotel hence the hike in price.

Room Tip: high floors are better, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your informative review. Our facilities have undergone improvements such as apartments updating and this it reflected in the amounts charged. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our twin resorts in Albufeira in your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's not what we were looking for in a hotel, so I need to warn you about a few things so that you don't make the same mistake that we did in booking. I did think about giving it a '2' but that was just our experience rather than the hotel being a terrible place.

It’s all about the view and the pool here. We were unfortunate with our accommodation as we were put in the room next to the car park and main walk-way to the pool which was claustrophobic as we had to keep the curtains closed. The next day we were moved to an apartment that was not much better with a terrace that faced a wall but at least it was a bit more private.

DO NOT GO HALF-BOARD AT THIS ‘HOTEL’ - Once we got used to the fact that there was little choice in the restaurant and the atmosphere was dead as no one else was eating there, we actually quite enjoyed the food that we did have. We did mention these things to staff at reception, who then informed us that actually we could eat in the other two sister hotels close by. Later in the holiday we were informed that we didn’t have to stick to the three choices on the table-d’hote but could eat up to a certain value on the a la carte. We did eat in the Clube Praia da Oura a few times and it had a better atmosphere. The second time we ate at the Oura Praia the waiter charged us extra and when we objected saying that no one else had charged us, he caused a scene and embarrassed us in front of the other guests, so we paid him and left. There was just bad customer service in that it just depended on who served us as to what information or ‘rules’ we were given on any given evening.

Plus points - the pool is good and there were always sun-loungers available regardless of what time of day we went down.

Room Tip: It is just a lottery - there is no choice! We had asked for a sea view and were willing to pay extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are saddened to hear that we didn´t fulfill all your expectations on your stay with us. Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests and reported to our manager. We are glad the issue with your room was quickly and satisfactorily resolved by a member of our staff . We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and have the chance to offer you the standard service that characterize us. Please, make sure on your next visit to let our reception staff know about your location preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is just perfect, fantastic location only minutes walk from the strip. Beautiful pool area and sun terrace if you want a little quiet time. If you get a room on level 6 there is an exit that leads you straight out to the top of the strip, handy as it is quite a steep hill up other wise. Rooms were spotless and maids came round every day, or two if like us you prefer a lie in. I believe all rooms are pool / sea facing and it really in an amzing view. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It made for a really relaxing stress free holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your positive remarks. We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. Your comments about our staff were reported and appreciated. We hope you book again with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

this was our first visit here, and we would definately go again. we had a 3rd floor apartment which had fantastic views of the beach, sea and surrounding area. Our apartment was very spacious, infact as well as a front sea facing balcony we had a side patio/terrace to the left big enough for an 11 aside footy match, this terrace had loungers and sun brolly, it was mint. The apartment and whole building was very clean. We had a fully fitted kitchen with everything you need to cook (we only cooked once thou!) and we had satelite tv as well. There is free wifi in the reception area to satisfy the need for social surfing if required. The pool is fab, it overlooks the beach/sea, its clean, has a built in slide and diving board and has a lovely bar/restuarante with live entertainment in the evening - watch out for DJ Dave lol ! The location is great, its two mins from the strip (take the lift from the 6th floor direct onto the strip as it saves walking up cardic hill!). The strip is fantastic for a night out or two!!! not for young children thou!. We didnt eat at the beach club but the menu choices looked good and they have a bar terrace and pool table. you must visit the old town, about 6 euros by taxiwhich yu can ordr from reception. Just back up the hill from where you get dropped off in the old town is a fab traditional Portugese restaurant that is worth a visit plus you must visit Flavors fish restaurant on the beach front, get a table on the balcony, it has wonderful views and food & service is fab, great value for money. Finally many thanks to Bruno and Elisbeth at the Oura-View Beach Club for making our stay extra special with your fantastic service and friendlyness.

Room Tip: Given this area is a hot spot for party goers up and down the adajcent road to the numerous clubs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lil_ta_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about Oura View Beach. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could provide a good service during your stay.You appreciation for our staff work will be reported . We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club

Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal (Formerly (formerly Montechoro Beach Club))
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $49 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oura-View Beach Club is located directly on Praia da Oura Beach. It features wide grounds with a large outdoor swimming pool area situated within gardens overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.The spacious self-catering apartments have large furnished balconies with beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean, Swimming Pools or Resort. They feature a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and dining areas with comfortable seating area with satellite tv.Breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar or the Sunset Restaurant, the restaurant also has a variety of dishes for the guests to enjoy for lunch or dinner. The Pool bar is available providing views over the ocean and swimming pool.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.Xanadu Health Club provides a variety of treatments, an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath(additional costs can be charged). Water sports are available down on the beach, and there are numerous golf courses within a short drive of the hotel.The old town of Albufeira is a 20 minutes walk away and the main entertainment area with shops, clubs, bars and restaurants is 300 meters away.Oura-View Beach Club is 30 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura-View Beach Club Hotel Albufeira
Oura Beach Club
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing