We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
Ranked #18 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed August 1, 2013

this was our first visit here, and we would definately go again. we had a 3rd floor apartment which had fantastic views of the beach, sea and surrounding area. Our apartment was very spacious, infact as well as a front sea facing balcony we had a side patio/terrace to the left big enough for an 11 aside footy match, this terrace had loungers and sun brolly, it was mint. The apartment and whole building was very clean. We had a fully fitted kitchen with everything you need to cook (we only cooked once thou!) and we had satelite tv as well. There is free wifi in the reception area to satisfy the need for social surfing if required. The pool is fab, it overlooks the beach/sea, its clean, has a built in slide and diving board and has a lovely bar/restuarante with live entertainment in the evening - watch out for DJ Dave lol ! The location is great, its two mins from the strip (take the lift from the 6th floor direct onto the strip as it saves walking up cardic hill!). The strip is fantastic for a night out or two!!! not for young children thou!. We didnt eat at the beach club but the menu choices looked good and they have a bar terrace and pool table. you must visit the old town, about 6 euros by taxiwhich yu can ordr from reception. Just back up the hill from where you get dropped off in the old town is a fab traditional Portugese restaurant that is worth a visit plus you must visit Flavors fish restaurant on the beach front, get a table on the balcony, it has wonderful views and food & service is fab, great value for money. Finally many thanks to Bruno and Elisbeth at the Oura-View Beach Club for making our stay extra special with your fantastic service and friendlyness.

Room Tip: Given this area is a hot spot for party goers up and down the adajcent road to the numerous clubs an...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lil_ta_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about Oura View Beach. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could provide a good service during your stay.You appreciation for our staff work will be reported . We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
There are newer reviews for Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The facilities e.g. air conditioning, dishwasher and pool are good with 2 slides and a diving bridge. The one bedroom had things included that we had not seen before on holiday e.g. kitchen roll. From limited contact, the staff were friendly and we used the free wifi at reception a few times. It is also well located on the beach and close to the strip. We were on the ground floor (near reception) and I found the room a little dated e.g. bathroom door was worn/scratched but these kind of things were only minor as the overall experience was very good. The bed was a bit hard. Our bath drainage also got blocked a couple of times and I wondered if this was because we were on the ground floor. If these issues were sorted then I would have given 5 stars but 4 - 4.5 stars is about right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for commenting. We are glad the issue with your room was quickly and satisfactorily resolved by a member of our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a sea facing room on the 4th floor. The Strip is a 2 minute walk away but not recommended for families after 10. The old town is a 40 minute walk. A taxi to the old town costs around 5 Euros.

Pros -
Fantastic view of the sea and swimming pool
Lift to the 6th floor takes you right to street level.
Well equiped, clean rooms, good sized balconey.
Amazing pool with slides for the kids.
Right on a decent beach with some nice restaurants
Cleaning service was very good.

Cons
It's a bit of a walk from the room to the pool and the best way to go with a pushchair is through the basement car park.
Although the staff are helpfull they are not very friendly.
The bar areas are a bit sterile, there is little atmosphere and drinks apart from beer are expensive.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, the hotel was a good base and we loved the pool!

Room Tip: Room 410 was great, although there is no sun on the balcony(Probably a good thing)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidays1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest
We are glad overall you enjoyed your stay and sorry your experience at Bar & Restaurant was not up to standard. We have passed your review to our Food & Beverages manager. We hope you will stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was very clean, apartments were big and very well equipped. We were on the 4th floor, with an excellent view of the pool and the beach. We stayed B&B, a good selection every day. We travelled with our 18month old and found lots for her to do. Within a few minutes walk of all restaurants and bars, on the beach and an easy down hill 15min walk into albufeira itself. All in all, we would definitely recommend to families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KadieTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Oura View Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week in June with young toddler. Child friendly, great pool area, spacious and modern appartment. We had payed for a club appartment but had no sea view. We were located at the rear of the complex. Would not recommend the breakfast at the Sunset restaurant. Had broken lock on patio doors. Rang reception and they had someone fix that day.
Overall great location for beach and nearby restaurants. Old town only 5 min drive. Free parking.
Would recommend overall especially for anyone with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemon1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your review, your comments are most appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Oura View Beach Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

As on most of our trips, we look up 'Trip Advisor' for their 'Reviews'. For some strange reason we could not get in to this hotel. The reviews seemed terrific so we persevered. Eventually we went to Travel Republic and....whoosh...we were in! We traveled on the 2nd June for one week. There now follows my honest opinion about the Oura-View Beach Club:- One of the first reviewers said that it felt like a 3 star hotel - I think that is just right. We asked in advance to be picked up by bus shuttle from the Airport. This was done for 40 euros (return for 2 persons) by Yellow Fish Transfers - absolutely no problems. 'Previously' (as they say on TV) we had asked for a Sea view room - when we arrived at Reception we were told that 'The Computer says NO' - so we were plonked on the 1st floor right above Reception (where arrivals come day & night). We were told that the hotel was completely full - yet we hardly saw anybody.
Unfortunately I was brought up in an London Council Flat. I thought that I had come home!
The corridors were badly under-lit (I am a lighting engineer) and were very long. wide and echo sounding. The rooms were very spacious (unlike a council flat where cats can't swing!) and comfortable (but had seen better days). Beds fine. Plenty of wardrobe space. Now.....the thing to die for was the swimming pool. It was very, very big (lovely) - a bit cold at first. Good Bar-side service. Lovely snacks. We thought it very strange that there was absolutely no Security to stop outsiders from using the pool. We thought it strange (bearing in mind that we hardly saw anybody about) that there were loads of youths using the pool. For curiosity I watched them leave the pool and they went outside the complex and disappeared up the road! While we were having evening 'Aperitifs' on our balcony above the Reception we noticed 4 or 5 cars pull up and park opposite the reception and go in to the pool - 30 minutes later they all came out and drove out of the complex! One of the best places to eat was Vivaldos (the restaurant with thatched roof umbrellas). They give out tickets giving 20% off meals on your next visit. The 'Sister' hotel (Club Praia Da Oura) had a very good Steak Night. Good entertainment. If I go to that area again I will go to that complex - far better atmosphere and something going on every night. The other thing that the area put me off was the so called 'Strip' on the main road above the hotel. This was full of restaurants and full of Hen and Stag parties. A bit rowdy. The 'Follow Me' bus excursions, arranged by the hotel, were first class and thoroughly enjoyable.
I am sorry but I won't be visiting the Oura-View Beach Club again

Room Tip: There doesn't appear to be such a thing as a 'Sea View' room. We went to the roof and co...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. The pools and facilities in any of our resorts in Albufeira can be used and enjoyed by people staying in any of the three complexes here, perhaps this is what you were seeing. If you did not like the Strip you can either get a taxi or the tourist train or regular bus to the old town (about 5 minutes drive away) which may be more what you were looking for in terms of atmosphere. Our reception staff are well trained and willing to resolve any issues you may have; unfortunately if the complex is full they will not be able to move you. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful pool and bar-side service. We would be happy to welcome you to Clube Praia da Oura next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this resort for two weeks after reading the reviews on trip advisor. What a disappointment. Firstly the resort is officially a three star resort, but never mind, reviews mean everything eh? Our room was large enough but very shabby. We had to pay eighteen euros a week for electricity and water?? I used my timeshare exchange for this holiday and also the reviews from this were excellent. This is the first exchange that did not provide pool towels for guest use. We didn't bring any and were charged five euros for each towel rental. My husband went to use the gym and was told he could have a DISCOUNTED rate of 35 euros for three days use. The very worst thing about it was that the resort must rent out a lot of the rooms to non timeshare young people. We hardly had any sleep. Seriously, these kids were making noise all night long and then sleeping all day. None of the staff were friendly. The breakfasts were quite good though. The resort is situated right at the bottom of the "strip" in Albufeira. Albufeira is not a suitable place for children at all, as most of the town is full of rowdy drunk young people. We all had to agree that this was in fact our worst holiday to date. Sorry

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezbutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest
We are sorry that you did not have the holiday you imagined. Albufeira does have a lot to offer children with its blue flag beaches, there is an excellent play park next to the stadium, a tourist train that goes all around town which is popular with kids and within our own three sister resorts we have a lot to offer young children from pools and slides to our well run kids club. Our Reception staff are always willing to help resolve any problems you may have. Of course Albufeira accommodates all ages as it is a very popular destination in the summer. We do not offer or advertise free beach towels. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and we hope you book again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
3.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club

Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal (Formerly (formerly Montechoro Beach Club))
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $47 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oura-View Beach Club is located directly on Praia da Oura Beach. It features wide grounds with a large outdoor swimming pool area situated within gardens overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.The spacious self-catering apartments have large furnished balconies with beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean, Swimming Pools or Resort. They feature a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and dining areas with comfortable seating area with satellite tv.Breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar or the Sunset Restaurant, the restaurant also has a variety of dishes for the guests to enjoy for lunch or dinner. The Pool bar is available providing views over the ocean and swimming pool.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.Xanadu Health Club provides a variety of treatments, an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath(additional costs can be charged). Water sports are available down on the beach, and there are numerous golf courses within a short drive of the hotel.The old town of Albufeira is a 20 minutes walk away and the main entertainment area with shops, clubs, bars and restaurants is 300 meters away.Oura-View Beach Club is 30 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura-View Beach Club Hotel Albufeira
Oura Beach Club
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing